paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on SteelBlueXI's Review / Comments on SteelBlueXI's Review / Comments on SteelBlueXI's Review / Comments on SteelBlueXI's Review

Comments on SteelBlueXI's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

SteelBlueXI Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months68 of 73 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V35 Halo B
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Shocker NXT
WGP 05 Prostock Autococker
Strengths: Consistant ROF
Very fast
Easy to work with
Weaknesses: RF chips are $35 per marker
Review: UPDATE 3/16/2007 - The initial review I made was based on using the loader in Pulse mode. I have since installed an RF chip in my gun. See the bottom for my notes regarding the difference RF mode made.

I was lucky enough to be loitering at my local paintball shop when the first shipment of DXS Pulses arrived. My first reaction was how nice they looked, but they looked a lot bigger then a Halo. I immediately grabbed a Reloader B from the shelf and did a comparison. The height, length and width of the two loaders are nearly indistinguishable. Weight was also very similar when using 6 AA's in each. Also almost identical was their capacity. A packed Dye locklid nearly fills each one to the brim.

The owner of the shop explained all the features of the Pulse and I decided to give it a try. I brought it home and put it on my marker. This is where I noitced the first difference between the Pulse and a Halo. The Pulse seemed to sit about a half an inch lower on the marker.

Loading it up with paint, I switched it on and threw it into pulse mode. I was immediately greeted by the constant pulsing of the motor. While it annoyed me at first (still quieter then a Vlocity) I quickly forgot it was even there. Also, I'd like to point out when the loader is in RF mode, the pulsing is reduced from every half second, to every 5 seconds. That's a 90% decrease in pulsing.

I brought my marker outside and fired off a few rounds to make sure the loader was feeding. So far so good. I started shooting faster with one finger, and then eventually two. The loader didn't miss a beat. It wasn't until I really started ripping on it from a dead stop that I noticed that occasionally there was a slight lag between when you started shooting and when the loader started feeding. This happens if you start shooting right after there is a pulse. At 15 bps you can get off 7-8 shots before the loader pulses again if you time it just right. This usually resulted in one or two shots being dropped, but once it did start feeding, it was awesome. I'd like to point out that if the loader was using RF mode, this also would be a non-issue.

I decided to test the consistancy of the loader so I refilled it and put my marker on 20 bps full auto and let her rip. It skipped a couple shots when I first held down the trigger (still using pulse mode, mind you) but once it kicked in it was easily the most consistant stream of paint I've ever shot. Way more consistant then my V35 with absolutely no slowdown.

I also forgot to mention one of the nicest things about the DXS Pulse is the removeable tray. While the Suicide shells for the Halo provide the same function, this is tool-less design. While I don't ever see myself hunched over behind a snake using my jersey to clean out the loader, it's still nice to be able to strip it and clean it as quickly as possible. I have very large hands so it was a tight squeeze to clean out the very front of the loader, but it was doable.

UPDATE 3/16/2007 - I finally got around to installing the RF chip in my Shocker about a month ago and it's been performing flawlessly. The RF chip was an easy installation and once it was in I simply synced up the marker according to the instructions and then hit the field. The maximum ROF is about the same (probably somewhere in the 25bps neighborhood) but the lag that I was occasionally experiencing is now completely gone. To test it I put my board on uncapped full-auto and pulled the trigger over and over. Each time the gun would unleash a hell-storm of paint without missing a beat. The dropped shots I experienced in this test when using Pulse mode were now gone. Very impressive.
Conclusion: So in conclusion, I'm completely happy with my new purchase. The price is slightly higher then most high end loaders, but in my opinion it's worth the extra money. While the DXS Pulse stands on its own in Pulse mode, I truely believe in RF mode it is the closest thing to a perfect loader we have seen so far. My only two gripes about the loader (the lag when shooting and the constant pulsing) are no longer problems since I installed my RF chip.

Simply put, the Pulse is awesome. As long as it holds up over the long run, I think this will be the new preferred loader for nearly every player out there. Starting with 10 points, I deduct 1 point for this reason: In pulse mode the loader is near perfect, deserving a 9. In RF mode the loader deserves a 10, however I deduct one point because the loader does not come with an RF chip and at $35 + install for each one, the cost of the loader quickly goes up, especially for people with a lot of markers.

However, let me reiterate: This is one hell of a loader and I believe it is a huge step above anything else on the market at the time of this writing. Go buy one!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 16th, 2007 at 9:06 am PST
 

Review Comments
diegoballa Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006 | 12:16 pm PST
nice review

p.s. how do you like your NXT im getting one
Last edited on Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006 at 12:23 pm PST
   

dukedude4evr Friday, November 24th, 2006 | 9:51 am PST
read reviews......
   

SteelBlueXI Tuesday, November 28th, 2006 | 4:59 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by diegoballa
p.s. how do you like your NXT im getting one
Love it. Shoots great.
   

you_got_facered Friday, December 22nd, 2006 | 5:02 pm PST
do you know if speed feeds fit on the pulse???
   

SteelBlueXI Saturday, December 23rd, 2006 | 12:46 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by you_got_facered
do you know if speed feeds fit on the pulse???
Yes, it does.
   

Mr.pb-nerd Wednesday, December 27th, 2006 | 10:35 am PST
is the gun itself required to be electric (EP) in order to install the RF chip, or is it possible to intsall on an e-trigger....cause i got a rokr trigger for my MR1 and my local paintball store has the DXS at the same price as the Halo...thnx
   

SteelBlueXI Thursday, December 28th, 2006 | 4:09 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mr.pb-nerd
is the gun itself required to be electric (EP) in order to install the RF chip, or is it possible to intsall on an e-trigger....cause i got a rokr trigger for my MR1 and my local paintball store has the DXS at the same price as the Halo...thnx
As long as there is a solenoid to solder the chip to, you're fine. In the case of an e-trigger, a solenoid is used to trip a sear, so it should be possible.
   

4skins23 Thursday, March 15th, 2007 | 2:15 pm PST
You didn't mention that the neck is too fat! I could not fit one of these on my sons nxt shocker. I had to sand the neck down (like Halo's). I also had to sand it down to fit my CCM feedneck on my Angels'. I'm guessing it won't fit most feednecks. Otherwise I am totally happy with my Pulse.
About the rf chips, how does it work if you have 2 guns? How does it distinguish between them?
   

zonk1024 Thursday, March 15th, 2007 | 5:47 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by 4skins23
You didn't mention that the neck is too fat! I could not fit one of these on my sons nxt shocker. I had to sand the neck down (like Halo's). I also had to sand it down to fit my CCM feedneck on my Angels'. I'm guessing it won't fit most feednecks. Otherwise I am totally happy with my Pulse.
About the rf chips, how does it work if you have 2 guns? How does it distinguish between them?


You would most likely just have to redo the setting on the pulse. It would be easy, but you would have to have a separate chip in the second gun. Or, you could try to get/make a separate wiring harness and just switch the chip from one grip to another.
   

SteelBlueXI Friday, March 16th, 2007 | 7:01 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by 4skins23
You didn't mention that the neck is too fat! I could not fit one of these on my sons nxt shocker. I had to sand the neck down (like Halo's). I also had to sand it down to fit my CCM feedneck on my Angels'. I'm guessing it won't fit most feednecks. Otherwise I am totally happy with my Pulse.
About the rf chips, how does it work if you have 2 guns? How does it distinguish between them?

It fit perfectly in the stock feedneck on my NXT.
   

4skins23 Monday, March 19th, 2007 | 9:58 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by SteelBlueXI
It fit perfectly in the stock feedneck on my NXT.



Thats where my trouble lies. I never used the stock feedneck. I upgraded that first thing before I took the NXT home with an adjustable neck. I'm not a big fan of the o-ring necks, since the stock Ion and my Angel markers.
I was curious about the rf chip though because I shoot 2 different Angels so I swap them out and wasn't sure how that would work out. Does the Virtue board have a place for the chip? I'm planning on getting that for my IR-3 to cut down on the weight. ( No more rechargeable batteries inside gun.)
   

!ShOcKeR! Wednesday, March 21st, 2007 | 2:45 pm PST
Do you have to Solder the RF chip in?
   

seanzy Monday, March 26th, 2007 | 12:51 am PST
you really dont need the RF. when you turn on your pulse and it comes on, hit the button a second time till the light turns red (dont hold down as it will obviously turn off). this makes the loader a continuous pulse. you sorta forgot to add that to your review. i experience no lag without the rf and have been clocked at 21bps in semi.
   

avengerpaintbal Saturday, May 5th, 2007 | 8:16 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by seanzy
i experience no lag without the rf and have been clocked at 21bps in semi.

thats a lie unless you are using a rocking trigger on a angel...
   

Shocker_nxt07 Thursday, May 24th, 2007 | 4:51 am PST
i getting the rf i just bought virtue and and my nxt is fast as hell i agree with this review
   

tom spencer Sunday, July 1st, 2007 | 9:58 am PST
is it possible to fit a rip drive on to the pulse because my friend has one and it looks as if there is room to fit one. But im not sure
   

killy Saturday, June 11th, 2011 | 11:02 pm PST
i picked up the pulse from a pawn shop for 35$ now its on my DPF7
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media