paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on whizzer181's Review / Comments on whizzer181's Review / Comments on whizzer181's Review / Comments on whizzer181's Review / Comments on whizzer181's Review / Comments on whizzer181's Review

Comments on whizzer181's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

whizzer181 Monday, January 8th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
First product I used like this
Marker Setup: ION
Freak jr. Barrel kit
QEV 360
Halo hopper
clamp feed neck

Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Back plug fractured. Poor tech support from Techt
Review: Bought this L7 for Christmas. Installed per on line instructions. When I put the gun on air, the back plug of bolt fractured and blew out the back of my ION. I didn't even fire the gun once. I have sent bolt back to Techt but they have been slow to respond back to emails.Their site says responses back in 3 hours but I have waited 3 days and still have not received response.
Conclusion: I would not recommend a 2 piece bolt system, at least with a plastic back plug due to the possibility of it coming out the back of the gun and hitting the shooter in the eye.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 8th, 2007 at 11:46 am PST
 

Review Comments
heysueskreesto2 Monday, January 8th, 2007 | 12:03 pm PST
hey
i bet u overtightened the back plug, making the breaking your fault, as they specifically stated in the instructions NOT to. YOUR FAULT. i suggest you dont write a review until they get back in contact and you get a new bolt. then in the review you can state the bad customer service occurrence as a weakness, and that you have to be careful with the backplug.
   

Cool_Clay1 Monday, January 8th, 2007 | 1:56 pm PST
Dispute:
This must of been a user error. you must have over tightened the read screw which it tells you NOT to do. and i don't think you can bash the product when you truly haven't used it. Also the TechT has great customer service.
Last edited on Monday, January 8th, 2007 at 1:56 pm PST
   

OldDriver Monday, January 8th, 2007 | 4:20 pm PST
Customer service must be laughing their Bolls off over this one! They haven't called because they can't catch their BREATH!

from the techt site:
Quote:
6. Place a wide flat head screwdriver down into the slot in the front of the back plug. Now place a 1/8th allen wrench into the screw on the back of the bolt plug, from the outside of the can.. Holding the screwdriver in one hand, and the allen wrench in the other, tighten up the screw. Do not over tighten. The screw only has to be good and snug. If you attempt to make it crazy tight you will break the plug slot. AGAIN.... do NOT go crazy.... snug will work, tough guy.

End Quote
Last edited on Monday, January 8th, 2007 at 4:25 pm PST
   

mckvade Tuesday, January 9th, 2007 | 2:46 pm PST
Don't knock the product because one broke. Defects can occur in every process. Perhaps it was error on you part, perhaps not. Plus it was over the holidays and all stores have been slower responding. Perhaps you should update this when you get the new plug and try again.
   

daGeest Monday, January 15th, 2007 | 12:50 pm PST
Two comments.
First, I am a complete mechanical moron. Utterly and wholely. Without excuse or exception. I am still trying to convince the guys at my shop that a QEV is not "totally stupidly simple" for someone as stupid as I. (it took me 2.5 weeks to get a drop on my Spyder-clone without leaks)

That being said, I had absolutely no problem at all installing this bolt. I just followed the instruction per the letter and that was it.

Second, one of the things that convinced me to go with TechT was the stellar feedback they get on customer service. Over the holidays, they replied in a day to an email that was just a "will this work with an aftermarket firing chamber." I was not a customer, hadn't commited to spending money with them and it was the day after Christmas and they still got back to me in a very timely manner.

Maybe give it another try? Perhaps something got lost on the wire.
   

AresPBIon Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 | 6:35 pm PST
Dispute:
All the other reviews say one thing. This is one of the only negative reviews on the bolt. I believe it is more user error than product fault.
   

Smart Partys Wednesday, January 24th, 2007 | 7:39 pm PST
Dispute:
someone please delete this review. its his fault
   

OldDriver Monday, January 29th, 2007 | 4:12 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Smart Partys
someone please delete this review. its his fault


Please Don't we need some one to dig on and he elected himself with his mechanical ineptness 8-P
   

newartist Sunday, February 25th, 2007 | 10:23 pm PST
Dispute:

I gotta call B.S., it is impossible to have the bolt fly out the back of a stock bodied ION. The guy installed the L7 incorrectly most likely damaged the rear plug by overtightening the rear screw.

Get the replacement parts installed by a competent airtech and let them setup the dwell and pressure to get good consistency. Document the settings they used and stick with them.

   

misfit0022 Monday, April 9th, 2007 | 12:06 pm PST
Dispute:
What do you mean the back plug fractured, it cant, the O-rings can blow, but thats from over-tightening the back plug or you set the pressure to high, stupidon your part.
And how can the back plug shoot out, what you shoot the Ion without the body, its not possible buddy.
And TechT has great reliability.
One more thing, its a three piece bolt, not two, so you must be really smart!! Duh
   

jaminator20 Sunday, July 1st, 2007 | 8:55 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by misfit0022
What do you mean the back plug fractured, it cant, the O-rings can blow, but thats from over-tightening the back plug or you set the pressure to high, stupidon your part.
And how can the back plug shoot out, what you shoot the Ion without the body, its not possible buddy.
And TechT has great reliability.
One more thing, its a three piece bolt, not two, so you must be really smart!! Duh


it would b funny if he tried putting it together without a piece, and then when he shipped it back forgot the piece
   

eastcoastoutlaw Saturday, July 7th, 2007 | 6:56 pm PST
HOW CAN IT SHOOT OUT OF YOUR GUN its imposible even without a body and tech t has great custermer support i orderd a oring under the warinty and it came in overnite shipping so ur wrong on all levals
   

ionballaninety6 Sunday, February 17th, 2008 | 1:49 pm PST
Dude, its COMPLETELY your fault because it CLEARLY states in the instructions NOT to overtighten the back plug.
   

McEd Wednesday, February 20th, 2008 | 6:24 pm PST
Dispute:
obviously you didn't install the bolt correctly. and isn't the review supposed to be about the product not the customer service of the company that made it?
   

Garrett Lee Wednesday, March 25th, 2009 | 12:40 pm PST
Either way....if you tell TechT what happened they will probably hook you up anyway. My experience with Todd and TechT has been nothing but great! They ship fast and definately have the best product out there, so, Give'em a chance.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media