paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on af895's Review / Comments on af895's Review / Comments on af895's Review / Comments on af895's Review

Comments on af895's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

af895 Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Winchester Pocket Hopper
Marker Setup: Classic-Valved Tac-One Automag
12" double-ported PPS Brass barrel, matched with sight bead, brass finish
vertical male stabilizer (a PPS high-pressure regulator)
Strengths: TINY, low profile, lightweight, inexpensive, forces you to be conservative and make shots count.
Weaknesses: Doesn't protect contents from hits, occasionally needs jiggling - can break if shot.
Review: EDIT, 29 July 2007
Don't buy this product. The Winchester Pocket hopper does the same job, better, without the problems of the Brass Eagle, namely its tendency to self-destruct when shot with a paintball.

...

Background
I bought the Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper (BEPH!) a while ago and used it on a mil-sim electro, the SP-8. I played with it a bit on the SP-8 but didn't use it a heck of a lot - not enough for a fair review.

I've since sold the SP-8 in favor of a Palmer Pursuit Shop Blazer and today, December 27th, 2006, I played an entire day (8+ hours, 19 full games) with the Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper.

I'm sold. With a marker like the Blazer which is quiet, super accurate and lightweight, I found myself sneaking around in tunnels and alleys, waiting and watching and taking very careful aim. Single shots were all it took to tag people out. With the BEPH, I rarely found myself out of paint because I conserved more.

Apples and Oranges
Perhaps if you have an Ego or Ion, you're going to "feel a need" to rip. Those are tournament guns after-all and you probably DO rip during a speedball game. This is the wrong hopper for you. Get something bigger with a force feed. Use TONS of paint - your sponsors are paying for it after-all.

Then again, the LA-Hitmen are shooting BEPH equipped PUMPS during speedball games. Check them out on YouTube... it's a sight to see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2frQ3w5E6c

For the rest of us...

If you play stock class, pump or you have a super accurate marker and you want to conserve paint, either to save money or just for the challenge, this hopper is an excellent choice.

Look for opportunities to take a single shot to eliminate someone. Hold off on shooting or sneak just a bit closer instead of wailing on the trigger and spraying. Do more snap shooting drills and make every shot count. This hopper will either school you or you'll fall off the horse and go back to an electro hopper. Your game will benefit from sticking with it though.

...a downside
My only word of caution: I took ONE hopper hit (friendly fire while I was storming the OpFor castle) and the contents of the hopper - or at least one ball - liquified. I had to remove the hopper and wash it, along with the feedneck.

Fortunately, I had already yelled "freeze" at everyone and was so close there wasn't a need to shoot. Be warned though: this hopper won't protect your paint from turning to pudding if you get hit in the hopper! I'm toying with putting metal or rubber on the outside to minimize this - not a difficult mod.

EDIT - 7 Jan. 2007
Played two days ago and was shot from the side in the hopper - it broke! Hole right through one side. You'd be wise to armor the Pocket-Hopper somehow - perhaps with neoprene or metal - to avoid this happening. I bought another one and plan on doing just that with it.

EDIT - 18 April 2007
I found an alternative to the BEPH that works very well: the Winchester 48-round hopper.

The Winchester doesn't come with a lid but you can take a pod-lid like a Dye locklid or other pod that has a "skirt" for the lid and glue it on top of the Winchester. I rate it the best 50-round class hopper available. It WILL take a hopper hit without damage to either hopper or contents.

I tried to review it here but, for some reason, I can't get PBreview.com to validate it as an actual product. Wierd.
Conclusion: 29 July 2007 EDIT: buy a Winchester Pocket Hopper instead as they don't break when shot.

...

Play with a 50-round hopper for a day. Learn how to compensate for the lack of on gun paint. Instead of shooting 15bps to suppress while running up field, shoot 5bps and make those shots count. I did. We won. Repeatedly.

If you learn to adapt your style of play to having less than 50-rounds on-marker, you'll save large sums of money on paint. I went from using 1,500+ rounds a day to about 500 and I think I could still be more conservative.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 29th, 2007 at 11:37 am PST
 

Review Comments
OneWingedGunner Wednesday, April 18th, 2007 | 9:56 am PST
i own this hopper, i have yet to use it in a game and im very rough on my gear. thanx for the heads up about the breakability and the idea of reinforcing the litte guy. you just saved me some headaches. im gunna armor it tonight. ~peace onewing
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media