paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on sublime13bm's Review / Comments on sublime13bm's Review / Comments on sublime13bm's Review / Comments on sublime13bm's Review / Comments on sublime13bm's Review

Comments on sublime13bm's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

sublime13bm Tuesday, October 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pirhana black maxx-light trigger cheap
viewloader revelation-heavy, slick design
Spyder xtra-cheap, reliable,great beginner gun
spyder electra-reliable,amazing gun,fun
2003 Autococker-unreliable,breaks,accurate.
Marker Setup: Everything is stock, i bought it on the 9th of october.

Empire Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
the body kit
dye ultralight barrell (matching body kit)
drop forward
Strengths: Light, slick, rocking frame is amazing
Weaknesses: Barrell
Review: I have used alot of different guns, and spyder has never seemed to fail me with there consistent accuracy and reliabilty, they are very easy to clean, and can be used for any level of paintball. This gun is sleek sexy, and upgradeable, its accurate and reliable. You can upgrade it with a body kit, but a barrell and a nice nice dye ultralite barrell would basically make this gun unstoppable.
Conclusion: if you got some money, and you play woods and speed ball, this is the type of gun for you.


Trust syder
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
matts Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 6:11 pm PST
would u suggest this gun, an ion, an mr3, or an a-5? im more of a speedball player but play alot of woodsball when i cant afford speedball admission. any help would be appreciated
   

CareBear-Killer Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 9:25 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by matts
would u suggest this gun, an ion, an mr3, or an a-5? im more of a speedball player but play alot of woodsball when i cant afford speedball admission. any help would be appreciated

if you play speedball and woods ball, i'd narrow your selection down to the VS3 or the Ion. While the MR3 and the A5 are still great markers, they just aren't that good on a speedball field. As far as which is better, the Ion or the VS3... I think its more up to personal preference at this point, and how quickly you want to toss in some upgrades. It sounds like aftermarket items are already in the works for the VS3, but currently the ION is the most upgradable marker on the market.

You may want to ask people at your local field if you can fire off some rounds from their VS3 and Ion. Or atleast hold each marker when you go to your local store, to see how you like the weight on feel of each.
   

matts Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 | 2:40 pm PST
thanx alot. also, on an ion or vs3 would you suggest an all american freak jr. or a freak
   

sfig4 Thursday, October 12th, 2006 | 1:52 pm PST
To start the Ion and The VS3 are around the same from what ive heard from this. if all this is true...

The VS3 only has one thing better than the ION and that is the fact that it can shoot up to 25BPS

Now the ION has a few things better Its lighter,Electric Pneumatics, closed bolt design, and operates at 140 PSI compared to the VS3's 200. It is also extremely upgradable. AND THE BEST OF ALL $110 CHEAPER.

So the ION is cheaper(by alot), more efficient, more accurate and lighter, Also EXTREMELY upgradable (performance and looks).

The VS3 is faster than the ION(7 Balls) and that's it. Another thing that's not performance wise is the fact the spyder is probably easier to clean but come on the ION isn't that hard to clean. Also lots of spyder barrels don't fit the VS3.

So if I had to choose one it would be the ION, More upgradable, More efficient, More accurate, lighter, And $110 cheaper.

Also I highly doubt that it can reach 25 BPS but w/e ill belive it. For now

Also with the money u save from buying the ion you could buy a new board and a QEV to destroy the VS3
Last edited on Thursday, October 12th, 2006 at 1:56 pm PST
   

emf7301 Thursday, October 12th, 2006 | 3:17 pm PST
First, we don't know what kind of efficiency the VS3 has yet so don't go claiming it's more efficient if you don't have any numbers.

Second, same goes for the accuracy. If you don't have more than mere heresay, don't claim anything.

Third, where did you find an ion for $130 new? When you compare prices make sure they are market prices and not MSRP. The MSRP is not the market price. When comparing market prices, the VS3 is only $50 more.

Fourth, of course there are no upgrades currently because the gun has only been out less than a month. There weren't any upgrades for the Ion when it first came out either. Upgrades will come with time.

Fifth, yes kingman did screw up with making the VS3 so that not all barrels will fit but once again, new barrels will come with time.

Sixth, sure a closed bolt design will keep out dirt but the open bolt design isn't any worse. In fact, several top guns use an open bolt design including timmies and egos. Plus with the removable bolt pin, cleaning it if it gets dirty like from an unfortunate chop or break is incredibly easy.

Seventh, even though the Ion does have a lower operating pressure, at these low levels the difference is minimal. For example, the promaster runs at a higher pressure than the VS3 but many consider it better than the Ion. Low pressure is definitely better then high pressure but once your in the LP range, the small differences in pressure don't matter.

Sure the ion is lighter but building muscle never hurt anyone. Sure electro-pneumatics are more consistant but we don't know the consistancy of the VS3 yet either.

Most important is how does the gun feel to you. If it just doesn't feel right, then any amount of technology won't make it worthwhile when you can have a comparable gun that you do like the feel of.

Basically what i'm saying is go try out both guns and get whichever you like best. Don't forget about trying the VS2 as well if you don't like the rocking trigger. Just make sure you get your facts straight before making a decision so that you can get what you feel is best.
Last edited on Thursday, October 12th, 2006 at 3:19 pm PST
   

sfig4 Thursday, October 12th, 2006 | 4:00 pm PST
well here are your prices.... if you were talking to me..... but im guessing your both American..

http://www.badlandspaintball.com/guns/spyder.html

http://www.badlandspaintball.com/guns/ion.html
   

AngryInsurgent Thursday, October 12th, 2006 | 6:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sfig4
well here are your prices.... if you were talking to me..... but im guessing your both American..

http://www.badlandspaintball.com/guns/spyder.html

http://www.badlandspaintball.com/guns/ion.html


Thats a horrible example site to base your price comparisons off of. Both their Ion and their Spyders are very very overpriced.

The actual market price of an Ion is $190-200
The actual Market price of a VS2 is $190
The actual Market price of a VS3 is $240

Anyone who pays $360 for a VS3 would be foolish but anyone who pays $250 for a stock ion would also be foolish. A site with more reasonable prices like actionvillage has VS3s priced $40-50 more than an ion.

check with www.actionvillage.com
Last edited on Thursday, October 12th, 2006 at 6:11 pm PST
   

sfig4 Friday, October 13th, 2006 | 12:53 pm PST
I have.
   

AngryInsurgent Friday, October 13th, 2006 | 2:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sfig4
I have.
then you realize that VS3s are not actually $110 more than ions, but actually $40 more?
   

ICU117 Friday, October 13th, 2006 | 2:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sfig4
I have.

Like durka durka above said, it is only 40 more...
Besides, you are better off getting a Promaster or an Wrath LTD for about $250+around $50 for a macroline and asa, it may be more expensive then both of these markers, but it is at a level that the ion and vs aren't. To get the ion/vs to that level, you would end up upping past the $300 mark. But, if you are fine with staying stock for a while, both are fine markers to start off with. The VS I would suggest a little more so, because it is easier on the maintainance. (all spyders are)
Last edited on Friday, October 13th, 2006 at 2:29 pm PST
   

~CJW~ Friday, October 13th, 2006 | 8:10 pm PST
well those prices up there are Canadian prices, badlands is in toronto so thats why its alot, but there are cheaper places still like www.canadianpaintball.com
   

CareBear-Killer Friday, October 13th, 2006 | 8:18 pm PST
Per kingman the VS2 is rated for 25bps and the VS3 is rated for 30.

Stock, I think the VS3/VS2 are atleast comprable to the Ion. Both are fairly accurate stock. Both operate at a low pressue. The vs3 only weighs a few ounces more than the stock Ion. Its also rated for a higher ROF than the stock Ion. While its still a blowback marker, I do think the VS2 and the VS3 will be competition for the Ion.
   

wombizle Sunday, October 15th, 2006 | 1:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sfig4
To start the Ion and The VS3 are around the same from what ive heard from this. if all this is true...

The VS3 only has one thing better than the ION and that is the fact that it can shoot up to 25BPS

Now the ION has a few things better Its lighter,Electric Pneumatics, closed bolt design, and operates at 140 PSI compared to the VS3's 200. It is also extremely upgradable. AND THE BEST OF ALL $110 CHEAPER.

So the ION is cheaper(by alot), more efficient, more accurate and lighter, Also EXTREMELY upgradable (performance and looks).

The VS3 is faster than the ION(7 Balls) and that's it. Another thing that's not performance wise is the fact the spyder is probably easier to clean but come on the ION isn't that hard to clean. Also lots of spyder barrels don't fit the VS3.

So if I had to choose one it would be the ION, More upgradable, More efficient, More accurate, lighter, And $110 cheaper.

Also I highly doubt that it can reach 25 BPS but w/e ill belive it. For now

Also with the money u save from buying the ion you could buy a new board and a QEV to destroy the VS3


QFT
I chose an ion just because it was fully EP. and ions are what my teams sponsor gives us
   

sdrpaintball Saturday, October 28th, 2006 | 8:43 am PST
check out action village it is very reliable with great prices
   

^_^ Wednesday, November 29th, 2006 | 4:27 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by AngryInsurgent


Thats a horrible example site to base your price comparisons off of. Both their Ion and their Spyders are very very overpriced.

The actual market price of an Ion is $190-200
The actual Market price of a VS2 is $190
The actual Market price of a VS3 is $240

Anyone who pays $360 for a VS3 would be foolish but anyone who pays $250 for a stock ion would also be foolish. A site with more reasonable prices like actionvillage has VS3s priced $40-50 more than an ion.

check with www.actionvillage.com

Speaking of foolish. You need to learn to count.
   

Jeff_Meister Thursday, December 28th, 2006 | 3:58 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by CareBear-Killer
Per kingman the VS2 is rated for 25bps and the VS3 is rated for 30.

Stock, I think the VS3/VS2 are atleast comprable to the Ion. Both are fairly accurate stock. Both operate at a low pressue. The vs3 only weighs a few ounces more than the stock Ion. Its also rated for a higher ROF than the stock Ion. While its still a blowback marker, I do think the VS2 and the VS3 will be competition for the Ion.


Kingman can say what they want, the VS2 does not shoot 25 BPS and the VS3 does not shoot 30 BPS I would challenge anyone who says they can. These markers are not Electropnuematic, there is no way they fire that fast. Can you imagine? Outshooting a Halo B? I bet majority of people are firing around 15BPS tops with the VS3 because people always think they are firing faster than they really are. If you wanna get an idea, look ar tournament speedball videos, check how fast they are firing, and thats 15 BPS because thats what tournaments are locked at. So 30 BPS...no...Angels barely shoot this..
   

Elder HS pbclub Sunday, December 31st, 2006 | 10:12 pm PST
just wanted 2 know if u guys have ever gone to something called school!!!
science!
just because the kingman are blow back guns and ions are ep doesn't mean spyders are not capacle of shooting 30bps...now i know u guys r gonna say that nobody can shoot 30bps(and i agree) but scientifically i am almost possitive that it is even capable of handling more than 30bps
YES... being the way the way that EP guns opperate i do believe they have an advantage in the high pbs range(but i am talking about being able 2 shoot 40 bps)
   

Paintballmania5 Monday, September 3rd, 2007 | 3:36 pm PST
You guys dont get it. The trigger can go 30bps u cant.Thats factory rated. Like i saw that the q loader can go to 100bps. Now i know that doesnt need to but it CAN.They didnt make either gun to shoot that fast thats just how fast they CAN go.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media