paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Kevin M.'s Review / Comments on Kevin M.'s Review / Comments on Kevin M.'s Review / Comments on Kevin M.'s Review / Comments on Kevin M.'s Review

Comments on Kevin M.'s Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Kevin M. Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Pushrod
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
All American Barrel Back with 10'' Red Freak Front
Vortex Mod
Lightning Rod
A-5 QEV
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
Opsgear Folding Stock
Ricochet Hopper
Oxygen & Co2 Tanks

Strengths: Below
Weaknesses: Shipping from manufacturer
Review: IMPORTANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
EDIT!!!!!! After about 500 balls were through it in the middle of a game the rod SNAPPED around the area where the pin is securing it to the vortex mod!!
Did not know what was wrong because the product was only just installed. It turned out when I actually opened the cyclone up I learned that it had also destroyed the vortex mod also. The damage total came to almost 100$, so I emailed the company, and the guy has offered me a complete replacement for the rod and the vortex, so I will update this after, but im not so sure about this product anymore. It depends what happened, wether it was the part or just a simple defect. I lubed and installed everything exactly according to the instructions, but I will be putting some pictures on soon



EDIT********** The new part has been arrived and installed, and it it the new "reinforced version" so it is stronger and more reliable. I have so far put 2 cases through the marker without problem, so as long as nothing else happens, the product is perfect
Conclusion: Good product, good company, sppedy replacement of broken parts and speedy redesign of the lightning rod worked out perfectly. Thanks Tech T!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 5th, 2007 at 12:57 pm PST
 

Review Comments
mjr_paranoid Wednesday, January 10th, 2007 | 3:53 pm PST
I have seen someone posting this exact same issue in the forums, so you are not alone.

He reported that the vortex was the issue. It was hiting the lightning rod. He also broke his stock rod as well.

BTW, you use an Oxygen tank? Or did you mean HPA, which is generically only about 20% oxygen
Last edited on Wednesday, January 10th, 2007 at 3:57 pm PST
   

Kevin M. Wednesday, January 10th, 2007 | 7:05 pm PST
how do you mean "hitting" the vortex... it is attached with a pin, do you mean rubbing or hitting after it is broken... as for my tank, it is an oxygen tank
   

grey88smokin Thursday, January 11th, 2007 | 2:24 am PST
Check out these pix, they are not that great, but maybe you can see where the rod is hitting the vortex. Its hitting as the lightening rod is fully extended, its just kissing the ratchet where the feeder axle passes through the ratchet.



http://good-times.webshots.com/album/555614377rIdEeE?start=1
2


I think this is a problem with the vortex, not he lightening rod. They were real cool about replacing the parts. My vortex was nicely scratched too.
Last edited on Thursday, January 11th, 2007 at 2:32 am PST
   

Ronin A-5 Saturday, January 13th, 2007 | 2:22 pm PST
All HPA tanks can theoretically be filled with any gas up to 3000 or 4500 psi, but I highly doubt that your getting pure O2 fills
   

grey88smokin Monday, January 15th, 2007 | 5:54 am PST
Some things have been sorted out, check this thread out if you have not already.


http://www.pbreview.com/forums/showthread.php?t=397928
   

todd@techt Sunday, January 28th, 2007 | 4:07 pm PST
This is Todd from TechT Paintball

We have reviewed this post and corrected the problem. We are always improving our products to be the best they possibly can be. The early versions of the Lightening Rod seemed to be a bit too weak, so we have adjusted our design. We will continue to do this until we feel that we have perfected the product.

We stand behind all of our products 200%. If you have any problems with of our products, we will replace them for you no questions asked.

Our contact info is on our site www.techtpaintball.com.

I thank you for your support and look forward to working with you!!

Todd

TechT Paintball
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media