paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on veedoubleugee's Review / Comments on veedoubleugee's Review / Comments on veedoubleugee's Review / Comments on veedoubleugee's Review / Comments on veedoubleugee's Review

Comments on veedoubleugee's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

veedoubleugee Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month36 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: FS7: BLUEFORK INTERNALS, ACID SPONGE, CF GRIPS/EYE COVERS (2much2list)
Other Toys: FS7(backup),(2)Zenitram Venom Bushmasters & Lasoya Promaster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck & asa a must. Next upgrade should be a valve to drop the markers pressure although its already low. A new barrel would also be a great addition.
Strengths: Small profile, Light weight, Clamshell gripframe, Good board, & current price
Weaknesses: Feedneck, Stock barrel has something to be desired.
Review: Ive had this for about a month now and have since then convinced 3 of my friends to purchase one. The greatest strength of this marker is its price point. I bought it for $220 but it can now be purchased for $194. There is no higher quality marker at this price. A topnotch oem part is the teflon bolt. This thing is slippery and perfectly fits the dual ball detents that sit behind the eye covers. The Dual ball detents are the same ones found on the freestyle.

Now on to the electronics...it has dip switches that give you all the ramping modes you could ever want. This means enough setting to keep up with the best of them..The wire harness is delicate but will last a long time if taken care of.. Eyes are 3mm. Vaporworks has laser eyes if you want that upgrade.

The size of this gun can be easily seen. It has a low profile and its pretty short. A lot of guns are small nowadays and this is one of them. Luckily this marker is well balanced and I feel this is contributed to the trigger frame. The trigger frame fits my hand well but thats something you really have to feel to understand. Its really comfortable in my opinion. It also breaks into 2 sections (clamshell) so you can easily get to your board, wires, & trigger. Lastly the asa block has 2 gauges one for the hpr one for the lpr.

Weaknesses include The feedneck. Its useless get rid of it and get a new one. There is no asa. Some may consider this a weakness @ its original price. Luckily the new $200 price of this gun leaves room for upgrades. The barrel is the straightest bore I have ever seen on an icd marker but it still is a stock barrel. If you want the quality of a high performance barrel you best bet would be getting one. The valve could be a better design but the stock one is reliable. It still allows you to obtain pressures from 220-280psi. The eye covers don't really match the sleekness of the body but i guess that can be left for opinion. Lastly the trigger is sloppy although it is still a good trigger. Cp makes a great trigger but thats not necessary.

Edit 4/15/07: I have come across a new lpm that was having hp reg creep. When I would set it to 200psi it would creep up to 300psi. To solve this I took apart the reg, removed the lube on it (looks like dow), and then relubed it with super lube, Creep problem solved.

The regulator pictured has a brass burst disk on it. all the models I have come across do not.

Be sure to back out your regs before you air up the first time., you dont want to blow your gauges. I installed the hp reg internal oring wrong and the hp gauge went way past its 600psi max. Once I fixed my error air aired up the marker, the gauge worked flawlessly. So they are durable but learn from my errors. Rumor has it the lp gauge are prone to being blown. I havent had this issue but be aware that it can happen if you dont back out your regs for the very first time of use.

I changed the barrel to a wgp kaner. This gun shoots great with it on. Almost any high-end barrel will make a difference in accuracy. As for the stock its still pretty decent. It shoots straight but there is no replacement for a high quality aftermarket barrel.

Edit 12/26/07: Apparently I have come accross 2 faulty hp regs. Reg number 1 sprung a leak in the center for no apparent reason. The marker has only been cycled a few times. It has never been on the field. The leak was from a seal in the center of the regulator body. I teflon taped the threads since we dont have a replacement oring. The leak is gone and the reg works flawlessly.
Reg number 2 would not regulate at all. When aired up the first time the regulator seized. No pressure was going to the marker. I tested it with my air america reg tester and confirmed the reg was not working. Upon further inspection I saw that the piston was not moving freely. It was in fact stuck. When I finally got it out, I checked for burs or inconsistencies on the piston, its oring, and the inside of the regulator body. None could be found. So with 4 lasoyas I began to swap regulator pistons to find a piston that would fit and not get stuck. They all had the same problem with that body. I soon realized that almost all the bodies and all the pistons had different tolerances. I do not have a way to measure them but some of the pistons wouldn't even fit in some of the bodies. One piston and oring combo was so small that it would wobble in one of the bodies. I matched the pistons the best I could to each body. 3 of 4 regs work fine but of the working one has that leak I spoke of earlier. I have a few other friends with lasoyas and their regs seem to be fine. Im gonna try to get their markers and experiment a little more with the pistons.
Upon doing further research the only thing this vigilante regulator has in common with the old Air America vigilante reg is its name. Thats it.

My new rating is still an 8 but a low 8 since this marker can be found for under $200 new. In my eyes it cant be beat at this price point. And the reg issues are covered under warranty. Its still a Great Buy.

as for my lasoya....shes still rockin'...
Conclusion: I will edit this post as I use it more but this is the opinion of an experienced paintballer. This is a great marker for $200. It truly cant be beat. 3 of my friends purchased one and I also own one. As these guns are put through the ropes I will update my review. With 4 guns in review I will be sure to update it frequently.

I give it an 8 b/c its not perfect and I dont like the internal hoses although they are almost twice as thick as cocker hose.

Until next time
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 26th, 2007 at 3:48 pm PST
 

Review Comments
sykoballer Sunday, February 25th, 2007 | 7:39 am PST
This deserves at least a 9 because you only listed 1 slight weakness and a preference. but overall a good review
   

veedoubleugee Monday, February 26th, 2007 | 10:34 am PST
Thank you for your comment syko. Im in the process of reviewing 4 of these markers. At this point in time these markers do not deserve a 9. Not b/c of the reason I listed but because they are in the testing stages. At the end of each day I have evaluated the markers. All run differently. One is super quiet, one is super efficient, The other 2 are pretty close to the same, All are fast fast fast. In this first review I tried to point out what I saw in all of them. As you know every review has some sort of bias. I try to point out what I dont like and try to give you guys a good reason. Luckily I have over 10 years of paintball experience to back me up. This review will be changed throughout my experience with the marker. Hopefully you will check in every now and then so you can see this review progress. It may become a 9 or find its way to a 7/6/5 (highly doubt it but possible). 9 is a number that is near perfect. This gun isnt although its price is. Nevertheless its a great buy.
   

caligula2nd Saturday, April 28th, 2007 | 2:31 pm PST
Nice review. when You say back down both the lpr & hpr for the very first time of use do mean,the very 1st time you use it or the very 1st time of each day of use?

I also have 2 other ?s

1st - How long does the hpr take to break in?

2nd - After broken in,what is the +/- fps over all?

Thanks
Last edited on Saturday, April 28th, 2007 at 2:45 pm PST
   

veedoubleugee Sunday, April 29th, 2007 | 10:21 am PST
I would say the very first time the marker is aired up or anytime you are unsure of you regulator pressures. I have heard stories of people airing their marker up for the first time and blowing their lpr gauge. If you know you your regs are set correctly then their is no need to back out.

1) most regs take about a case or 2 to break in. I would imagine this being about the same. Just getting better over time.

2)Right now My marker is +/- 5. My only performance upgrade is a barrel. Ive probably shot about 5 cases through it. I feel it will get better although it is already very good.
   

NiumGas101 Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007 | 8:00 am PST
i just got done readin ur review and i am looking for a decent marker to get back into the sport. i plan on playin like once a week so how reliable would u say this maker is? I found one on craigslist.org and its $300 w/ a nitro steel tank and a halo b hopper. It also has only had 100 balls through it so is this a steal or is it just fishy??? PLZ let me kno in a PM or reply back here!!!!

Thanks!!
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media