paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on sthpark's Review / Comments on sthpark's Review / Comments on sthpark's Review / Comments on sthpark's Review / Comments on sthpark's Review

Comments on sthpark's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

sthpark Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month142 of 154 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion with Blackheart board, Freak barrel, CP regulator, NDZ trigger, CP on/off.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail with proto 2 piece barrel, Vlocity hopper, and Dye 70/4500 stubby tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
2 piece barrel
Strengths: Very light
Very fast
Compact
Accurate
Reasonable Price
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Ok, I've been playing paintball for about a year now, and like about a million other people I started with an Ion. My new gun senses where kicking in and I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg, so I thought I would at least give this gun a try, after all it is made by Dye.

The gun feels very good in the hands, its extremely light ( I was surprised at how light it was) its very compact, and the polymer parts don't seem to bother me. The stock board is pretty much like the response board by proto and it may be, haven't seen that in the features, mine is setup for 3 trigger pulls then ramping kicks in. The manual is very easy to follow and the settings seem to be fairly straightforward on how to adjust them. The marker has an anti bolt stick mode that is on by default, and the other modes are trigger sensitivity, dwell, ROF, and firing mode (semi, PSP, and Millenium)

Upon shooting the gun, I couldn't help but notice how fast it was, the factory setting is 20 bps according to the manual. The Rail was pretty accurate with some lower end paint (white box) and seemed pretty consistent, I don't have the chrono numbers, but I expect it to be more consistent when the Hyper 2 reg gets broken in good which takes about 2000 shots. The Rail had very little kick, not quite as smooth as DM's and PM's that I have shot but at a fraction of the price so its more than ok. To me it looks better than the PM 6, it has a lower body profile I believe and looks a lot like the PM 7. It definitely looks better in person and with a 2 piece barrel.

The gun is easy to disassemble, clean, lube and reassemble, very low maintenance, which is a plus.

The only complaint I have and its not a big one, is that there are a lot of allen wrenches and I couldn't find a way to differentiate between the sizes, not a big deal since I have a set of standard and metrics in a sized carrying sleeve, and also some of the screws are very tedious to get to, so patience is a virtue.

I was hesitant about purchasing this marker at first, but Im glad I did. It truly is a lot of performance for the price, Im not sure of another marker that is close to the performance of this stock. So, if your thinking about it, just get it. You don't need to spend an arm and a leg on a high end marker, this is high end performance for the price, and the biggest thing is the person behind the marker, not the marker itself.

Hope this review was helpful


12.8.06
OK, just to update, I have decided to go with one of the new metal triggers that have just come out, and upon installing it I decided to remove the spring behind the trigger, which lightened the pull on the trigger greatly (not that it had a hard pull to begin with). I like the feel of the metal trigger better and it seems to provide more area for two fingers and without the spring is much easier to walk. I havent read anywhere that this will effect the warranty, just that it may wear on the microswitch more, so you will have to be your own judge.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to beginners and intermediate players and to serious players not wanting to drop a house payment on a marker. Nothing is perfect, so 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 8th, 2006 at 4:37 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
edd Saturday, December 2nd, 2006 | 3:59 pm PST
Probably te most helpful review ive seen of this gun so far. good job.
   

Rebel105 Tuesday, December 5th, 2006 | 9:14 am PST
cool review man very informative

thanks!
   

change Thursday, December 7th, 2006 | 10:35 am PST
Great review. Actually sounds like someone other than a 13 year old wrote this. Very imformative. Great review once again.
   

terrorizor Thursday, December 7th, 2006 | 2:06 pm PST
VERY GOOD A+
Last edited on Thursday, December 7th, 2006 at 2:06 pm PST
   

cocker18a Sunday, December 24th, 2006 | 9:44 pm PST
wow some one who has an ion whos not ragging on the pmr cause its better than the ion
   

TeamDynasty41 Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007 | 1:44 pm PST
this was so helpful i went out and bought a pmr for myself.
   

NoCowsEver Friday, January 5th, 2007 | 2:57 pm PST
Wow, very informative review!
   

the_real_kaz Friday, January 12th, 2007 | 4:37 pm PST
What type of metal trigger did you put on the pmr? thanks.
   

sthpark Saturday, January 13th, 2007 | 9:35 pm PST
Proto Edge Trigger
   

mrbillwebb Thursday, March 1st, 2007 | 12:02 pm PST
White box paint? who makes it?
   

sthpark Friday, March 2nd, 2007 | 3:27 pm PST
Its the paint our team uses during practices, I think that DraXxus makes it, we just call it white box because there are no logos or any writing on the box.
   

revepaintball23 Saturday, March 3rd, 2007 | 7:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sthpark
Its the paint our team uses during practices, I think that DraXxus makes it, we just call it white box because there are no logos or any writing on the box.
pmi makes it
   

acballa Monday, March 12th, 2007 | 7:56 pm PST
Not bashing or anything, but wow, this is your first year and youve already been through an ion and you now have a pmr! Im into my fith year and i just moved up to an ion.............kids these days. Haha
   

sthpark Wednesday, March 14th, 2007 | 2:43 pm PST
Its cool, not a kid though, Im 26 and buy all my equip, not some punk kid who mommy and daddy spoils, the PMR is great but its currently running back up to my shocker.
   

acballa Sunday, March 18th, 2007 | 7:46 pm PST
O sorry hahhaa my bad. I buy all my stuff too. I hate people who get stuff for free and bash the people who had to buy there own stuff and cant afford thousand dollar guns
   

Fastfingers28 Saturday, March 24th, 2007 | 9:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by acballa
Not bashing or anything, but wow, this is your first year and youve already been through an ion and you now have a pmr! Im into my fith year and i just moved up to an ion.............kids these days. Haha
Agreed dude, I've been playing for 4 years, and I have an ion, but i'm looking into a pmr.
   

some person Wednesday, March 28th, 2007 | 6:50 pm PST
nice review
do they sell weaker trigger springs for it than the stock one?
   

sthpark Friday, March 30th, 2007 | 5:20 pm PST
Yeah, Im sure that they do, I actually had the stock spring replaced before I decided to take the spring out entirely, but I wouldnt recommend personally, my trigger started to stick slightly....
   

Ionhotshot Thursday, April 5th, 2007 | 5:26 pm PST
If you want to cut down on the trigger spring tension, just snip it down a bit.

What happens, is when you put the body together, it automaticall pushes the spring down about an inch.
Snip about 1/2-3/4 inch off the spring, and it'll become a lot less...springy. It'll loose a lot of tension.
   

ryanchampion Wednesday, April 11th, 2007 | 7:33 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sthpark
Its cool, not a kid though, Im 26 and buy all my equip, not some punk kid who mommy and daddy spoils, the PMR is great but its currently running back up to my shocker.
seriously dude i have two buy everything air paint gear and im gettin a pmr i have a ion with a empire reloader b and a pure energy tank
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media