paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Space Lord's Review / Comments on Space Lord's Review / Comments on Space Lord's Review / Comments on Space Lord's Review / Comments on Space Lord's Review

Comments on Space Lord's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Space Lord Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months25 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7
J&J ceramic 14" barrel
E-Grip
Verticle foregrip
X36 grip rail
9mm mag well
9mm curved mag
X36 folding stock
PCS single point tacsling
Pure Energy coiled remote
Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi HPA tank
Dye Rhino tank cover
Canti mount for sight
Adco red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
E-Grip
Strengths: Looks
Feel
Durability/relaibility
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Loose hopper
Review: Good solid feeling gun. Has a somewhat realistic feel to it. Feels very solid and should stand up to typical gameplay i.e. accidental bangs and scrapes. Don't get stupid though, it's not a hammer, folks! If you want a solid mechanical blowback with great Mil-Sim looks, this is your gun. The trigger is typical Tippmann, which leaves one wanting after being used to a nice electro double trigger. The forthcoming e-grip will definately add to the feel of the gun with its external fire mode select. Don't get me wrong, the trigger is as reliable as the day is long. But if you're used to say, an Ion trigger, the Tippmann trigger feels low performance. Everything else feels rock solid as well. Nice tight pushpins, and through-body stye bolts with metal nuts to make it basically bullet proof. (note: the X-7, although tough, should not be used as bullet proof armor. Before you try, do a Google search for "Darwin Awards")

Update 12-24-2006
Well, I've shot some more paint through it and the trigger's getting better, and the gun's starting to get more and more broken in as it's used. Consistency is improving as well. On a side note, I've had problems with the gun leaking (somewhere in the general area of the powertube), but when I removed the air and reattached it, the leak was gone. After the second time this happened, I tore deep down inside the gun. There was quite a bit of powder coating debris inside the gun from the manufacturing process, and some very thin metal shavings. These shavings came from the process of machining the valve, but the edges or "flashings" were not removed. I found two loose metal slivers in the tombstone area, one in the valve, and one in the power tube. I took the back edge of an exacto knife and removed all of the still-attached flashing from the valve body, used some plastic-safe aerosol brake cleaner to blast/flush all the machining/powder coating debris out of the inside and from all internal parts. After using liberal amounts of marker oil and reassembling, the gun seems to now be leak free. My dealer said Tippmann had less than 500 to go out on their first shipment, and as my serial number is 0000338, my guess is the lack of finishing work was an oversight in their desparate attempt to get some product out on the shelves as they had promised. This experience in no way affects my overall opinion of the marker. Aside from leaking a small amount of air, it never missed a beat and still performed reliably and consistently.

Update 3-8-2007:
Well, it still doesn't shoot as accurately or consistently as my Ion. This is with the J&J barrel on the X-7 vs. a box stock Ion. I'm going to try to polish the internals and see if that helps. But for now it will take a one point loss. Also worth mentioning is the loose hopper. I added a layer of duct tape to the base, and it tightened things up considerably. Not a big deal, but worth the mention, nonetheless.

Update 9-9-2007:
Finally have it working like I want it to. The above setup is fun to shoot, and shoulders quite solidly. The 9mm mag also was a major improvement, just in the fact that it doesn't try to fall out all the time like the old one did. I haven't polished the internals yet, yet the accuracy seems to still be improving.
Conclusion: If you already have an A5, this gun is a nice upgrade. However if you were thinking about getting an A5, do yourself a favor and get the X-7. Industrial sources state the X-7 will eventually phase out the A5, which of course means less A5 parts.
Tough, simple air system, looks mean, not perfect but good enough for me. I'm gonna give it a 9. The accuracy and consistency has really started to come around, good enough to easily hit a pie plate at 30 yards. Not to mention the E-Grip has added a whole new dimension to shooting. With the remote, vertical foregrip, folding stock, and red dot sight, the whole gun is a joy to shoulder and snap onto target with confidence. Origionally I had rated this gun at a 7, due to lack of consistency. Well now it's quite accurate and consistent, so that bumps it up to an 8. But hold on, with some carefully selected mods, this gun shoulders like a dream, which adds a point in my book. I'll now give the gun a 9.

Final recommendation? Get a remote setup, and some mods to make the gun fit YOU. I love it!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 9th, 2007 at 9:39 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Little Jon Monday, December 18th, 2006 | 4:47 pm PST
Don't expect an insanely light trigger if the marker has no batteries. Welcome to woodsball, the world of 'hard' trigger pulls.
   

DeltaOne Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 | 9:02 am PST
I personally like mechanical triggers, it lets you know that the trigger is there and you can keep your finger on the trigger and not be worried about bumping the trigger and letting a shot go when you crawling through brush.
   

Little Jon Thursday, February 1st, 2007 | 1:23 pm PST
Yeah, far too many times I have seen a noob with an electro accidentally shoot someone before a game starts.
   

GunnerySgtTPB Monday, February 12th, 2007 | 4:09 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Little Jon
Yeah, far too many times I have seen a noob with an electro accidentally shoot someone before a game starts.

Yeah... my friend did that to me cause of the damn "safety" that allows you to pull the trigger. I don't trust electric triggers worth a damn and when the battery goes dead... so does your ability to fire your weapon.
Last edited on Monday, February 12th, 2007 at 4:10 pm PST
   

Little Jon Tuesday, February 13th, 2007 | 3:30 pm PST
What's the point in electro's anyways?
   

Space Lord Thursday, March 8th, 2007 | 10:13 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Little Jon
Don't expect an insanely light trigger if the marker has no batteries. Welcome to woodsball, the world of 'hard' trigger pulls.

Well considering that's all I've ever played, it's about time someone welcomed me. LOL Gotta admit, the trigger feel has grown on me. I'm still waiting patiently on the e-grip though. The only reason I want the e-grip is for full auto. Need? No. Want? Yes. Frankly I can rip better with my Ion, but there's just something cool about the thought of this gun and full auto.

I can also appreciate the comments on the misfirings of electro triggers. Excellent point, but I sitll want one.

Now if I had the option of user selectable safe-semi-full without going electro, I'd be on it. Batteries do suck. Not a real big fan of the response trigger though, so I'm not going that route.
   

5cent Monday, March 12th, 2007 | 12:07 am PST
I've seen plenty of people shoot others before game on with mechanicals too.

Don't go condemning electro's just because some person failed to follow simple safety procedures. Electros are not more or less prone to having people fail to regard the methods of safety.

On mechanicals you push a safety in. On electros you turn it off. Either one of these steps can be easily missed by the unwary, regardless of firing method.
   

Little Jon Monday, March 12th, 2007 | 7:21 am PST
I agree with you, but it seems to happen with electro's wayyy more. The one time I saw a mechanical marker shoot before a game, was because the safety didn't even work.
   

funkypaintball Thursday, March 15th, 2007 | 6:20 pm PST
I agree with 5 cent because it is the fault of the person using it, it can happen to any one any gun any time, heck its happend to me with my spyder MR1, (ended up shooting my barrel plug and making a mess in my barrel) *note* this happened when in my first game. -c'mon...
   

RADIOACTIVEBUNY Saturday, March 31st, 2007 | 3:15 pm PST
ok im gonna get a new paintball gun and i want to know which of 2 paintball guns is better. bottom line which is overall better. the x7 or the smart parts sp8? ps the x7 looks awesome and is the most customizable gun in the world which is sick
   

Space Lord Sunday, April 8th, 2007 | 9:11 pm PST
Toughy, the SP8 box stock would be more consistent (based on my Ion being more consistent, same internals) but a little more spendy to get set up. You'll need HPA ($175 ish) and a good hopper ($50 ish). For either the A5 or X7 you'll need a CO2 tank ($20 ish). There is no clear cut answer as to which is better for you. Some report the SP8 shell as being the more fragile of the two. The main reason I got the X7 over the SP8? Future release of the egrip with external fire select. Second being it's a very solid feeling gun.
   

gothebay Thursday, May 3rd, 2007 | 9:31 pm PST
What are you talking about only giving it a 7, It is the most wicked tactical gun you can get. Even as the basic its mean as but then you can kit it up in loads of ways.
You should atlesy give it more then 9
   

Space Lord Wednesday, August 1st, 2007 | 4:26 pm PST
While in fact, I agree that it's a great gun, there is still room for improvement. Thus the 7. Above average, but not perfect. I'd be hard pressed to give anything a 9, let alone a 10. I'd recommend this gun to anyone wanting a mil-sim marker, but doesn't want to pony up the extra cash for HPA and an electric hopper.
   

Space Lord Sunday, September 9th, 2007 | 9:31 pm PST
Been doing some mods on the ol girl, and damned if I love it now. I'm giving it the hard pressed 9!
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media