paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on corndog007's Review / Comments on corndog007's Review / Comments on corndog007's Review / Comments on corndog007's Review / Comments on corndog007's Review

Comments on corndog007's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

corndog007 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months151 of 156 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Spyder Piot, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany(Red), Freak Barrel(not the standard one that comes with it), Trinity Clamping Feed Neck, Dye Mini Drop, Dye ASA, Halo B, Pure Energy 48ci 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly New Feed Neck
Strengths: Low Operating Pressure, 17+bps, Compatible with Ion, Great ASA, Looks, Great Stock Barrel
Weaknesses: Not really any unless you feel you need a clamping feed neck
Review: Flys like a Butterfly but Stings like a Bee

Hello, once again. Today I will be reviewing the Smart Parts Epiphany Electro Pneumatic Paintball Marker. What does Electro Pneumatic mean? Well pneumatic literally means powered by air and electro means, well electric. Let's piece it together in "plain" English. The Smart Parts Epiphany, which is powered by electricity and uses air to fire the paintball, Paintball Gun. My review will be broken down into 5 sections hitting all of the main points about the product and I will also include some hints about how to keep your gun performing and will answer any questions you may have if you leave a comment on my review asking me a question about the marker.
The Main Sections
1. A Short Story
2. Construction
3. Performance
4. Pros and Cons
5. Overall

A Short Story

A long time ago in a state far far away a paintball player who goes by the alias of corndog007 went paintballing. That was a couple of months ago somewhere in California, oh lets say SC Village. I had recently purchased my Epiphany to replace my broken Ion the day before. When me and my fried Troy(his name is protected for legal purposes) locked and loaded our markers at the field and I walked to the shooting range exclaiming wait till you see my new gun in action but for now I am going to test it at the shooting range because I had yet to fire it. I stood there in awe ready to fire thinking this is going to be the greatest moment of my life. I pulled the trigger and I heard the familiar click of the trigger being pulled without any air in the gun. I almost cried thinking I had just bought a $400 gun and it didn't work and the week before my beloved ion broke. I thought to myself stay calm its all right many of the greatest weapons in modern history had faulty tests. The first Stinger missile fired was a dud and the M-16 jammed very easily during its test firing. I examined my marker and turned it in no-vision mode and pulled the trigger. It worked. A huge weight had just fallen off my back. That narrowed the problem to the eyes. I went back to the pits and disassembled the marker which I was very familiar with(the same as an Ion disassembly) and found that the eyes were not aligned. I corrected the problem and walked back to the firing range and turned the vision mode on. I pulled the very comfortable trigger and it fired. I fired a few more balls to make sure I wasn't dreaming. The day was a blast and my Epiphany had no more problems.

Construction

The Epiphany is basically an Ion on steroids, a lot of steroids. The marker features an improved solenoid capable of handling a slightly higher amount of psi(250psi is normal and 280psi is the max your marker should have), a better stock barrel(Freak Jr. with the worst insert(.693) so you might need an insert kit). Don't let the name fool you a Freak Jr. is the same barrel as a Freak with not as much customization. All Freak parts are compatible with the Freak Jr. Also the Epiphany is running an aluminum frame, which is much more durable and rugged than the Ion's pot metal frame. This feature is why the epiphany gained my interest since I recently stripped the gauge out of my Ion. The Epiphany also looks awesome. I purchased the Red Epiphany. Although in many of the pictures the Red Epiphany looks pink, in person the Red Epiphany is pure Red. It looks much like a bright red Corvette. The feed neck is also improved on the Epiphany. It can now hold a Halo. I still bought a clamping feed neck though because it just didn't look safe with only two o-rings. Another great feature of the Epiphany is the trigger. It has no sway like the Ion trigger and is literally perfect. The trigger fits everyone. It is flat like an Angel trigger and at the same time has a sense of the trigger grooves like the one on the Ion. The Epiphany also looks great and is compatible with all of the Ion parts. The virtue board, the body kits(but who would do that), the regulators, the feed necks etc.

Performance

The Epiphany comes ready to rock out of the box with 17+bps, which can actually be achieved with the trigger that comes stock, unlike the Spyder Pilot, which is stock with 20+bps "RIGHT", like you can actually achieve that with the Pilot. You would be lucky to hit 5 bps with the Pilot on semi. The trigger pull on the Epiphany is actually lighter than a feather. No Really. Once this thing gets going its impossible to stop. It's like touching nothing and anyone can walk the marker right out of the box. The barrel is actually the best barrel I have seen come on a $400 marker. It rivals that of the Dye Ultralite that comes stock with the DM7. This marker is accurate, fast, tough, reliable, lightweight, and can be upgraded like no tomorrow. (This has nothing to do with the performance and I didn't know were to put it but it deserves to be mentioned). The Epiphany comes with a killer box. At least mine did. I got the White Box Dealer Pre Release. It came complete with thorough directions on how to maintain your marker, egg carton padding, 2 inserts to get the perfect air velocity in your gun for indoor or outdoor play, and a parts package(contains extra o-rings, Allen wrenches, a wrench to adjust your markers velocity, and a spare hose for your banjo fittings).

Pros and Cons

Pros
o Looks Awesome
o Ready to Fire at 17+bps out of the box
o Great Price($400) for something that performs so good
o Compatible with the Ion
o Best Trigger on a stock marker
o Very Customizable
o Comes with better Box than Ion(SEE: In Performance section)
o Feedneck actually fits hoppers(still may want to replace)
o Easy to maintain and clean(please clean your gun ever time after you go, If you take care of it off the field it will take care of you on the field)
o Lightweight, Compact
o Two Break Beam Eyes often referred to as Vision that prevents chopping paint
o Great Stock Barrel(Freak Jr.)
o Fires a lot of paint real fast, real accurate
o Low Pressure Marker
o Did I mention it looks Awesome

Cons

o May want to purchase new feedneck
o WARNING: May cause extreme shock and awe
o Fires a lot of paint real fast
o Need High Performance Hopper

Overall

Overall, this marker, The Smart Parts Epiphany, performs the duty of a high end electronic paintball marker for a reasonable price. It delivers extreme firepower with pinpoint accuracy(for a paintball gun) and uses very little air. The reason most people say this is an air eater is because it fires so fast and you don't even realize how fast you are shooting. The marker looks great and fires great with the lightest, shortest trigger pull in the world.

If you have any more questions about this marker that I have not answered then please send me a comment on this review and I will gladly answer it to help you make your decision on buying the Epiphany.

corndog007

P.S. Its as real as it gets.
Conclusion: Looks great, Fires Great, Is Great
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 5th, 2007 at 3:56 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Donster 125 Sunday, February 25th, 2007 | 7:32 pm PST
great review! very informative and helpful... too bad i dont speedball =P. keep up the great reviews!
   

corndog007 Sunday, February 25th, 2007 | 8:37 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Donster 125
great review! very informative and helpful... too bad i dont speedball =P. keep up the great reviews!
I don't speedball either, I just really enjoy having a fast gun on the field. My first marker was a Tippmann A-5 but I just felt I needed something faster.
Thank You for appreciating my review, most people just shove it in my face for writing in complete sentences and spelling words correctly.
   

ZackAttack28 Monday, February 26th, 2007 | 3:46 pm PST
I also think that this is a great review. I just might have to get one of these babies and slap my ion virtue into it............eventually
   

piemasterjordan Thursday, April 5th, 2007 | 4:10 pm PST
i got a epiphany ive had sooo many problems with it
1)strait out of the box it didn't work coz of lube on the noid or something
2)after i got that cleaned and i gassed it up it blew a gas line
3)first tourney i played it chewed up the firebolt
4)as soon as i get a replacement it blows the banjo valve this is a real pain coz its a different size from the ion and i need a replacement sent over form the states
5)now this was the final straw nothing to do with the gun but the quick fill on my air tank started leaking
this experience has taught me not to buy a gun out of the first batch made
   

Ajwf Saturday, April 14th, 2007 | 6:47 am PST
Haha, I think the saying goes "floats like a butterfly, stings like a bee."
   

corndog007 Wednesday, April 18th, 2007 | 6:07 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Ajwf
Haha, I think the saying goes "floats like a butterfly, stings like a bee."
wow, i dont think it really matters but whatever if you have OCD oh well. By the way i hope you didnt rate my review as innacurate or something because if you did your retarded.
   

paint-buzz2 Monday, April 30th, 2007 | 8:26 pm PST
Thanks for the info. really helpfull and i think im goin 2 buy this thing!

yep ...
   

corndog007 Tuesday, May 1st, 2007 | 7:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by paint-buzz2
Thanks for the info. really helpfull and i think im goin 2 buy this thing!

yep ...


Cool, im glad i actually helped someone with something.
   

thegoat7676 Saturday, May 19th, 2007 | 12:51 pm PST
I have a question for the writer of this. I found a used epiphany for 220, a used ion for 100, and an A-5 with flatline for 200. What should I do? I liked the A-5 because I play mostly woods ball, but I don't want to be another one of those guys. But then, I was thinking is it better to buy an Ion and spend 120 in upgrades. I already have a freak kit with stainless steel inserts. I'm stuck, what do you think I should do?
   

Paintballmania5 Friday, May 25th, 2007 | 6:42 pm PST
Get a VS3!!
   

fryballer Saturday, May 26th, 2007 | 10:06 am PST
good review. i just have one question. do you need to take the trigger frame and the bolt housing apart to clean the bolt, like an ion, or can you take it out the back of the bold housing like a shocker. because that is the worst part of the ion design.
   

corndog007 Saturday, May 26th, 2007 | 4:40 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by thegoat7676
I have a question for the writer of this. I found a used epiphany for 220, a used ion for 100, and an A-5 with flatline for 200. What should I do? I liked the A-5 because I play mostly woods ball, but I don't want to be another one of those guys. But then, I was thinking is it better to buy an Ion and spend 120 in upgrades. I already have a freak kit with stainless steel inserts. I'm stuck, what do you think I should do?

Sorry about the wait, my computer was down. Personally i would purchase the ion and spend the 120 on upgrades, maybe get a virtue or something. There is nothing wrong with the ion, its just the epiphany has an aluminium frame, better trigger, feedneck, and better looks (i think), and an upgraded firebolt. Both the regs suck on the the epiphany and ion, but i would not go with the a-5 (although i havent used a flatline). I have owned all three and say its really your descision. You just need to decide on what you need and dont need and what fits you.
   

corndog007 Saturday, May 26th, 2007 | 4:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by fryballer
good review. i just have one question. do you need to take the trigger frame and the bolt housing apart to clean the bolt, like an ion, or can you take it out the back of the bold housing like a shocker. because that is the worst part of the ion design.

Unfortunatly, yes, you take the epiphany apart just like the ion, but the plus is that dirt and mud cannot enter through the back but must go through the frame (which is basically impossible, so the bolt stays real clean :)
   

Black! Panther! Tuesday, May 29th, 2007 | 5:19 pm PST
OK im having a hard time to decide between three guns i really like .. ok theres the VS3 . the ION and the EPIPHANY and im stuck and i dont want to spend more then 400 bucks on a gun (epiphany bout 400) i usauly play speedball at pro fields and i want a pretty fast gun but i need some advice . thanks
Last edited on Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 at 5:27 pm PST
   

Black! Panther! Tuesday, May 29th, 2007 | 5:20 pm PST
OK im having a hard time to decide between three guns i really like .. ok theres the VS3 . the ION and the EPIPHANY and im stuck and i dont want to spend more then 400 bucks on a gun (epiphany bout 400) i usauly play fast ball at pro fields and i want a pretty fast gun but i need some advice . thanks
   

corndog007 Thursday, May 31st, 2007 | 3:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Black! Panther!
OK im having a hard time to decide between three guns i really like .. ok theres the VS3 . the ION and the EPIPHANY and im stuck and i dont want to spend more then 400 bucks on a gun (epiphany bout 400) i usauly play fast ball at pro fields and i want a pretty fast gun but i need some advice . thanks

If it is speed u r looking for then i would purchase the Ion and slap in a Virtue board (25+bps), but if you play tournaments most only allow up to 15bps and no ramping. If you play walk ons or something then no one really cares how fast your gun shoots. If you are playing tourneys though i would buy the Epiphany (17bps) because of the better trigger, bigger guard and more durable aluminium body. I have never used a VS3 but i hear it is pretty popular. However i also hear from some people that is a Pilot remastered and the Pilot is almost impossible to walk. Like i always tell people; it is really your descision, you just need to figure out your needs and pick the gun that best suits them. Also do your research on the markers you are thinking about and read many reviews because some are innaccurate and if possible try to get your hands on them to test fire them. :) Good Luck
   

weltsnbrusis Friday, July 6th, 2007 | 6:18 pm PST
an epiphany is just an upgraded ion with the best upgrades that you will need (feedneck, freak kit, trigger, alluminum frame, on off, a better bolt, and a secksay body! If you think that you would buy and ion and get all of these upgrades, just get an epiphany. or just get the dangerous power fusion =D
   

wombizle Saturday, July 21st, 2007 | 11:48 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Black! Panther!
OK im having a hard time to decide between three guns i really like .. ok theres the VS3 . the ION and the EPIPHANY and im stuck and i dont want to spend more then 400 bucks on a gun (epiphany bout 400) i usauly play fast ball at pro fields and i want a pretty fast gun but i need some advice . thanks

dont get a vs3 get a vs2. the vs3's body doesnt accept all barrels, and the rocking trigger is pointless, and not allowed in the psp. my team used vs2's for spyder cup, and they worked great. it shoots like my timmy; not like the previous spyders. I still have mine, because we are inthe november finals, but i will probably keep it, because i really like it. and for $175 new, it is the cheapest, and you dont need any up's to make it shoot well.

if you want somethign a little more high tech, where you will have dwell options, etc, get the epiphany. it is much better than the ion, and is great, but is over twice as much as a vs2. if you bought a vs2, and added $200 of ups (same price as epiphany) you could get a tadao board, reg adaptor, on/off asa, reg and feedneck. making it one hell of a gun.

bottom line, the epiphay is the best of the 3 by far, but the vs2 is the best bang for your buck
   

Feight Wednesday, August 8th, 2007 | 8:44 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Paintballmania5
Get a VS3!!
Don't get a VS3 over this marker!
   

piemasterjordan Saturday, August 11th, 2007 | 2:41 am PST
dont listen to these guys get the PMR
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media