paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on MecTurtleCocker's Review / Comments on MecTurtleCocker's Review / Comments on MecTurtleCocker's Review / Comments on MecTurtleCocker's Review / Comments on MecTurtleCocker's Review

Comments on MecTurtleCocker's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

MecTurtleCocker Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various electronic high ends. Egos, Timmys, Angels, Dyes, the usual suspects.
Marker Setup: Turtle Autococker Half Block Custom Milling and Anodization
All Turtle Internals
Evil Stainless Steel Front Block Kit
Nickel Palmer's Pursuit Shop Fatty Regulator
WGP kaner Kit
KAPP Nickel Hinge Frame
Dye Stickies 3
Halo B (Overkill on a mech cocker, but who cares? Its off my other gun anyway...)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing comes to mind.
Strengths: Fast
Lightweight
Unique Design Concept
Poppit Valve
Weaknesses: UNBALANCED!!!
Unique Design Concept
No drop forward adaptability.
Review: Tested this at the Word Cup. Shot reballs like everyone else, so I don't know how the Eye Logic is. The balancing was a sin, and the foregrip was nasty at that. A gun so poorly balanced can be corrected to some extent by installing a drop, this gun has the silly integrated macroline...cant put a drop on it. The trigger wasn't the nicest in the world, but it wasn't bad. I could get a decent speed going on it. I was impressed with the noise level and valve performance, which were impressive, as was the accuracy.

Edit: I got to shoot another, I was happier with the performance a second time through. The trigger is decidedly uncomfortable. I still do not like the balance of it at all, and it feels too small, and you are hearing this from a Turtle owner. I am raising it from an 8 to a nine because I got a peek at the eye logic, seemed wonderfull. It was ramping maybe 24ish and making a Halo lag, and it delayed the bolt and prevented chops. Since it is basically a mag, hopefully there will be a level 10 bolt for it. That would be wonderful. I will update this review again if I get a chance to play with one.
Conclusion: It was a nice experience, but I don't know if I would want to dump ~$450 into one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 11th, 2006 at 9:02 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
MecTurtleCocker Sunday, December 17th, 2006 | 6:45 pm PST
I didnt have a chronograph, so maybe it was only 20, but I have a gun with a board that does ramp auto capped at 20....it sounded faster, but ok. Thanks for siding with me buddy. and asere, you are an idiot...you just restated what I said...
   

Sheps Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 | 6:05 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Kook-T2
unless your part of the design team and you've tested the gun in the field, loose the drop forward crap cause it may not matter on this gun.

What, so he's not allowed to prefer a drop forward on a smaller gun unless the design team O.K's it with him first?
   

the_real_kaz Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 | 6:52 am PST
I'm still confused as to how you would be able to put a drop forward on this gun.? With the air running stright through the ASA and into the grip.
   

moo moo face Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 | 7:30 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Kook-T2
unless your part of the design team and you've tested the gun in the field, loose the drop forward crap cause it may not matter on this gun.

if the person likes using a drop forward, it matters to them on any gun, and they can state it as a weakness if they want to
   

moo moo face Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 | 7:31 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by the_real_kaz
I'm still confused as to how you would be able to put a drop forward on this gun.? With the air running stright through the ASA and into the grip.

you cant. thats what the guy who wrote it was complaining about
   

the_real_kaz Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 | 7:41 am PST
Thats what I thought, one of the few that want a drop forward. O well everyone is intitled to there opinion.

The PCP, I realize its a new air system, but is it kinda like any known marker, or is it totally on its own right now?
   

MecTurtleCocker Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 | 4:19 pm PST
Its like an automag. Some people even call this the '07 E-mag. And I DO NOT use a drop for the last time..This gun would vastly benefit from one however.
   

Indecisive Thursday, December 21st, 2006 | 8:57 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by MecTurtleCocker
Its like an automag. Some people even call this the '07 E-mag. And I DO NOT use a drop for the last time..This gun would vastly benefit from one however.

It's very little like an automag.. the battery location and trigger activation is just similar, automags aren't even poppet valve guns so I'm not sure where this is coming from, and if you try to cite the automags.org thread you should read through the whole thread because they even say that this gun isn't even close to a mag.
   

MecTurtleCocker Thursday, December 21st, 2006 | 9:28 am PST
Have you seen the animation for both? The principal of operation is similar, despite having a different valve.
   

Indecisive Friday, January 12th, 2007 | 12:39 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by MecTurtleCocker
Have you seen the animation for both? The principal of operation is similar, despite having a different valve.

Yes I have seen both animations
they both propel the ball with compressed gas, that's the end of the similarities
   

MecTurtleCocker Sunday, January 14th, 2007 | 2:12 pm PST
Wow, somebody needs glasses...It uses a PCP to operate the spool...Its a poppet assisted spool valve...
   

MecTurtleCocker Wednesday, January 17th, 2007 | 8:14 pm PST
Funny that Kook is Banned..
   
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media