paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Scott's Review / Comments on Scott's Review / Comments on Scott's Review / Comments on Scott's Review

Comments on Scott's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Scott Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Engage - Our normal tourney paint
Chronic-awesome
PMI Premium-good practice and rec paint
Marker Setup: 2006 Pevs Ego
TI Rammer
C.U.R.E. Bolt
CCU Kit
Dye Throttle 68/45
Freak Kit
Recommended
Barrels:
PVC Pipe
Strengths: It was kinda fun to watch how they broke from knee height
Weaknesses: Turned to soup at high rates of fire
Review: Ok, well i went to our first tournament of the year, and its indoor. Our paint sponser didnt know that we had to have a white fill paint, so he had our usual engage w/yellow fill waiting for us. but 2 days before the tournament we found out about it, and since he didnt have ot ime to order other paint, just gave us the money to buy some at the tounament. This was best stuff they had and lets just say it waas TERRIBLE! i have an 06 ego with cure bolt, and my firend has a 07 ego and we could NOT get the paint to come out in one piece! we turned our LPRs down, adjusted the dwell, which did help some, we could shoot at about 10BPS ok with them, but when we set our ramping to 15, it turned into a blender. i know the cure bolts are supposed to work miracles, and so far they have worked great, but this paint was SO brittle, that we would drop it from knee height and it would break on the concrete....a little too brittle i think ;) Maybe the paint wasnt stored properly or something, but my experiece of it is aweful. i will never buy this again...i guess i learned my lesson about waiting till the last minute to get our paint.
Conclusion: Terrible. if our egos couldnt shoot it w/o breaking, how is any lower end gun gonna hold up with it? maybe improper storage....maybe just carppy paint. thats my opinion of it!
Rating:
2 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Scott Friday, February 9th, 2007 | 6:21 am PST
No, i still have a case of them, they are V1's in a white box, with yellow and black stripes on it. and it was very cold where we were (even though it was indoor, the heaters didnt work or something) but like i said, i still have a case of them, and i have kept them in a warmer environment (around 73*) and im going to try them again to see if that had any effect on them. that is the only thing i could think of, is that the coldness just make the shell brittle. and the bolt isnt the problem, ive shot lots of empire engage and chronic with it (both brittle tourny paint) with no problems. but i will try the left over paint soon and if i notice an improvement, will change my rating
   

Ridge Boy Saturday, February 17th, 2007 | 9:14 pm PST
My experience with V-1 is that it get brittle very quick in cold weather. Normaly they have a very tough shell. When it's very cold, I usualy shoot Hot Box or Spectrum. They can take the cold a little longer. Also try a different bore size when it's cold. Even though OX is .684, in cold weather I use a .692-.693
Last edited on Saturday, February 17th, 2007 at 9:17 pm PST
   

icdbko32 Thursday, April 5th, 2007 | 1:37 pm PST
v1 is a pretty tough shell so im guessing something was wrong with this seeing how in hot weather the balls will bounce off me when there not even squishy and the shell is still fine but i think its how they store it cuase iv had some that shoot amazing.
   

Donster 125 Sunday, April 15th, 2007 | 9:45 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Donster 125
umm i think that you might have been using a different brand of paint and if not, perhaps a different level of ball. For example, the X.O. Industry Vein paint is their high-end, while their whitebox is their low-end. perhaps you got that? all i know is that the shells of the V1 style ARE noticably stronger than other paint brands. i do not beleive that a V1 ball broke from a knee-high drop unless the paint was left in the sun for a couple of days and exposed to the elements. I no this because unlike you who used it in a tournament, i have been using this paint periodically and for great lengths of time. these are some of the best balls i have ever used save for the numerous number bounces i get due to the THICK SHELL. however, this contributes to the accuracy. and BTW, perhaps it is your bolt that is causing the problem if any?

Hey, i recently used these balls in the cold weather, and they are very brittle. You are correct, and i will retract my dsipute. However, in warm weather, they balls are godly.
   

Barbasnoo Thursday, February 28th, 2008 | 3:08 pm PST
Dispute:
The paint being "too good" where is it being so brittle your pos ego couldnt shoot it, shouldnt be a decision maker when grading this paint, egos cannot shoot brittle paint, they arent made to. they have a peice of delrin attached to a hammer that just smacks the ball to get it out of the barrel, where is with say a spool valve marker, the bolt just pushes the ball past the detents, the air flowing from the firing can, creates compression between the bolt, and the barrel around it, in turn, propelling it from the barrel, so, in an eggshell, the ego smacks the ball to shoot it, thats why it cant shoot brittle paint, where is a shocker or dm or something like that, uses air to propel the ball, all the bolt does is give it a head start.

So its not the paint being bad... its your gun.

   

xXLockdown44Xx Wednesday, August 5th, 2009 | 3:12 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Barbasnoo


So its not the paint being bad... its your gun.



I think your wrong and right, the cold weather combined with the ego naturally shooting harder paint is making the paint break, but the ego isn't a bad gun, just means use a different paint, hopefully, he can get it to work soon and then update his post.
Gl with the paint.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media