paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on SPShocker135's Review / Comments on SPShocker135's Review / Comments on SPShocker135's Review / Comments on SPShocker135's Review / Comments on SPShocker135's Review

Comments on SPShocker135's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

SPShocker135 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested15 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Tippmann 98 Custom & Custom Pro
Marker Setup: Smart Parts red NXT Shocker with Freak Kit, PMI 45/4500 LP tank, View Loader Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Grip, or if you want to make it tactical, a longer barrel and a stock
Strengths: Looks, places to mount scopes and other things, very customizable, accurate, low profile
Weaknesses: Slow trigger, hard trigger pull, still pretty heavy, feel
Review: I tested the Tippmann X-7 at a tournament in Springfield, MO, and I cannot say I was very impressed. It is a lot like the A5, just a lot more expensive. I can see someone using it for tactical games, but a definite no for speed-ball and small woods-ball courses. The accuracy seemed about the same as that of the A5 or the 98 custom, but I like the feel of both the 98 custom and the A5 a lot more than i like the feel of this gun. It looks pretty cool, but I see no difference in performance between the A5 and this marker. I guess this marker would be pretty nice to put a bunch of stuff on it and used it for tactical, but I don't really care for the stock model.
Conclusion: If you have a 98 Custom or A5 and are thinking about going to this model, don't. If you want a new gun for anything BESIDES tactical play, I strongly recommend and ION. They are cheaper and just all around better IN MY OPINION.. and for all you people complaining about me talking about an Ion like I said its just my opinion.. chill out. I am giving this marker a 6 because there is nothing totally horrible about it, but nothing great at all eather, especially for the price.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 15th, 2006 at 3:17 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
dmz boy Sunday, December 10th, 2006 | 11:02 am PST
tippman isnt designed for speedball. It is supposed to have a long trigger pull becuase unlike speedballers woodsballers don't shoot 30bps with there extremly sensitive triggers and halo hoppers. If you got a remote line the gun wouldn't be heavy. I personally havent tried the gun yet so i can't comment about the feel. Im not flaming or nything but this review seems a bit more bassed on comparing an x-7 to a ion.
   

Little Jon Sunday, December 10th, 2006 | 4:22 pm PST
This marker has a new Cyclone on it. It does 20 Balls Per Second instead of 17. You'll only notice this if you get an E-Grip or RT.
   

otter9060 Sunday, December 10th, 2006 | 7:51 pm PST
If you even knew what tactical paintball is? You would know what the X-7 is used for. An ion cant be used for playing out in the swamps.
Last edited on Friday, December 15th, 2006 at 1:40 pm PST
   

Little Jon Monday, December 11th, 2006 | 5:21 pm PST
Water play. lol
   

Little Jon Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 | 5:26 pm PST
Water guns. Constant spray of liquid. In this case, constant spray of paint. That's how I interpret it.
Oops, upon further reading, I see I read it wrong. Water play is when your in a creek or something. An Ion is an electro marker. Put some water on it, your fizzled.
   

Mattalorian Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 | 5:29 pm PST
This is what I don't like about pbreview. To me speedball and (tactical) are entirely different sports. Some people go for speedball, others for tactical. I find reviews that players write are greatly affected by which form of paintball they prefer.
   

Little Jon Thursday, December 14th, 2006 | 4:41 pm PST
Hear hear!!! Totally true. One way to help the noobs who don't know that is to mark the review not helpful, or helpful, whichever it may be and leave a comment criticizing for something.
   

mjr_paranoid Thursday, December 14th, 2006 | 6:19 pm PST
So you tried this marker for a few minutes and feel qualified to give a full review?
Ok then.
And in my opinion this looks to be a great tactical marker.
I have not tried it at all, but I can conjecture that if it is in any way better than an A-5 then it will do great.
Also consider,I have had to spend over 70 bucks on just good looking rails and this model seems to come with a great rail set up stock.
I look forward to getting my own sometime in '07.
   

Ravenwulfe Friday, December 15th, 2006 | 7:19 am PST
I don't know why everyone's always "HOLY POOP, GET AN ION CHOPPAH". They're completely different markers for completely different game types.

I think that Shocker here did give a mostly honest opinion, dispite the whole 'buy an Ion' thing, probably because for the price of this marker, you could get a faster, lighter speedball marker with lots of gizmos. While on paper that's usually a plus, rec and scenario ballers usually like a little less colourful, more durable, more customizable markers with little or no electronics. Theres definantly you see more upgraded Tippmanns in the woods (which cost more with all the stuff I've seen on them than most Ions) than Ions, because of those reasons.

I kind of worried that this marker would be a bit less durable than the A-5 because the pictures looks like there's a lot of plastic furnature, but it seems like the performance is similar to the A-5 in initial run throughs. It'd be interesting to see a difference with aftermarket upgrades and more experience with it. The pros you mentioned definantly are appealing, though.

I thought it was a good review, just try to keep in mind in the future to keep it a bit more neutral. =)
   

BassPlayr86 Friday, December 15th, 2006 | 12:44 pm PST
i agree, this review's not bad but why are we talking about ion's in a review of a tippmann gun? sounds like someone's a smart parts slut.

i've never seen this gun except in pictures, but it seems to me that, however unfortunately, its a piggyback gimmick off the A-5 for scenario players. I can't imagine that there could be that many performance improvements offered by the X-7 over the A-5. I've played with A-5s before and they're great but they also cost about $100 less than this, so why pay the money for the X-7?

seriously. someone tell me b/c i'd actually really like to know.
   

Little Jon Friday, December 15th, 2006 | 2:37 pm PST
Ok, I'll tell you BassPlayr86....
The X-7 does 20 Balls Per Second instead of the 17 Balls Per Second, it has a lower profile hopper, it comes with all those rails stock, it has a built in parts thing in the magazine clip thing, it has an all magnesium reciever and that's all I know.
   

TJLganstaballa Friday, December 15th, 2006 | 3:52 pm PST
I think this is the worste review ive ever seen. the x-7 is my favorite gun ever its the best one ive ever used. it shoots very fast and it so accurite even from about 100 yards away. I dont know why anyone would ever want to buy an ion its the worste gun ever made i really dont like it. i had one and it broke because my freind josh tried to attach nuclear energy to it. the real gun you should get is the spyder electra. it can wipe out a whole squad in no time at all
   

SPShocker135 Friday, December 15th, 2006 | 4:26 pm PST
"The real gun you should get is the spyder electra. it can wipe out a whole squad in no time at all"-- OK TJL first of all where have you used a X-7 with a spider electra Im sure you never go to any big name paintball fields. Just to let anyone who is reading this know,TJL is a young inexperienced paintball player and I am on the Mid-Mo Aggression semi-professional paintball team. Who are you going to trust? We (our team) is working on a website and I will have that posted soon for everyone to vew.
Last edited on Friday, December 15th, 2006 at 4:27 pm PST
   

Head Hunter 221 Sunday, December 17th, 2006 | 8:35 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Ravenwulfe
I don't know why everyone's always "HOLY POOP, GET AN ION CHOPPAH". They're completely different markers for completely different game types.

I think that Shocker here did give a mostly honest opinion, dispite the whole 'buy an Ion' thing, probably because for the price of this marker, you could get a faster, lighter speedball marker with lots of gizmos. While on paper that's usually a plus, rec and scenario ballers usually like a little less colourful, more durable, more customizable markers with little or no electronics. Theres definantly you see more upgraded Tippmanns in the woods (which cost more with all the stuff I've seen on them than most Ions) than Ions, because of those reasons.

I kind of worried that this marker would be a bit less durable than the A-5 because the pictures looks like there's a lot of plastic furnature, but it seems like the performance is similar to the A-5 in initial run throughs. It'd be interesting to see a difference with aftermarket upgrades and more experience with it. The pros you mentioned definantly are appealing, though.

I thought it was a good review, just try to keep in mind in the future to keep it a bit more neutral. =)


Not really, with modifications from specops paintball, or just the Blackcell Ion, the Ion can become every bit of Tactical as Tippmanns, and at a cost of 400 dollars, most of that the Stiffi barrel that comes stock.
   

SPShocker135 Sunday, December 17th, 2006 | 10:48 am PST
"Not really, with modifications from specops paintball, or just the Blackcell Ion, the Ion can become every bit of Tactical as Tippmanns, and at a cost of 400 dollars, most of that the Stiffi barrel that comes stock." Thank you, Heas Hunter this is a point that needed to be brought up
   

Ahotdog Sunday, December 17th, 2006 | 3:13 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by achilles27
He's only tested the marker for a brief period of time. It takes longer than a test run to see what a gun can truly do. Don't dampen the hopes of oncoming players by rating something low like this, just because you don't agree with its style of play and have only tested it. No offense, but I'm just saying.

He already said he owned an A5 and 98, so if he doesn't like the feel or firing compared to those than I think it's a fair review, that does not deserve a dispute. Besides, this site calls a 5 average, which is not a "bad" rating.
Last edited on Sunday, December 17th, 2006 at 3:14 pm PST
   

ryano99 Sunday, December 17th, 2006 | 4:40 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TJLganstaballa
I think this is the worste review ive ever seen. the x-7 is my favorite gun ever its the best one ive ever used. it shoots very fast and it so accurite even from about 100 yards away. I dont know why anyone would ever want to buy an ion its the worste gun ever made i really dont like it. i had one and it broke because my freind josh tried to attach nuclear energy to it. the real gun you should get is the spyder electra. it can wipe out a whole squad in no time at all

tried to attach nuclear energy to it???
   

Little Jon Saturday, December 23rd, 2006 | 11:24 am PST
What's wrong with nuclear energy?
   

ryano99 Saturday, December 23rd, 2006 | 1:38 pm PST
what is neclear energy??? ?
   

marmot Sunday, December 24th, 2006 | 12:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mattalorian
This is what I don't like about pbreview. To me speedball and (tactical) are entirely different sports. Some people go for speedball, others for tactical. I find reviews that players write are greatly affected by which form of paintball they prefer.
What's the point here? That a prejudice for Tippmann markers as the so called "preferred recball marker" is less misleading for a noob than a pure comparison on performance?

I play recball. I have a Tippy and got tired of not having tourneyball performance (low accuracy, low rate of fire), so I got a Superstock. I can now do a double tap to the mask much more easily than a Tippmann, yet have the ability to provide suppressive fire to cover an advance. It's not about "this marker or that marker", it's really about performance on the field and what you get for the money.

I actually think that tactics have nothing to do with the marker and that you can play tactical with a tourney marker. In fact, I can play better with a tourney marker because it is lighter, easy to swap to my left hand when shooting out of doorways and I don't have a load of junk attachments with no value, weighing me down.

Whoever made the point about the Blackcell Ion was on the right path.
Last edited on Sunday, December 24th, 2006 at 12:50 pm PST
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media