paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on bearshockey87's Review / Comments on bearshockey87's Review / Comments on bearshockey87's Review / Comments on bearshockey87's Review

Comments on bearshockey87's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

bearshockey87 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months27 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Macdev Legion Air(Closest to Crossy-this is the one tank that i think i might buy over the crossy, lighter than crossy and similar reg to crossy),Crossfire 68/4500(Same impression as the stubby, would definitively reccomend) ,PMI 68/4500(Quality control issues-it leaked like nobody's business), Dxs 68/45(Nice tank- i found it wierd to use because it isn't a full size tank, but not a full stubby), Centerflag (Very nice tank), Steely 47/3 (haha- no comparison), Steely 72/3(haha- no comparison), Crossfire 45/4500(closest in size to stubby, would buy again)
Marker Setup: SP Ion
360 Qev
L7 Bolt
Freak Jr barrel
Q-lock
S-rail
CP Trigger
Crossy 70/45 with Dye rhino cover
Egg II (Soon to be Halo with V35 board)
Strengths: Size
Reg recharge rate
Capacity
Easy to read gauge
Strong
Weaknesses: Weight
Price(220)- This is for all cf tanks, though, and it is worth it!
Review: The crossfire tank that i have experience is the 70ci/4500psi LP (Blue Reg) (It uses a 450psi output pressure, in comparison to the HP reg, which is a 850psi output). I ordered my tank off the internet for 220 dollars, but now you can find it for 210 dollars. It arrived about 7 months ago. I have used it 2-3 times a week since then .It arrived wrapped in a soft protective foam. Then it was wrapped in bubble wrap, then it came double boxed. It was good knowing that the company cared if the tank got damaged or not! Anyways, here the review!

Looks, User friendliness, and first impression.
- Personally I think stubbies look awesome on guns! The crossfire I have has a blue reg (LP), but if you have a high pressure, it will be red. The tank has an extremely large and easy to read gauge. The actual bottle is a white-ish carbon fiber (note: this is a newer SCI bottle, crossfire started using these in 03, the older stubbies were 72/45 dark fiber GCI bottles) The label on the bottle has 70ci 4500 psi with the awesome crossfire logo on it. These tanks look great without anything on them, but even with a tank cover on you still see a blue/red/platinum band with crossfires logo on it!
-The crossfire 70/45 is really easy to use, just attach the fill nipple to the fill station and the tank is filled. Then just screw the tank into the asa of your marker and boom you're ready to go.
-My first impression of the tank is of extreme quality! The tank is very smooth and the threads were in perfect shape. The fill nipple was all the way in and not dirty (unlike my PMI tank).

First fill:
As soon as i got my tank i ran to my local paintball store and got a cool, slow fill to 4500psi. To see if i has any leak i had to restrain myself and i let the tank sit a week to see if it had any leaks. After the week the pressure feel to about 4450 psi. That was the best surprise this tank had for me! On the contrary, my old PMI tank lost about 2000psi in a week due to a whole leak from the reg, which i rebuilt and then had PMI rebuild it and it still didn't help. The gauge is also the most accurate gauge on the market, some of my other tanks were off by 300 or more psi!

Capacity and size:
Whether you like a stubby tank or a regular size tank is your decision. I personally like stubbies, because i am a front man and it makes my setup very small, but i still can get the amount of shots i would get off of a 68/45. My stubby is 10.75 inches long and 4.25 circumference. This is compared to a 68/45 which is 12.25-12.5 inches long. My stubby is about 3 pounds filled. A 68/45 is about 2.5 filled. In real life, unless you have no muscle, .5 pounds you won't even feel the difference. I would rather sacrifice size for weight. When i first got my tank, i took my qev off to see efficiency of this tank with my ion. I got about 1450 off of my first fill. Sweet. The next fill i got 1400 shots! Sweeter! I then installed my qev again. The first fill with the qev i got 1700 shots! Woah! Then when i got my L7 bolt, I installed it and wanted to see about how many shots i got . I got 1850 shots! This is what i love about a stubby. I can play front with a nice tight setup and if i want to play outlaw ball i can get it filled and be fine for a day to play around with my friends!

Regulator:
As many paintballers already know, crossfire makes some of the best regs in the business. They have a wonderful recharge rate of 10ms! I have an ion which i run at like 120-140psi depending on what fps i need. This LP tanks works fine on my ion. Even if you have a stock ion, you can run this LP tank on it. I have absolutely no shoot-down at 17bps, even when i didn't have my qev and L7 bolt. This reg is made out of top quality stainless steel! One note is that if your reg is creeping (if you blow your 1800psi burst disk, this is a sign of reg creeping) or you have a reg problem (which i doubt you will, these regs rock!) you have to send it back to crossfire to be rebuilt or fixed. Crossfire regs aren't user serviceable.

Condition and Strength:
I have used this tank for 7 months now, and you wouldn't even know it! If you looked at this tank now, you would think it was close to brand new. The fibers are fine, with no chips, cuts, and unraveling. My regulator still looks brand new and the threads are fine. These tanks are really strong, but I highly highly highly recommended a tank cover. I mean you paid 220 for a tank, 25 dollars isn't that much. I recommend the dye rhino tank cover, it looks stylish, protects your tank, and provides a grip on your shoulder. A few of my friends have used their crossy tank without a cover and nothing went wrong, but i really don't recommend it. I also recommend a thread protector, so if you drop your tank the threads won't be ruined. With a tank cover and thread protector, and if you feel the need a fill nipple cover, your tank will be fine!

Conclusion: This is my favorite tank i have ever used! The company is a great company. They have the best customer service and everybody who works their is really nice! The crossy 70/45 is small, has a great reg, a huge shot capacity, its strong, and has a great gauge(most accurate on the market. It is expensive, but it is worth it. I would give this tank a 9.5 just because you can't rebuild the reg yourself! This tank is so durable, i haven't had any leaks, thread proplems,fiber problems, or reg problems. Buy it! Any questions ask in comments
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
RollTideFan Wednesday, March 21st, 2007 | 1:15 pm PST
i have an ion right now and am looking to get a new tank should i get a low or high pressure tank? please respond. thank you
   

ionlover200 Sunday, March 25th, 2007 | 5:14 pm PST
high pressure
   

satanskaterx Friday, May 18th, 2007 | 10:20 am PST
ive got the sft shocker and want to get this tank is huold get low pressure right?
   

Cmaniac Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 | 12:17 pm PST
Price on your review, you can get them for much less now, I just got one on Ebay for 140, or new on actionvillage.com they are a little more, but only a little more.

Shocker NXT's run on low pressure according to the SmartParts webpage, the SFT should also run on low pressure, but search the fourms a little while to make sure.
   

weltsnbrusis Sunday, June 24th, 2007 | 8:14 am PST
good review
   

Shocker-pride Sunday, August 26th, 2007 | 9:18 pm PST
Great review, my angel one came with one of these for free! Great tank.
   

cyberian Saturday, September 22nd, 2007 | 4:09 pm PST
Good review, just one comment. Its true that crossfire regulators are difficult to open, and i think you loose your warranty if you do, but the ARE user serviceable, they just have locktite, so you have to heat em up above 150 Centigrades and thats it, it cracks open with a strap wrench. i know i did it, the fact is that since i live in argentina and sending the reg back to fix it (it was creeping) was more expensive than to buy a new one, i just did it "my way". bought a whole set of reg internals from crossfire at 10 bucks and its now working wonderfully.

only advisable if you REALLY know what you are doing, but its doable.
   

themccannman Tuesday, December 23rd, 2008 | 1:08 pm PST
i thought low pressure output was 250 psi, also unless you have an angel, always go with high pressure.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media