paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on mittelfinger's Review / Comments on mittelfinger's Review / Comments on mittelfinger's Review / Comments on mittelfinger's Review / Comments on mittelfinger's Review

Comments on mittelfinger's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

mittelfinger Monday, January 1st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 58 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6, EGO6, SL66, Karnivore.
Marker Setup: Drop forward with Custom Products 2k5 on/off ASA.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Light weight, compact, excellent trigger, accurate.
Weaknesses: Poor overall mechanical design.
Review: I had considered purchasing the Angel 1 for some time. I read review after review and the majority were highly favorable. I never owned an Angel before and I always wanted to buy one. They were always considered to be the epitome of paintball guns. The truth is no matter how many reviews you read, you never know what you're going to get until you actually own it. When the Angel 1 is working properly it is fantastic, extremely fast and accurate. However, the gun can also be a nightmare. When you first see the Rotor Breech it seems very cool and innovative. You look at it and you think "Wow, that's great. It makes for easy access to the bolt and for easy cleaning." However, it is easy to overlook the fact that when the Rotor Breech becomes misaligned you're going to have problems. The Rotor Breech may have worked in the past on previous markers but on the Angel 1 it is a great handicap. It is held in place by a long pin that affixes the Breech to the body of the marker. If for some reason the pin is slightly bent, lookout. When I first dry fired the gun it worked flawlessly. Then a couple days later I to it to the field to play. When I tried to get it chrono'd it would fire then the bolt would get stuck in the forward position by the ball detents. I'd push the bolt back but it kept happening. So, I go back to my car to try and figure it out. I removed the barrel and hopper and try dry firing the marker but the same thing. After the gun would fire the first shot the bolt would get stuck and air would be rushing out. After messing with it I finally got it to work. Out on the field I shot maybe 20 balls and the same thing happened again. Luckily, I always bring a backup gun. Later, I'm reading a few posts and some say to check the detents. So, I bust out the manual to see how to remove the detents and WTF!!! You have to remove the inline regulator just to remove the detents. The reg. just doesn't simply twist and unscrew form the body but has to be disassembled to be removed. Which is just retarded because some things like o-rings are better left alone until they need to be changed or cleaned. The more you mess with them the more it increases your chances of nicking them or just not resealing properly. After removing the reg, you have to unscrew a volume chamber maintenance plug. Now, you have access to the eye cover. The only thing is they don't simply slide off but have to be pried away on both sides, held away fron the marker body, then you can slide it off. What a major pain in the a$$. Prior to taking the reg. off no leaks. After wards, I could hear a slight hiss. So, I pull out the internals again, clean it off, and re-lube, then reassemble. Still hissing, darn. I disassemble it again. Inside the reg. body there is this thing they call a Spool. What I did before was that I would clean the 4 o-rings on the spool body but inside the Spool are some more o-rings and a spring stack. There's a catch, in order to disassemble the spool you need a retaining ring pliers. I don't have one, double darn. So now it's off to the store for some pliers. Finally, I have it completely disassembled every piece cleaned and re-lubed. Put it all back together and.... a very very slight hiss. O-rings need to be changed and to top it off that wasn't even the problem, it was the Rotor Breech alignment. Every time you open the Rotor Breech it rotates the retaining pin. As you rotate the breech back into firing position the whole assembly will not be aligned if your retaining pin is not perfectly straight. Which will cause the bolt to get stuck after it is fired. The bolt basically gets wedged into the front of the gun. But there is some hope, as you continue to open and close the Rotor Breech. The retaining pin will eventually rotate back to the sweet spot which will cause it to be perfectly aligned. Thus allowing the marker to be fired. My advice don't open the Breech unless you really have to.
Conclusion: After owning this gun it leads me to ask, WHY? Why, do you have to remove the inline regulator just to change the detents? Why, didn't WDP use a better material for a retaining pin? Why, did WDP even have to have a Rotor Breech and simply designed the bolt to be pulled out from the back? Why, did I get suckered into buying this gun? As innovative as it is I feel that WDP got a little too carried away and should of stuck to the KISS principle (Keep It Simple Stupid).
Rating:
4 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
moffetts_is_agg Monday, January 1st, 2007 | 11:19 pm PST
Completely agree. WDP overstepped a little bit on the new gen, because the G7 and especially the G7 Fly platforms were amazing. Hell, even A4 Flys and 05 Speeds kicked a lot of butt.
   

Jenou Friday, January 5th, 2007 | 7:30 pm PST
Dispute:
Hold up, hold up, HOLD UP.

The detents are not that hard to replace. I own an A! and have shot about a case through it thus far. I've had no such problems as you say the A1 has. And think for a second that maybe its not the detents. maybe the internals need a bit of oil.

ALSO, TO REMOVE THE DETENTS, YOU DONT EVEN NEED TO TOUCH THE INLINE REGULATOR. ALL YOU NEED TO DO IS REMOVE THE EYE COVER BY UNSCREWING THEM AND SLIDING THEM OFF! if you need details go to wdp.tv. theres a video of it being done.

This review is by no means accurate. I dont know why youre having these problems, maybe you got an earlier serial number or maybe you need to lube it. The A1 is an incredible marker and this review does it an injustice.

PS: if you have a problem, contact WDP. The A1 has a warranty you know.
Last edited on Monday, March 19th, 2007 at 7:27 am PST
   

moffetts_is_agg Friday, January 5th, 2007 | 9:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Jenou
Hold up, hold up, HOLD UP.

The detents are not that hard to replace. I own an A! and have shot about a case through it thus far. I've had no such problems as you say the A1 has. And think for a second that maybe its not the detents. maybe the internals need a bit of oil.

This review is by no means accurate. I dont know why youre having these problems, maybe you got an earlier serial number or maybe you need to lube it. The A1 is an incredible marker and this review does it an injustice.

PS: if you have a problem, contact WDP. The A1 has a warranty you know.


A1s can and do have big problems, dude. He's not lying to anybody.
   

a hobo Saturday, January 6th, 2007 | 4:07 pm PST
Contact WDP to fix it
   

hockeyx999 Saturday, January 13th, 2007 | 10:16 am PST
Cant you just order another pin for the roto breach cuz it looks like it comes out easily?
   

Ieo Monday, January 15th, 2007 | 10:56 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by a hobo
Contact WDP to fix it

He shouldn't need to contact the manufacturer to fix a brand new gun....The A1
Is very buggy, thats all there is to it.
   

Macmaster2k6 Monday, January 15th, 2007 | 7:52 pm PST
Dispute:
i now had my a1 for a month now, not had 1 problem what so ever, i probably had shot like 20 - 30 cases through it
Last edited on Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 7:53 pm PST
   

Chunkym0nkey Sunday, January 21st, 2007 | 2:53 pm PST
Dispute:
You only need to take the reg off to remove the eyes. To take out the detents all you have to do is: 1) Remove the volume chamber plug. 2) Use a business card to GENTLY slide the eye covers off, simple as that. Then the detents should be able to be pushed out from the inside, or they will just fall out.
   

Jenou Monday, January 22nd, 2007 | 12:48 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Chunkym0nkey
You only need to take the reg off to remove the eyes. To take out the detents all you have to do is: 1) Remove the volume chamber plug. 2) Use a business card to GENTLY slide the eye covers off, simple as that. Then the detents should be able to be pushed out from the inside, or they will just fall out.

exactly.
   

nOob_101 Friday, January 26th, 2007 | 4:59 pm PST
noice review
   

rjref52 Friday, February 23rd, 2007 | 4:16 am PST
dude, its not that gun that is messed up, its you, this is one of the best angels on the market, and WDP know that if there is a problem(like yours) that isnt too big, then its the person not the gun, so try a sport more your speed, like golf or extreeme frisbe.
   

Jenou Monday, March 19th, 2007 | 7:29 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by rjref52
dude, its not that gun that is messed up, its you, this is one of the best angels on the market, and WDP know that if there is a problem(like yours) that isnt too big, then its the person not the gun, so try a sport more your speed, like golf or extreeme frisbe.

touche

^___^
   

paintballer_a5 Wednesday, March 21st, 2007 | 2:57 pm PST
you are stupid there is nothing wrong with the a1 ...but you HAVE A BIG PROBLEM you are messed in the in the head.if u dont like angles get a new gun and dont say there crap because there not....your probably a noob who doent know anything about pb....how bout u get an icon x and then go shoot it in the corner of a dark room alone!!! you dont even deserve an icon x there crap but still too good for u.....the right gone for u is hmmmmmmmmm......no gun atall.
   

Fjaquez Thursday, March 22nd, 2007 | 12:07 pm PST
Dispute:
why it is inaccurate? just read the review and tray to find any fact that support the rating gived. This guy have something personal with the gun, or maibe is just one of the Dye-Ego lovers that thing that anything can be like this. WDP make a good job this time, and is back to the competition for the best marker. i think it is, but Ego/Dye are very good too.
   

Legionaire10 Wednesday, April 11th, 2007 | 6:32 pm PST
this is one gun, its his bad experience. WDP makes a good gun and everbody knows it but once in a while EVERY BRAND will make a gun that has glitches
   

DuVulcha Thursday, April 26th, 2007 | 5:57 am PST
The review is a little scewed but not inaccurate. All guns first runs have issuses. The 07 Egos solenoids blowing, Rails leaking, Quest Bolts exploding. He might of got his hands on a gen 1 and had some issues. Or maybe someone returned it to store and store resold it as new (it happens all the time). But the detents are quite easy to take out, no reg disassembly required ( and it is recommended to get the red detents). Also if you dont have the bolt with the clear rubber insert send it back to WDP and they'll upgrade it to the new one. Also go to the WDP site and try using the Joy setting. I set mine like that and have had no issues at all.
   

gooliemoolie Sunday, May 13th, 2007 | 9:21 am PST
Dispute:
Hey, Mr. Finger, you are da biggest dork in the whole wide world (besides George W. Bush).
If you read reviews of different magazines, there is no way in heck that an A1 deserves a 4/10.
FACEFULL magazine gave it a 4/5 (8/10) in their annual review of markers, hoppers, barrels, etc.
Different websites that sell paintball equipment don't give it worse than a 3/5 (6/10) {this was only 2 out of the 10 websites that I went to}.
   

Shockerboy Wednesday, February 13th, 2008 | 8:17 pm PST
well it looks like he either got a dud or he jus doesnt know how to maintain it angels can be very tempermental but if u take care of em there exactly like what there called by far the best markers i think
   

schultz98 Monday, February 18th, 2008 | 5:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Ieo


He shouldn't need to contact the manufacturer to fix a brand new gun....The A1
Is very buggy, thats all there is to it.


says the 98 custom owner....
   

Azmodon Thursday, February 28th, 2008 | 5:34 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by schultz98


says the 98 custom owner....


nine months later and this review gets another posts...

so he's a 98 owner, that makes such a difference. The A1's when they first came out, you know... over 9 months ago - the time the last post was made before these latest two, were buggy as hell. The disputed reviews for the A1's here are the original reviews that have never been updated. Deal with it.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media