paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on sthpark's Review / Comments on sthpark's Review / Comments on sthpark's Review / Comments on sthpark's Review / Comments on sthpark's Review

Comments on sthpark's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

sthpark Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month142 of 154 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion with Blackheart board, Freak barrel, CP regulator, NDZ trigger, CP on/off.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail with proto 2 piece barrel, Vlocity hopper, and Dye 70/4500 stubby tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
2 piece barrel
Strengths: Very light
Very fast
Compact
Accurate
Reasonable Price
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Ok, I've been playing paintball for about a year now, and like about a million other people I started with an Ion. My new gun senses where kicking in and I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg, so I thought I would at least give this gun a try, after all it is made by Dye.

The gun feels very good in the hands, its extremely light ( I was surprised at how light it was) its very compact, and the polymer parts don't seem to bother me. The stock board is pretty much like the response board by proto and it may be, haven't seen that in the features, mine is setup for 3 trigger pulls then ramping kicks in. The manual is very easy to follow and the settings seem to be fairly straightforward on how to adjust them. The marker has an anti bolt stick mode that is on by default, and the other modes are trigger sensitivity, dwell, ROF, and firing mode (semi, PSP, and Millenium)

Upon shooting the gun, I couldn't help but notice how fast it was, the factory setting is 20 bps according to the manual. The Rail was pretty accurate with some lower end paint (white box) and seemed pretty consistent, I don't have the chrono numbers, but I expect it to be more consistent when the Hyper 2 reg gets broken in good which takes about 2000 shots. The Rail had very little kick, not quite as smooth as DM's and PM's that I have shot but at a fraction of the price so its more than ok. To me it looks better than the PM 6, it has a lower body profile I believe and looks a lot like the PM 7. It definitely looks better in person and with a 2 piece barrel.

The gun is easy to disassemble, clean, lube and reassemble, very low maintenance, which is a plus.

The only complaint I have and its not a big one, is that there are a lot of allen wrenches and I couldn't find a way to differentiate between the sizes, not a big deal since I have a set of standard and metrics in a sized carrying sleeve, and also some of the screws are very tedious to get to, so patience is a virtue.

I was hesitant about purchasing this marker at first, but Im glad I did. It truly is a lot of performance for the price, Im not sure of another marker that is close to the performance of this stock. So, if your thinking about it, just get it. You don't need to spend an arm and a leg on a high end marker, this is high end performance for the price, and the biggest thing is the person behind the marker, not the marker itself.

Hope this review was helpful


12.8.06
OK, just to update, I have decided to go with one of the new metal triggers that have just come out, and upon installing it I decided to remove the spring behind the trigger, which lightened the pull on the trigger greatly (not that it had a hard pull to begin with). I like the feel of the metal trigger better and it seems to provide more area for two fingers and without the spring is much easier to walk. I havent read anywhere that this will effect the warranty, just that it may wear on the microswitch more, so you will have to be your own judge.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to beginners and intermediate players and to serious players not wanting to drop a house payment on a marker. Nothing is perfect, so 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 8th, 2006 at 4:37 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
hxcman1 Thursday, May 17th, 2007 | 6:22 pm PST
What do i need to buy for my pmr if my macroline popped out and the little grey peice that holds the macroline to the ASA flew away and got lost. if i bought a new on/off would that fix it or would i still have to buy a new hose and stuff. please comment and tell me somebody. thanks
   

skateordie1219 Sunday, May 20th, 2007 | 11:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by acballa
O sorry hahhaa my bad. I buy all my stuff too. I hate people who get stuff for free and bash the people who had to buy there own stuff and cant afford thousand dollar guns

Same here man, im only 14 but my parents dislike paintball and i have to mow lawns to cover my field and paint costs.

worth it all though :]

and BTW very nice review
   

sthpark Friday, May 25th, 2007 | 5:20 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by hxcman1
What do i need to buy for my pmr if my macroline popped out and the little grey peice that holds the macroline to the ASA flew away and got lost. if i bought a new on/off would that fix it or would i still have to buy a new hose and stuff. please comment and tell me somebody. thanks

Im not sure exactly, maybe you have gotten the issue resolved by now, if not just contact you local PB store and someone should be able to help you. Thanks for all the positive comments guys and helping this post get to # 1...thanks again, hope this review was helpful...
   

peeko_ Monday, May 28th, 2007 | 7:39 pm PST
really good review sir, im buying mine in 2 weeks or less, im pretty anxious
   

psychoballer93 Thursday, May 31st, 2007 | 8:23 am PST
"so I thought I would at least give this gun a try, after all it is made by Dye."-STHPARK



I'm not flaming you but its a Proto, not a Dye
   

pbkidion Saturday, June 2nd, 2007 | 9:01 am PST
Its not a dye? you know they are probably made in the same factory right? Well anyways great review.
Last edited on Saturday, June 2nd, 2007 at 9:02 am PST
   

TPD Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 | 1:09 pm PST
dye=higher end line

proto=lower end line

Proto would like to say they're different, but they're really just part of the Dye Precision family... I mean, other than the fact Proto stuff costs less than Dye (thank god).

Want a matrix? Buy a Proto. Want a sick paint job, ridiculously complex milling and an insane amount of attention given to detail (along with a huge price tag)? Buy a Dye.
   

sthpark Friday, June 8th, 2007 | 3:18 pm PST
Proto is a registered trademark of Dye Precision, so therefore Proto is made by the "Dye" company, nice try at bein a jackazz tho, I give you a 10......
Last edited on Friday, June 8th, 2007 at 3:25 pm PST
   

sthpark Friday, June 8th, 2007 | 3:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by psychoballer93
"so I thought I would at least give this gun a try, after all it is made by Dye."-STHPARK



I'm not flaming you but its a Proto, not a Dye


Read the review again, and point out where I said it was a Dye and not made by Dye, two completely different statements, and look on the back of any Proto product and see what the address is, I guarantee you its Dye Precision etc..........Cali. So we know you can read you just need to work on the comprehension and you should go far in life, thanks for looking
   

dstone454 Sunday, June 10th, 2007 | 2:05 pm PST
i got a nice setup bob long defiant 2 almost completely upped with reloader B and pmi tank and i'm 14 but i paid for all my crap

i have a job so i make money fast enough to afford a lot of the stuff so yeah

but my friend has two 1000 dollar guns that his parents bought him and hes terrible at paintball and doesn't even go its so annoying
he also has a reloader B, B2, pmi tank, empire tank, and dye gear
   

boomsin77 Sunday, June 10th, 2007 | 5:52 pm PST
this is the best review i have read so far and i went out and bought my self one and i am killing
   

sthpark Thursday, June 14th, 2007 | 5:09 pm PST
Thanks for all the positive comments... and as everyone knows its the baller behind the gun, but good reliable equipment make you more mentally comfotable and that translates into playing better, but yes its a really good marker in my opinion, why pay more for something that does the same thing, the tourneys we play in are capped at 15 bps so why do I need a $1000 gun that can shoot 30, yeah the CFOA would prob suspend me indefinitely...lol
   

smartballer Monday, June 25th, 2007 | 2:30 pm PST
yes. dye owns/makes all proto products, proto and dye are basically 1 company with 2 different line of products.
   

pbking911 Saturday, June 30th, 2007 | 7:43 am PST
Which do you prefer, PMR or MINI
   

str8killa303 Sunday, July 15th, 2007 | 11:58 am PST
VERY GOOD A+
   

giltyfrontman Sunday, August 19th, 2007 | 12:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Fastfingers28
Agreed dude, I've been playing for 4 years, and I have an ion, but i'm looking into a pmr.


I've been playing for about 3 years and have a tippmann 98c... I'm looking in to a PMR for later. (I buy my own stuff as well).
   

giltyfrontman Sunday, August 19th, 2007 | 12:20 pm PST
Also a question,

Does the PMR rune on Compressed air or HPA?

thnx
   

Mihuzaki Tuesday, February 5th, 2008 | 4:48 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by giltyfrontman
Also a question,

Does the PMR rune on Compressed air or HPA?

thnx


the pmr RUNS one HPA and HPA Only, use CO2 and prepare for a world of hurt
   

ionballaninety6 Tuesday, February 19th, 2008 | 4:20 pm PST
Awesome review, very helpful
   

ionballaninety6 Tuesday, February 19th, 2008 | 4:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ryanchampion

seriously dude i have two buy everything air paint gear and im gettin a pmr i have a ion with a empire reloader b and a pure energy tank

Yeah my parents don't really help me out, I have to buy everything myself
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media