paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on DaltonChaotic's Review / Comments on DaltonChaotic's Review / Comments on DaltonChaotic's Review / Comments on DaltonChaotic's Review / Comments on DaltonChaotic's Review

Comments on DaltonChaotic's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

DaltonChaotic Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix, Autococker Trilogy, Smart Parts Ion, and lots of low-end markers
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany (Blue)
Dye mini drop
Freak barrel system
NDZ feed neck
4500 crossfire HP tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
As soon as possible buy a feed neck
Strengths: trigger
Looks
ASA on/off
barrel
most ion parts will fit
the manual very informative
Weaknesses: advertised color of barrel back
Body had small imperfections
Manual just stapled together
Review: This marker`s trigger is nice. I experienced no problem shooting ropes. I found using a small drop made the marker well balanced. It also seems to be as efficient as advertised. This truly is a nice marker and the simple truth is that if it was released last year as the first Ion everyone would be drooling all over it.

My biggest complaint is about the barrel back. In every picture on the web, including Smart parts website, the barrel back matched the marker color. Mine did not. It came in black instead of blue. Smart Parts was contacted, and they claimed to not have any idea why the photos are showing matched barrels. They said all Freak barrel backs are black. False advertising, and nicks and chips on marker. Thats why I have to give it a 9.
Conclusion: Dont hate this marker because its cheap and can keep up with Angels and Timmys. It truly is everything you could ask for from a $1000 marker. I mean $400 marker. Dont expect a color matched barrel back though.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 23rd, 2007 at 6:02 pm PST
 

Review Comments
PestyPoet Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 | 12:28 am PST
I bought a white Epiphany, and not only is my barrel back white -- it's a PERFECT match to the rest of the marker (body and grip). I would assume that since no one else that bought and review the Epiphany has said anything about it, that everyone else's barrel backs match their markers as well.

Sorry yours was mis-matched. That's just odd. Perhaps you should call SP back and request to speak to someone really important (or just a customer service representative). --And even if you talked to them before, do it again and don't take no for an answer.
   

DUNNMNZ Monday, February 5th, 2007 | 12:47 am PST
I bought the white one and got a black back so I think SP dropped the ball on that one....but all the colors should be the same due to the color indicating the size of the bore.
   

Mr.Epiphany Monday, February 12th, 2007 | 3:18 pm PST
Wow thats weird...My Epi is color matched, but again I have the black one. The shop I go to has the red and blue Epi and they are both color matched. I'd call SP and have the get you the correct color...
   

DUNNMNZ Tuesday, February 13th, 2007 | 6:57 pm PST
I contacted SP all Epiphanys should have come with the black insert .693(acording to the tech I talked to) I had to order the .689 (blue) and the .691(gun metal grey) they were $25 for both or $95 for the whole Freak insert kit.
   

Mr.Epiphany Wednesday, February 14th, 2007 | 2:54 pm PST
Are you talking about the barrel insert or the barrel back? From what I know all Epi's comes with the black .693 insert and color matched barrel backs. If it was up to me i'd buy the insert kit instead.
   

DUNNMNZ Friday, February 16th, 2007 | 7:04 pm PST
Ya the inserts not the back. The backs should be the same color as the gun (Black,Blue,Red,White) but in a lot of photos even the SP website the inserts are a different color mostly silver. But you are rite they should all have black inserts .693.
   

greben125 Saturday, February 17th, 2007 | 8:20 pm PST
mines blue just like the gun...
   

DUNNMNZ Sunday, February 18th, 2007 | 4:07 pm PST
GREBEN125,

Your back or your insert?
   

Mr.Epiphany Thursday, February 22nd, 2007 | 1:39 am PST
I just photographed the Epiphany (in studio layout) for a shops online store and it did the same as SP's pics. Assuming that SP use a professional setup for there pictures. If you photograph the Epiphany using a soft-box flash or an umbrella flash, the reflection on the shiny black .693 is gonna reflect a silver white color.

Unless SP used the .679 insert originally then switched to the .693 knowing the .679 is too small an insert to begin with. <------Just my opinion

   

DaltonChaotic Friday, February 23rd, 2007 | 5:55 pm PST
the freak jr barrel back is black instead of blue for my BLUE epiphany. sean scott from sp said that they shipped some out not colored matched because they had trouble with the colored back chipping or something. the be honest i already had a freak insert kit and didnt give a crap about the insert they sent.
Last edited on Friday, February 23rd, 2007 at 5:59 pm PST
   

tippmann_fan Friday, June 29th, 2007 | 7:19 am PST
My blue epi came with blue back and blue insert .689
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media