paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on tippyman7's Review / Comments on tippyman7's Review / Comments on tippyman7's Review / Comments on tippyman7's Review / Comments on tippyman7's Review

Comments on tippyman7's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

tippyman7 Friday, December 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, dm5, pmr
Marker Setup: A ion maxd, w/ evry possible upgrade, including virtue board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
same as ion
Strengths: Metal body, upped trigger, good gun.
Weaknesses: Overpriced.
Review: After firing this marker at the local paintball shop all i can say is i was dissapointed. This is an overpriced ion with metal body, nd some other upgrades. Ya it has inserts for air efficiency, but it is no more efficient than the ion, because they raised the opersating pressure 100psi. So its probaly less efficient even with the inserts. It fires exactly the same as an ion, but has a better trigger. It shoots ropes quite nicely, and i like it more than the pmr. One improvement i noticed is in the trigger frame, it doesnt really have as much side to side play as the ion, but this can also be fixed on the ion.
Conclusion: I do not think that is worth the 200 over the ion, but it is still great is a paintball marker, if overpriced. Good gun, just not for me though, i would recommend the ion, and use the extra money to upgrade that.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 1st, 2007 at 9:53 am PST
 

Review Comments
Jeff_Meister Saturday, December 30th, 2006 | 1:32 am PST
Agree with Greben, Epi looks kinda cool. Maybe an Ion under the hood, but fixes all the surface issues the Ion had...
   

af895 Saturday, December 30th, 2006 | 7:58 am PST
Dispute:
I see no indication you've done any kind of testing with a full 68/4500 tank to determine how many shots the Epiphany will get from it.

SP tried ultra low pressure with the Ion - some people were running pressure as low as 120psi with an aftermarket bolt and QEV. This is less consistent than running higher pressure in a smaller chamber and recharge rate is slower.

The Ion MAY even be LESS efficient than markers running at higher pressure. There's no evidence in your review to confirm or deny this. Please go test the Epiphany, take notes and modify your review. I have no love for Smart Parts but that's only fair.
   

cpt1701 Saturday, December 30th, 2006 | 6:23 pm PST
u people have NO idea wat u r talking about. First off all greben125, a magnesium body for a minimum of 100, Uh-huh do a litlle hunting next time. The trigger mechanism 50!??! U can get a much betterm CP trigger for 20-25 bucks. Also IT IS THE SAME BOARD THAT IS IN THE ION! When the ion came out yes it was 300, but 400 is till 100 more, so think about it, ya the ion dropped 100 dollars, guess wat, when the Epi drops 100, ITS STILL GOING TO COST MORE. As for u af895, did u read his review? He said he tested at the local paintball shop, do u know anything about paintball shops? THEY TEST THE GUNS THEY STOCK, AND GIVE THE CUSTOMER INFROMATION ON IT, OR IN THIS CASE, HOW EFFIECIENT IT IS. Did u honestly think that the only way to find out about the effieciency on a gun is to run a tank through it yourself, i really dont think so. Anyway how do u know he didnt put a full tank through it? He also explained that the Epi shot just like the ion, which i can confirm becuase unlike all of u people who have not evn test the EPi, i own it! I confirm everything he said in this review. The second i saw the EPi, in the store, i just had to have. didnt bother findingout info on it, and am very unhappy. It is just an ion with a cheap metal body, and i will try6 to return the Epi, becuase it shoots absolutley no better, than my 200$ ion, not saying that either shoot poorly tho. U people are exaclty the type of people who will make a website like this one not worth going. In fact i hadnt even been a member of this website, until i came 2 it to read reviews for a hopper for my ion, 2 which i just added a t-board and quev so i need a faster hopper than my egg2, and decided to look at the reviews on the ephinay, and when i read u peoples' comments on this review, i had to join this website to defend the poor guy, who u people senslessly flamed, on a subject u clearly no litlle or nothing about. Thank you.
Last edited on Saturday, December 30th, 2006 at 6:23 pm PST
   

Kung_fu_hippe Saturday, December 30th, 2006 | 8:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cpt1701
u people have NO idea wat u r talking about. First off all greben125, a magnesium body for a minimum of 100, Uh-huh do a litlle hunting next time. The trigger mechanism 50!??! U can get a much betterm CP trigger for 20-25 bucks. Also IT IS THE SAME BOARD THAT IS IN THE ION! When the ion came out yes it was 300, but 400 is till 100 more, so think about it, ya the ion dropped 100 dollars, guess wat, when the Epi drops 100, ITS STILL GOING TO COST MORE. As for u af895, did u read his review? He said he tested at the local paintball shop, do u know anything about paintball shops? THEY TEST THE GUNS THEY STOCK, AND GIVE THE CUSTOMER INFROMATION ON IT, OR IN THIS CASE, HOW EFFIECIENT IT IS. Did u honestly think that the only way to find out about the effieciency on a gun is to run a tank through it yourself, i really dont think so. Anyway how do u know he didnt put a full tank through it? He also explained that the Epi shot just like the ion, which i can confirm becuase unlike all of u people who have not evn test the EPi, i own it! I confirm everything he said in this review. The second i saw the EPi, in the store, i just had to have. didnt bother findingout info on it, and am very unhappy. It is just an ion with a cheap metal body, and i will try6 to return the Epi, becuase it shoots absolutley no better, than my 200$ ion, not saying that either shoot poorly tho. U people are exaclty the type of people who will make a website like this one not worth going. In fact i hadnt even been a member of this website, until i came 2 it to read reviews for a hopper for my ion, 2 which i just added a t-board and quev so i need a faster hopper than my egg2, and decided to look at the reviews on the ephinay, and when i read u peoples' comments on this review, i had to join this website to defend the poor guy, who u people senslessly flamed, on a subject u clearly no litlle or nothing about. Thank you.

Okay, first of all, if you have any hope that we'll understand your little hissy fit, USE GRAMMAR! Use paragraphs. Use periods, capitals, and other thing essentials to us understanding what you are saying.

You have to admit, in the review, the guy just went out and attacked the product. All's he based his review on was the poor feedneck (which is proven to be bad) and the fact he believed that there had been no changes other then the barrel and the metal body.

Have you ever tried out the gun? No. You state that you have only limited knowledge of the ion, so don't come claiming that we don't know what we are talking about when you clearly don't either. The whole reason we are panning the guy, and you, is because neither of you have any idea what you are talking about, and none of us, save for the one guy who actually did some RESEARCH said he knew what he was doing.

Honestly, before you go bashing everyone else, have some foundation to base your argument on, and yeah, grammar helps ALOT as well...


   

greben125 Sunday, December 31st, 2006 | 7:24 pm PST
t-ippyman and cpt1701(lern howe tew talke) ive tried the epi and the ion... so dont go on the bases ive never shot it i have the gun.
-the trigger and gripframe are worth more money than the ions not mentioning they also feel better in the hand
-metal bodies are more expensive than plastic frames and bodies.
-cpt write a review if you are so dissapointed
-the only thing i am dissapointed with in the epi is the body its bumped and bruised out of the box(dents, scratches, etc.) and the rubber overlay in one part is falling off (fixed with epoxy) otherwise yea its a pretty decent shooting gun
-happy new year
Last edited on Monday, January 1st, 2007 at 12:13 pm PST
   

greben125 Sunday, December 31st, 2006 | 7:27 pm PST
i meant if this gun performs like your ion but a little less efficient but* has other ways to make the gun better RATE IT THE SAME AS YOU WOULD AN ION b/c it is worth the money to buy it and you can always choose which one you want you dont have to make their decision for them by ranking reviews really low id rate this gun probably an 8 if you would ask me
   

tippyman7 Monday, January 1st, 2007 | 9:45 am PST
thank you for explaing ur self. i understand what u r saying now. i will agree to raise the rating to a 8, becuase it is a good gun. if overpriced tho. btw, the ion board does have all the same modes, they changed the board in the stock ion a little while ago.
Last edited on Monday, January 1st, 2007 at 9:55 am PST
   

cpt1701 Monday, January 1st, 2007 | 6:50 pm PST
this is sad wbesite. u cant speak ur mind without being told ur wrong.
   

Kung_fu_hippe Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 | 4:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cpt1701
this is sad wbesite. u cant speak ur mind without being told ur wrong.

Thats not what happened here. He spoke his mind, but in a very unclear and blatenly bashed something without giving enough evidence to support it.

In the original review, he just went out and bashed the product. In his updated review, he gave good reason to his views, supported them with evidence, and overally, he saw that his review was abit flawed.

When we say his review is bad, were not going out and screaming "OMG H3'S WRONG!" We are pointing out that he made a badly constructed review, and that he has to fix it. Thats it. Sure there are some guys who freak out screaming "nOOOOB," but honestly, their idiots, just ignore them.
   

tippyman7 Thursday, January 4th, 2007 | 7:59 pm PST
cpt1701, plz do not attack the other users. my review was a poor one, and these people gave me constructive criticism, to help me fix the review. my review would not have been helpful to someone looking into buying the gun.
   

SHOCKERS Saturday, January 6th, 2007 | 10:19 pm PST
WHAT DOES NOOB MEAN!!
   

cpt1701 Sunday, January 7th, 2007 | 6:55 am PST
new-b. a new player
   

SHOCKERS Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 | 7:07 pm PST
Thanks alot cpt 1701 !!
   

dyslexiapaintba Thursday, January 25th, 2007 | 9:50 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by cpt1701
u people have NO idea wat u r talking about. First off all greben125, a magnesium body for a minimum of 100, Uh-huh do a litlle hunting next time. The trigger mechanism 50!??! U can get a much betterm CP trigger for 20-25 bucks. Also IT IS THE SAME BOARD THAT IS IN THE ION! When the ion came out yes it was 300, but 400 is till 100 more, so think about it, ya the ion dropped 100 dollars, guess wat, when the Epi drops 100, ITS STILL GOING TO COST MORE. As for u af895, did u read his review? He said he tested at the local paintball shop, do u know anything about paintball shops? THEY TEST THE GUNS THEY STOCK, AND GIVE THE CUSTOMER INFROMATION ON IT, OR IN THIS CASE, HOW EFFIECIENT IT IS. Did u honestly think that the only way to find out about the effieciency on a gun is to run a tank through it yourself, i really dont think so. Anyway how do u know he didnt put a full tank through it? He also explained that the Epi shot just like the ion, which i can confirm becuase unlike all of u people who have not evn test the EPi, i own it! I confirm everything he said in this review. The second i saw the EPi, in the store, i just had to have. didnt bother findingout info on it, and am very unhappy. It is just an ion with a cheap metal body, and i will try6 to return the Epi, becuase it shoots absolutley no better, than my 200$ ion, not saying that either shoot poorly tho. U people are exaclty the type of people who will make a website like this one not worth going. In fact i hadnt even been a member of this website, until i came 2 it to read reviews for a hopper for my ion, 2 which i just added a t-board and quev so i need a faster hopper than my egg2, and decided to look at the reviews on the ephinay, and when i read u peoples' comments on this review, i had to join this website to defend the poor guy, who u people senslessly flamed, on a subject u clearly no litlle or nothing about. Thank you.

You really make your self look stupid. But anyway, Low pressure means absolutly nothing I repeat absolutly nothing its all Hype. High flow markers work better and have to have thier pressure lower, this is where the LP hype came from is people didn't understand and as a result LP is a selling point and most companies with good high flow markers advertise them as LP. So the fact that its 100PSI higher than the ion might actually make it work better, it'll definatly make its consistancy better. Also I own a paintball shop and while I do test the new markers to decide which I will carry very few places are going to accuratly test the air efficiancy of a marker.
Last edited on Thursday, January 25th, 2007 at 9:51 am PST
   

coolaid Tuesday, July 24th, 2007 | 2:34 pm PST
OK i guess im braking rule 2 but who cares... look at this guys reviews, they all say that the gun is overpriced. So do you want like a $5 autococker or something i mean seriously your not gonna find a good paintball marker for under $140 unless its used so just stfu.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media