paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on JesterTLS's Review / Comments on JesterTLS's Review / Comments on JesterTLS's Review / Comments on JesterTLS's Review / Comments on JesterTLS's Review

Comments on JesterTLS's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

JesterTLS Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months29 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5, 98, Syder in various forms.
Marker Setup: In stock form for now. Soon to have a Folding stock, J&J Ceramic Barrel, and Galil forgrip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
See above. Folding stock and Galil forgrip.
Strengths: 1) is it's price. 2) Is it's durability.
Weaknesses: The Orings the factory uses isnt great, and the weight.
Review: The Tacamo is a great looking scenario marker for a really good price. It is extremly inexpensive, easy to field strip, and durable. My personal Tacamo was literly ran over with a car and took no damage what so ever. Wiped it down to get the tire tracks off the body and it was good to go. The stock barrel shoots through breaks fairly well. It is not ported so it is fairly loud, louder than most markers.

The orings the factory uses arent the best. Takes about two minutes to strip the marker and replace these with regular bottle orings (depending on where you got yours, my scenario supplier does this before they ship them out.)

And the weight can be a little much for the younger players. It's made with real AK parts. None of that fake plastic stuff. This makes it far more durable than the rest, but it makes it little heavier for the younger players.

There is already a growing after market for this marker. One company is already building different variants of the AK out of the Tacamo, such as the RPK heavy machine gun, Dragunov, Krinkov, Galil, folding stocks, you name it.
Conclusion: If you are wanting a good looking scenario marker that will turn heads, but not break the bank, then the Tacamo is for you. Easy to clean and maintain. And you dont have to worry about it getting damaged running into a tree or diving into a trench or bunker. Built tough like the real AK's with many real AK parts.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 6th, 2006 at 3:12 am PST
 

Review Comments
Deadbolt11 Monday, November 13th, 2006 | 5:39 pm PST
where did you buy yours. just out of curiosity
   

JesterTLS Monday, November 13th, 2006 | 9:42 pm PST
Scenariosupply.com They will also build them into any variant based off the AK (RPK, Dragunov, Krinkov, Galil). Cost a bit more, but they are pretty sweet.
   

Deadbolt11 Tuesday, November 14th, 2006 | 2:18 pm PST
sweet thanks
   

drobecks Wednesday, January 10th, 2007 | 4:37 pm PST
i dont know if its the whole gun or just my friends but his sucks
   

JesterTLS Friday, January 12th, 2007 | 2:39 am PST
What kind of problems is he having with it? Just unsatisfied with it or something specific? let me know, I will check with our tech people at the field. They have been modding them for awhile so they may know a fix on it. Tell him to get in touch with Archon. The rep I talked to at a big game said they want to know about any problems to make sure they get corrected.
Last edited on Friday, January 12th, 2007 at 2:43 am PST
   

bvdave Saturday, January 20th, 2007 | 7:58 am PST
couldnt find them there but you can find em on ebay at the right stores for lower then the msrp

http://stores.ebay.ca/Flasc-Paintball_Other-markers_W0QQcolZ
4QQdirZ1QQfsubZ7987833QQftidZ2QQtZkm
   

Ravenwulfe Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 | 9:34 am PST
Out of curiosity, what kind of threads does this take?
   

bvdave Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 | 1:35 pm PST
takes spyder but you wont need to upgrade the barrel this one is great and it looks beautifull!
   

Ravenwulfe Thursday, February 1st, 2007 | 4:55 am PST
That's pretty good that it takes a common thread. Thanks!
   

JesterTLS Wednesday, February 7th, 2007 | 3:05 am PST
We had one team member that milled out the brackets and put on a J&J Ceramic. Worked out very well. I am doing the same thing. Shorter barrel, then adding a folding stock. Tacamo I believe is coming out with the folding stock for this marker like they put out for the A5. Makes it far more compact and then the Ceramic takes care of any breaks.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 7th, 2007 at 3:06 am PST
   

bvdave Thursday, March 8th, 2007 | 5:02 pm PST
the origional barrel is actually extremily good at shooting through breaks and self cleaning. also they allready have a folding stock version out (Tacamo type 68-I msrp is 349.99)
   

Boondok Tuesday, May 8th, 2007 | 2:45 pm PST
Next time you see someone run into a tree when playing paintball, tell me about it.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 8th, 2007 at 4:18 pm PST
   

JesterTLS Friday, August 17th, 2007 | 12:03 am PST
Heard a paintball buddy ran into a metal pole at a game a couple weeks ago. Heard it was pretty amusing...


By the way, Tacamo now has their site up and running, with a gun builder adn on line owners manuals for the Type 68's. I know there were several people trying to get scans. http://www.tacamopaintball.com/
   

andrey0614 Tuesday, January 1st, 2008 | 4:57 pm PST
Jester TLS,
You mentioned earlier about Tacamo dealers who wants to know about gun problems.
I had my gun for about a game before it started leaking. Can not find problem replaced and oiled every single o-ring still leaks, and velosity is really low, about 30 yards.
Any help will be appreciated.
   

JesterTLS Sunday, January 6th, 2008 | 3:46 am PST
www.tacamopaintball.com top right corner of the page where it says contact. use that format to send an email to Doug Brown, VP of Archon. He is the gentleman over Tacamo and can get what ever it is corrected, and he stands behind his products.

To me I would have said the orings because they had a bad batch on the original Type 68's, but since you replaced them, sounds like the problems the Spyders had with bad cup seals. But I'm not sure if they use the same set up like that or not. They are very simular to the Spyders.

If you dont hear anything from Doug in a few days, Hit the Tacamo section over at MilSimEmpire.com. He is in there about every morning.
   

bvdave Friday, January 11th, 2008 | 9:49 am PST
they also have a new tacamo hammerhead 14" barrel out for this marker now
   

paintballin94 Sunday, October 26th, 2008 | 5:23 pm PST
Hey i'm just wondering what kind of hopper do you use with it, and it is a good gun. Is it like, good quality and does it feel good. If you've used like, the MR2 or a BT or a Tippmann a5 or something like that, would you tell me how it compares to them? thanks
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media