paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Red Eye's Review / Comments on Red Eye's Review / Comments on Red Eye's Review / Comments on Red Eye's Review

Comments on Red Eye's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Red Eye Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels, Armson Stealth, SP Teardrop, SP Progressive, BT Apex,
Marker Setup: 2006 Smart Parts Ion, clamping feed neck, Egg 2 w/Zboard, Crossfire 45/45 high output, Powerlyte Sceptor, Shocktech Spyder/Impulse adapter, CP Sling trigger(nice), Skull and Crossbones drop forward, Smart Parts on/off valve, Virtue: EZ-on, board, eyes,membrane and adapter, Warrior Paintball SL red body, Warrior Paintball red foregrip
Recommended
Paintballs:
This kit will handle anything.
Strengths: Versatility
Accurate
Quiet
Case
Price
Weaknesses: None
Review: I ordered this kit and several other things on Wednesday from Hot Shot Paintball. However, Powerlyte ships directly from the manufacturer. Hot Shot is still processing my order, but the barrel kit arrived on Friday(fast). First the basics, the Sceptor is a 2-piece barrel with changeable inserts that lock into place with compression to prevent any turning or slippage while firing. The kits are available with all or a few inserts to fit any budget, and come in 3 sizes.


There are several things to be noted when chossing a barrel, either single, two-piece, or kit.

1. Accuracy
This barrel, due to the variable bore sizes, allows the owner to customize the barrel to the exact size of the paintball being used, allowing for unparalleled air efficiency. This makes the barrel uncannily accurate with whatever type of paint you're using. It even rivals the consistency of "rifled" barrels.

2. Length
Although not usually considered first, the length of a barrel can be detrimental to success. Whether it's a backman looking for the little extra length to peek around a can and reach out to touch somebody, or a frontman seeking the compactness and lethality of a dagger, Powerlyte has delivered. With the choice of 12, 14, or 16 inch barrels, everyone is happy. I ordered mine in 14in. because I play everything, but extra fronts can be purchased for $40 each.

3. Versatility
If you've read the rest of the review then this is obvious, but if you're skimming like most everyone I'll go into a short summary. Modifiable kits, various sizes of inserts, different lengths, and it is accurate all the time. Only bad paint can screw this barrel up.

4. Price
It seems almost everyone has a Freak kit these days, but I believe Powerlyte has hit upon a brilliant idea. An effective, affordable barrel kit. Obviously Empire thought so, because their revolver is EXACTLY the same thing, but for $130 and only 5 inserts they're asking a little much. Powerlyte's is cheaper(for the same kit), and their 7 bore kit is the same price as Empire's. I'm not downing Empire, I love Empire, but why spend more on a product to have their logo. Beside's Powerlyte holds the patent on the design.
Conclusion: This is an overwhelmingly satisfying barrel. It covers everything I see as important in a barrel. Awesome job Powerlyte, a perfect product. (not God perfect, but as near to perfect as I've seen on Earth) 10 for 10. Powerlyte takes home the gold.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
L'Eliminateur Thursday, January 4th, 2007 | 2:44 pm PST
Can you add info about the actual performance and how it worked instead of the marketing data?
   

Red Eye Wednesday, January 24th, 2007 | 7:25 pm PST
Sorry about that, I only had little information and was waiting to use it on the field before I gave conclusive results. I could maintain a spread within about a 30in. target area at 40yrd. (120ft.). On the field it provided consistent accuracy without the need for several "test shots" to try and hit a small target. Someone's head is highly vulnerable to anyone snapshooting with this barrel. Some care and thought is needed when determining the correct bore, but over time it will become natural how to select them. I recommend taking an estimated size and place several rounds in the end. When an overall best fit is found it should be just snug enough to hold the round without preventing its passage (falls about halfway or less without rolling out).
   

RickLiebespach Monday, February 26th, 2007 | 11:15 pm PST
You said you could maintain a spread within about a 30in. target area at 40yrd. (120ft.).
Do you mean three inches or thirty inches (2 and a half feet)?
   

Red Eye Thursday, March 1st, 2007 | 7:05 pm PST
I did mean a 30 inch spread, but this includes every single round I could put dwon range. Also, 120 feet is about the distance across most large (5man+) speedball fields; so although not sniper accurate, a good sized area can be covered by ramping from a distance. The barrel is still good at snapshots, but I would recommend being much closer to the target than trying for that one opening on the other side of the field. You can hit it, but even the best paint and marker setup can be unpredictable. Besides, I like the idea of eating someone alive with large amounts of paint.
   

paintballer9876 Saturday, June 16th, 2007 | 9:43 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Red Eye
I did mean a 30 inch spread, but this includes every single round I could put dwon range. Also, 120 feet is about the distance across most large (5man+) speedball fields; so although not sniper accurate, a good sized area can be covered by ramping from a distance. The barrel is still good at snapshots, but I would recommend being much closer to the target than trying for that one opening on the other side of the field. You can hit it, but even the best paint and marker setup can be unpredictable. Besides, I like the idea of eating someone alive with large amounts of paint.

Wow 30in, thats not very good, my freak kit on my pmr from 60 feet i get a spread of about 6in, and mabye one or two shots just out side of that 6in. So shooting a hopper a somebody seems fun, but it feels much better to only empty 50-60 balls and take someone out.
   

Red Eye Sunday, June 17th, 2007 | 1:04 pm PST
Im not saying that it takes a large amount of paint to ensure accuracy, but I tend to be really close (front player) and I dont need to make a dead accurate shot. But I sthink that my results are decent considering I was shooting RPS Big Balls from Wal-Mart that I found in my closet.
And for further reference, I recently installed a Detonator regulator to control my airflow, and now I can recieve better results even while running. (I consitently hit an 8-inch target while performing practice breaks). Also why are you demonstrating accuracy from 60ft. My '03 SP Teardrop can ramp through my picket fence at that distance. Besides I own a gun with Virtue, I have a simple philosphy. ACCURACY BY VOLUME.
I appreciate all criticism, but you may want to read again at the distance. (It's twice yours and I know it is correct bc I use the same range for my archery practice) but thanks anyway for the comment.
   

Craig Niland Monday, June 18th, 2007 | 10:12 am PST
30 inches at 120 feet is good. IDK why he's coming in saying it's not good when he's shooting at half the range?
   

yankeefan616 Thursday, July 5th, 2007 | 7:27 am PST
put some pictures up of it on your gun
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media