paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Jenou's Review / Comments on Jenou's Review / Comments on Jenou's Review / Comments on Jenou's Review / Comments on Jenou's Review

Comments on Jenou's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Jenou Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month86 of 97 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
DMc
spyder Pilot ACS
various timmys
Marker Setup: proto rail with hybrid ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL frame
UL barrel
New ASA
Strengths: Fast as hell
secksay
light as hell
great value
Weaknesses: It varies with individual preference. Some dont like the plastic on the feedneck.
Review: When I first got this gun, I was at my field playing. I had ordered and paid for it in full like three and a half weeks before. The owner comes to me after a game and says, "Hey! You want your gun or what?" I stood there for a second before dashing into the proshop and tearing open that box. It was very well packaged. When I took it out and screwed the barrel on I was surprised at how light it was. I mean, I had expected it to be light, but this was ridiculous.

looks---very nice. very very nice. I'd say this ties with the PM6 in terms of looks. I'd also say that it looks better than the new PM7.

performance----When i first took it on to the field, i took some test shots, and this thing fires great. This is one dirty marker, I'll tellyou right now. I was rippin faces like a psycho with this machine. Just as accurate as any DM, my baby shot lasers all day until it started getting cold. That day it got to about 34 degrees fahrenheit and everyone was getting mad bolt stick. I took it in and applied some new lube, let it warm back up, and it was tearin for the rest of the day.

electronics----Just to let all you know, the rail has the EXACT SAME BOARD USED IN THE 1000$ PM7.

user friendliness-----I kid you not when I say that a dyslexic monkey could set the board. It was unbelievably easy for me to set the board to either semi, Millenium, or PSP. Also, you can set the Rail's rate of fire anywhere from 10 top 30 balls per second. Thats right. 30 BPS baby.

maintenance----incredibly easy to clean and lube. Just like any matrix, just unscrew the back cap, and the guts come out.

============================================================
=====
SEVERE COLD WEATHER INFO *new update* Dec. 14th 2006
============================================================
=====
Okay, well I went to a tournament a couple sundays ago. IT WAS FRICKIN !12 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT!!!! So i was using the rail all day, and for the first game, it worked okay. Anyway, here's details:

PROS::::::::::::::
*Even though it was making milkshakes every so often, It wasnt completely out of comission like my captain's DM6. While the rest of my team resorted to their crappy back-up guns, I could still play games fairly well with my PMR.
*Through all the chop damage, the PMR;'s new bolt system was incredibly easy to clean. As for My captain's DM6 and PM5 (his back up **OOC too), and my co-captains DM4, Their carnage was much more severe.

CONS::::::::::::::::::
*WHen the DM's actually shot without milkshaking(hardly ever), they still retained their accuracy. My gun was shooting in the cold, however the paintballs were flying everywhere except where I wanted them to. I put on my co-captain's UL barrel, and it pretty much did nothing to improve the catastrophe.

SO BASICALLY::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

-The PMR will out perform a DM in severely cold weather.
*however you'll still lose some hair before the day's through
-The PMR will lose accuracy in severely cold weather.
*but at least its working. The DMs were in a coma for 99% of the day.
***NOTE***in warmer weather, and inside, the rail has comparable if not
better accuracy than previous matrixes (05 down)***
-The PMR's bolt was very easy to clear of carnage
*My captain gave up cleaning his DM6's bolt after the fifteenth minute.

============================================================
=======
Conclusion: In conclusion, this baby's a gat no doubt. And for only 400 bucks, its great to know that I can get a great gun for a price I can afford. I mean, not everyone's parents'll run theirselves to the proshop and blow a two months' salary on a marker.
============================================================
====
UPDATE *DEC 12th 2006
============================================================
====
Now that I've seen it in the cold, and wasnt necessarily impressed, I can say that it at least worked. But a matrix is still a matrix in my case, and sub 35 degree weather is baaaaad juju for matrixes. Dont get me wrong. The rail is a great gun, better that most previous matrixes, and the best gun period for the price tag, but you're better off with a spyder or even a freakin tippmann when old man winter rolls around.

******for this I lower the overall score to 9.
============================================================
=======
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 at 5:25 pm PST
 

Review Comments
edd Tuesday, November 28th, 2006 | 7:52 am PST
Very nice review. Better then the one with all the helpful votes for it. Come back and edit it when its spring or summer to say how it performs during those conditions.
   

InfernoFrontman Friday, December 1st, 2006 | 7:47 pm PST
You cant get a UL frame because the reg is attached to the trigger frame
   

terrorizor Sunday, December 3rd, 2006 | 4:09 pm PST
THE PMR REG IS SCREW ON
   

maxmonster Saturday, December 9th, 2006 | 3:59 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by InfernoFrontman
You cant get a UL frame because the reg is attached to the trigger frame

well it just so happens that dye is making a ul frame for the pmr
   

Jenou Thursday, December 14th, 2006 | 3:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by InfernoFrontman
You cant get a UL frame because the reg is attached to the trigger frame

oh how wrong you are. they will be releasing an ul frame for the rail. all you'll have to do is inscrew the reg and the thing it screws into, put the frame on, then put the reg back.

its easy! ^______^
   

Jenou Thursday, December 14th, 2006 | 3:03 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by edd
Very nice review. Better then the one with all the helpful votes for it. Come back and edit it when its spring or summer to say how it performs during those conditions.

definately.
   

sinkinghippo Thursday, December 14th, 2006 | 3:57 pm PST
Great Review. Thanks!
   

the_real_kaz Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 | 8:55 am PST
In the cold, the accuracy was affected, but when it was warmer was the accuracy comparable to the DM's? or was it still not as good?
   

Jenou Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 | 5:20 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by the_real_kaz
In the cold, the accuracy was affected, but when it was warmer was the accuracy comparable to the DM's? or was it still not as good?

It was just as good if not better when I shot it inside and in warmer weather.
   

Fastfingers28 Saturday, December 23rd, 2006 | 7:30 am PST
So, Jenou... is the Proto Rail better than your DMC?
   

Jenou Monday, December 25th, 2006 | 10:36 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Fastfingers28
So, Jenou... is the Proto Rail better than your DMC?


I dont have a DMC. But the one I have played with many times is very nice. However, the rail is much lighter and smaller. But the DMC had an LPR, and believe it or not, that makes for a much smoother shot
   

Interceptor88 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 | 10:16 pm PST
This review might be taken more seriously if you left all the gansta talk at the field, yo. Just write the fraking review.
   

Jenou Monday, January 22nd, 2007 | 12:53 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Interceptor88
This review might be taken more seriously if you left all the gansta talk at the field, yo. Just write the fraking review.

calm down man. go bother someone else.
   

mrbillwebb Thursday, March 1st, 2007 | 12:10 pm PST
For cold weather conditions, I put hot hands packs taped onto the bottom of my hopper and as well as one wrapped over the body of the gun to keep the temp inside the gun around the bolt reasonable. Worked wonders for my pmr. I do agree about the lpr making shots much smoother, I put a much better lpr on my spyder and the shooting was much softer and the change was very much noticeable. However, the hyper 2 is so smooth I don't think it's that necessary, not to mention the boost forward to cradle balls.
   

Fastfingers28 Sunday, March 25th, 2007 | 3:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Jenou


I dont have a DMC. But the one I have played with many times is very nice. However, the rail is much lighter and smaller. But the DMC had an LPR, and believe it or not, that makes for a much smoother shot

Thanx man!
   

Ajwf Sunday, May 13th, 2007 | 6:56 pm PST
lmao 2 months salary?! thats some skill if your family can live on 200 bucks a month :S
   

Fusion_Noob Tuesday, July 24th, 2007 | 11:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Ajwf
lmao 2 months salary?! thats some skill if your family can live on 200 bucks a month :S

Dude why do you have to trash him like that. Not cool man what is it to you if he makes that little or not. Nobody really needs to know that or care about it so lay off.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media