paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on OTEdge's Review / Comments on OTEdge's Review / Comments on OTEdge's Review / Comments on OTEdge's Review / Comments on OTEdge's Review

Comments on OTEdge's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

OTEdge Saturday, October 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months84 of 86 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM6 (Same Preformance, Feel Diffrent)
Egos (Includes little Extra's)
DM's (Fast, Small, Spool Feel)
Timmys (A Unperfected Ego Pretty Much)
Dynasty Shocker (Fast, Heavier, More Complicated)
Marker Setup: Black ETek with Gold CCU
Black PMR with DM6 Trigger
"14 Stiffi Barrel .689
Camo VLocity
Crossfire 68/4500 HP
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel Maybe? Stock Works Good.
Trigger If You Dont Like Stock? Very Adjustable, Mine is OK.
Feedneck If You Really dont want to take out the Allens.
Strengths: Accurate
Efficiancy
Speed
Light
Feel
Maintainence
Looks
Price
Weaknesses: Has Little Kick
Kind of Loud But Sounds Good.
Loose Screws
Review: Accuracy
Well The First Day I Used It...Kinda Didn't Think Accuracy Was To Good. First Problem Was I was Using BE Monster Balls...No More To Be Said. Next Was It was very Inconsistent, but I wasn't gonna cry over that yet. I Chopped abunch of the balls and then the accuracy dropped to 0%. Poor Me...Pulled out the stingers (Little Better Right?) and well hey my ETek was shooting pretty smooth. Second Time I used Field Paint and my Reg Was Broken in and stuff and WOW. The Accuracy was Ball On Top Of Ball. Overall Great Accuracy.

Speed
Many People Were freaked out that kicking out the QEV's and Putting in a Micro switch would decrease the speed....well.....I SAY NOT! I would much rather take a Micro switch than a Optical. When you are walking your trigger You Feel it. Love that. There are working and happy happy ramp modes on here too so that's cool (Im not a ramper) Anyways this marker is almost as fast as any other ego out their. Amazing Freaking Speed

Feel
This Marker Is Jaw Dropping Light. From what I know this is the lightest Ego their is besides the SL66 So Yea. When Holding This Marker In Your Hand It Feels So Amazing, The Frame is pretty small but not too small. The Regulator Feels Nice To Hold. And the Grips are pretty comfy too. The Markers Weight Balances out really well and you don't feel more weight in place A than place B. Overall In This The Marker Feels Great To Hold, I guess that's why I carry it with me everywhere.

Maintenance
Sadly, being an unsuccessful Autococker owner, I thought the maintenance might still be hard even after many of people have told me its easy. LPR, Rammer, Flush, Noid? Not your everyday Spyder Parts and I though this might be a hard thing to learn about but it took like one day. Cleaning The ETek is a breeze. If you do have trouble cleaning it check the forums on here or PBNation, the stickies are more then helpful =D

Sound and Kick
This is one of the things people complain about and I have no clue why? Some people say the kick is horrible but this all depends what your used to, compared to my dads PM6 This thing is pretty horse-like, but when coming from my ECocker...well I don't even feel the kick. Next would be sound which is kind of loud but not ear ringing loud. If this small thing really truly bugs you just get a new barrel. I Personally like the sound of it, has a very poppy sound to it.

Quality
This is a very stable feeling marker, and long as you do regular maintenance it shouldn't let you down. One complaint I do have though is that the screws tend to come loose sometimes. So far I Have Lost 3 Grip Frame Screws, and the Eye Cover Screw came loose and I lost a Detent. This could be my fault for not tightening enough, but yea still could be much better. Also the Power Button Cover Is Starting To Come Off Frequently so I Have To Do Something about That (Any Ideas? Glue Maybe?) Besides those small little draw backs this is a very durable marker and can trust it will be working when I want to play (Unlike my cocker) Quality Is a A+

Others
Ok, so what came in the package was a Barrel Condom, Extra Parts, Allens, Manual, Lube, Barrel, and 2 ETek Stickers. All this was packaged very nicely into a shiny metal looking box and had some nice padding on the inside. Next would be the Efficiency that I didn't not mention yet, because as with all Egos, It is amazing, their good done.

Update #3
Well its been a few months and time for another update. So my ETek hasn't had any problems yet again. Sometimes when I screw my on/off in the ETek leaks somewhere random but then if you take 1 or 2 shots its basically gone. I got a new CCU Kit for my marker and looks nice and comes with a clamping feedneck too so that's good. A new back jewel for my marker is being sent as we speak so A+ Customer Service in my book. I recently got a stiffi barrel and hopes were to high...it chopped...alot... Not a gun problem, but I think it had to do with my loader on low battery's so I will talk more about that next time. So I have had this marker for quite a while and I am surprised how well it is holding up.
Conclusion: Awsomely Super Ultra Cool Gun, I Recommend it Comepletely. PE Makes another Great Product. If anyone feels I should add something then just Comment it Or PM It and ill try and write it up.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 25th, 2007 at 10:48 am PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
dstone454 Sunday, March 4th, 2007 | 6:02 pm PST
actually i think i am gonna go for a ul'd pmr just because i shot one and used it for a couple games and it was pretty good, not the best efficiency but it'll probly be my backup so thats OK. the only reason i'm not gonna get the etek is because its much more expensive, i can get a pmr for 350 plus a ul frame for 130 plus new back cap which is like 25 plus lazer eyes which is like 20 plus cp on off for 40 which leaves me at 575 which is 100 bucks cheaper than the etek and i need the money for summer tourneys
   

SpyderPaintz Monday, March 5th, 2007 | 6:17 pm PST
Thats cool too, I have a PMR for a backup also. Oddly saying this...its a very nice gun. I love my ETek much more but for the price your getting you could just go with that. But yea the efficancy isnt the best...I belive their will be an Orange Bolt for a PMR out soon so you could get that, I definitaly am.
   

dstone454 Monday, March 12th, 2007 | 2:09 pm PST
well my parents went back on their decision to let me get another gun so i just ordered a cp reg, sling trigger, reg adapter, and adjustable ram cap for my defiant, i can't wait till they come(my shop said it might be a little though)
   

SpyderPaintz Tuesday, March 20th, 2007 | 5:32 pm PST
Lol sucks, thats ok though. You have a defiant which still is a really nice marker and with those things It will be even better. Defiants is a very underrated gun.
   

dstone454 Thursday, March 22nd, 2007 | 5:23 pm PST
yeah but i'm still getting a rail in the summer my parents finally said they could and i made them write it down so yeah lol

yeah the defiants are underated but hey more joy in destroying the guy who underestimates my lovely little gun lol

the stuff is supposed to be at the shop tomorrow so i'm pretty exited

i might save some money and get a redz ego (they are new so you probly havn't heard of it but its on the redz site) cause we are sponsored and i'm pretty sure i can get it around 600-700 its an 07 ego with redz milling and anno and pepperstick and i have a pepperstick kit so thats cool lol




   

pballerXGUNZ Sunday, March 25th, 2007 | 4:52 am PST
hey, I was just wondering if i should get an invert or the etek? i got an ion now.
Last edited on Sunday, March 25th, 2007 at 5:00 am PST
   

SpyderPaintz Tuesday, March 27th, 2007 | 9:04 pm PST
To Dstone:
I Have a PMR too, good gun...not the greatest. But I kinda wish I got a Defiant 2 over my PMR. Im a timmy lover =)

To pballer:
Id go with the ETek, they are proven reliable and well known. The Value is much higher to. I myself dont find the Invert to feel good due to it being TO small. Try both our and see for yourself ;)
   

dstone454 Saturday, March 31st, 2007 | 6:10 am PST
yeah i love my defiant but i'm just gonna get a rail and keep it stock(stock trigger isn't horrible once broken in) and run it as a backup
   

dstone454 Friday, April 6th, 2007 | 5:27 pm PST
the ups for my gun came in and its awesome except since the new reg is so light it made my gun really backheavy so i'm gonna maybe get a cp 45/45 peanut since i'm planning on a new tank sometime in the next 5 months anyway

or will something else make it a little more balanced i honestly don't know a whole lot about it
   

SpyderPaintz Tuesday, April 10th, 2007 | 1:47 pm PST
Awsome ;) I kinda want a defiant but I got a PMR to quick and relized I could get timmys at the same price =( but whatever the PMR is nice and works
   

sp62 Monday, April 30th, 2007 | 9:34 am PST
etek or pm7 better buy?
   

dstone454 Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 | 1:35 pm PST
personally i'd say etek cause its a little cheaper but the pm7 has less kick, a little more accurate, and smaller i think but its harder to service and less reliable

i'd take pm7 but i value less noise and kick over efficiency and ease of maintanence since i don't find it that hard

both are really good but the pm7 will get u more respect and I think it will be better

but what kind of tank u have if u have something that doen't get a whole lotta shots off a fill then either get a new tank or I would say etek since it doesn't matter a ton but getting next to no shots off a fill sucks
   

pbking911 Saturday, June 23rd, 2007 | 6:03 am PST
Do you know if the etek works on low output tanks?
   

dstone454 Sunday, June 24th, 2007 | 1:09 pm PST
low pressure tanks?

yyeah it should seeing as its a low pressure gun
   

xpunisherx Thursday, August 9th, 2007 | 12:10 am PST
If you're having trouble with the screws loostening on you then just get this stuff called locktite. It's like a really light glue just for screws and it comes in two different strengths one makes it so you have to try really hard to get it undone and the other just holds it lightly.
   

Eclipse007 Saturday, August 18th, 2007 | 2:26 pm PST
OTEdge was banned a while back and SpyderPaintz was actually him and got caught, so he gave up on making new accounts and asked me (His Teammate) to check any comments and stuff for his reviews and respond to them after he tells me what to put. He said that he knows about loctite but rather not have used it, just decided to screw them in tighter and just be careful about the 4 upper screws on the grips so he dosnt peirce the noid. He said it worked out for him but he is considering putting loctite on the setscrew to hold the ASA in place as that is coming loose VERY frequently. Even so, thanks for the advice.
Last edited on Monday, August 27th, 2007 at 8:12 am PST
   

GhilleMan Tuesday, December 11th, 2007 | 4:17 pm PST
put some BLUE loctite on those screws. make sure its blue, red is permanent.
   

Eclipse007 Tuesday, December 11th, 2007 | 11:14 pm PST
Yeah, He says he hasnt lost any more of them since the last time he updated, and now he has an 07 Ego and still isnt losing any. He also wanted me to add in that the Etek Ego is pretty similar to his new 07 (Even tho the 07 is still better). Thanks.
   

cashmoney87 Saturday, January 26th, 2008 | 9:33 pm PST
It's loud put a silencer on it.
The screws are loose tighten them.
It kicks kick it back.
There are your weaknesses solved.
   

Justin9 Saturday, May 17th, 2008 | 4:27 pm PST
does the the etek use a low or high pressure system
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media