paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on tippmannkiller's Review / Comments on tippmannkiller's Review / Comments on tippmannkiller's Review / Comments on tippmannkiller's Review / Comments on tippmannkiller's Review

Comments on tippmannkiller's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

tippmannkiller Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac 5 Recon (best tactical woodsball gun)
Tippmann A5 (better than 98)
Tippmann 98 (about the same)
T16 M4 (do not buy this gun blows)
Marker Setup: Tac 5 Recon with Camo Paint, 9 inch smoth bore barrel with compensator, dual trigger, smoke camo halo 200 rd hopper with extension, 9oz CO2 with camo cover or 20oz if its speed ball, 30mm auto ordinance red dot sight, right hand sniper position elbow, tactical green laser pointer, new stainless steel reciever, 14 inch bipod,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buy a A5 if ya want to stick with Tippmanns
Buy a Tac 5 Recon if ya dont
Strengths: Durable
Not electronic
Weaknesses: Accuracy sucks after 60ft
Needs lots of upgrades
Chops paint
To many of them
Sucks
Review: To start this gun is so over rated. Every person and their mother has one and chops paint every 50rds. But it is pretty easy to field strip but im in the army so i guess any gun is easy to strip for me. I use this gun as a 3rd backup and fails to compare with my A5 or Tac 5. Its like the AK47 of guns because their is to many of them and they are all unaccurate. Its not like my gun has a fault in it, cuz my freind has the same gun and it has the same problems.
Conclusion: Dont buy it unless $200 in upgrades sounds good to you.....and dont be sending me hate mail Tippmann fans cuz i love my A5 its just they could have done so much better with the 98 Custom:(
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 at 10:14 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Jeff_Meister Thursday, December 14th, 2006 | 12:40 am PST
I really think your off the mark here. My friend has a Tippman, only ups are barrel and cosmetic stock and it shoots great. Its accurate, reliable, easy to maintain. As I said in your JT tac-5 post, stop pushing the military thing...we get it...the military has nothing to do with paintball. Just because you can field strip a M-16, or M-249, or M-4, or MP-5, whatever your using, heck maybe even an M-9 or M-203...its not the same as a paintball marker. To strip a paintball marker...u just read the directions...and u can do it...in the army we do it day in and day out, sometimes 5 times a day, because if ur rifle is dirty it jams, and your dead. In the army we clean our weapons before we eat or sleep. Paintball its not so, you just cant compare them...so its great your in the army as I said before...so am I...but its not really relevant here...
   

Donster 125 Saturday, December 16th, 2006 | 6:17 pm PST
just point out, you said the the "Tippmann 98" is the same in your similar products used. i think you are mistaken as this IS a tippmann 98. and accuracy after 60ft would most likely suck with the stock barrel. i wouldn't even think it could be accurate at 40-50ft. the point of this gun is that it shoots paint and wont break. great for the entry level player. the other point of this gun is that it can be easily upgraded for all of the pro players out there.
   

tippmannkiller Wednesday, May 9th, 2007 | 8:33 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Donster 125
just point out, you said the the "Tippmann 98" is the same in your similar products used. i think you are mistaken as this IS a tippmann 98. and accuracy after 60ft would most likely suck with the stock barrel. i wouldn't even think it could be accurate at 40-50ft. the point of this gun is that it shoots paint and wont break. great for the entry level player. the other point of this gun is that it can be easily upgraded for all of the pro players out there.
no actualy this is a Tippmann 98 Custom not the much older Tippmann 98...........genius...
   

musserplayer Sunday, May 27th, 2007 | 4:12 pm PST
Dispute:
He claimed that the gun was "pretty easy to field strip." The 98 Custom is not field-strippable because stripping requires removing all of the screws.
   

musserplayer Sunday, May 27th, 2007 | 4:16 pm PST
Besides the dispute, you said that the Tac-5 Recon was better. I know 3 people who bought Tac-5's. All three of them broke within 6 months, and these guys take care of their stuff. If you look inside a 98 and an A-5, you won't find much difference. Obviously, you have no clue what you are talking about. I know that the 98 Custom isn't the best out there, but you seriously need to get a better idea of what a "good" paintball gun is.
   

allamericanman Friday, October 5th, 2007 | 3:09 pm PST
OK, I CAN'T SAY THAT I AGREE WITH YOU ON THIS ONE... I OWN 4 TIPPMANN 98s, AND SOME OF THEM ARE IN PRETTY ROUGH SHAPE, BUT I HAVEN'T HAD ONE PROBLEM WITH ANY OF 'EM! TAC 5 MARKERS DON'T GET AS HIGH A RATING ON THIS WEBSITE AS TIPPMANN 98s DO! PLEASE DO NOT MALIGN ONE OF THE BEST MARKERS THAT MONEY CAN BUY!
   

Sgt._Schultz Monday, December 17th, 2007 | 3:53 pm PST
TAC5s SUUUUUUUCCCCCKKKKKK!!!!! They are HORRIBLE! A Tippmann 98 is WAAAAYYYYY better! Get your facts straight
   

redneck-shooter Monday, April 14th, 2008 | 4:43 pm PST
98s rule TAC5s suck plain and simple
   

tippmannkiller Wednesday, June 18th, 2008 | 11:30 pm PST
I love how pure tippmann owners are so deaf......lol.....i posted that a long time ago.....and it still stands that it suxxxx........all its upgrades are cosmetic (except the flattline.....apex is better).....and i sold the ugly old thing like a month ago and the person who bought it thought there was something wrong with it.....lol.....he sold it and bought a new one.....then sold that one cuz it had the same problems......and i will say it again....my tac 5 kills it.....each day, every day......u could bring urs and i would kill that 2......lol....its so over rated its not even funny.....it was good back in the day.......but it is horrible now........u end up paying 500$ just to make it ok..........yes it can take a hit.....but it cant give one......and i can truthfully say that out of all the hundreds of them ive gone against.....none of them wanted me 2 own another........i even sold my a-5 cuz it acted just like it...........cyclone feed is great.....but thats it..........so if u love ur timmy....great......u can b happy when i destroy u on the field.....cuz ul b 2 busy picking paint out of ur busted old gun 2 even show a threat........and i laugh when i c a flattline witch is heavy and should b used as a walking stick....
   

PhantomII Monday, June 23rd, 2008 | 8:10 am PST
You're just flaming to flame there is nothing wrong with the 98 and there is a reason why everyone and their mother has one........................It's because it a damn good gun and it's inexpensive. Your rating is way off the mark and you know it.
   

empire33 Monday, June 23rd, 2008 | 3:54 pm PST
lol this must be a joke....
1. Tac 5s are terrible( i dont even like tippmann at all)
2. you think you could own someone with a timmy with your tac 5(LOL)
3. Tippmann are soooooo much better than tac 5's its not even funny
4. i think this review is a joke and needs to be deleted because you dont really point out what wrong with it

what you said is accuracy suxs over 60 ft, well turn vlocity down
well paintball guns need upgrades so get over it and all it really needs is a barrel and reg
and said it chops paint every 50 shots, isnt super terrible but then again fixed but vlocity, detents or a new bolt
and too many weaknesses and it sucks lol
you never did say what was wrong with other than it chops and because it chops one ball every 50 shots doesnt mean it should get a 1.....get a life


and im not a tppmann lover/owner or whatever i actually hate tippmanns so dont call me a deaf tippy lover or owner
   

KBug Wednesday, February 3rd, 2010 | 7:09 am PST
You must really hate Tippman because the 98 is one of the best markers out there. Everyone has one of these markers because it is so reliable, cheap, and can be customized very easily. I seriously think that this review needs to be deleted.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media