paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on aaron_pb_lover's Review / Comments on aaron_pb_lover's Review / Comments on aaron_pb_lover's Review / Comments on aaron_pb_lover's Review

Comments on aaron_pb_lover's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

aaron_pb_lover Thursday, March 8th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo, Reloader B
Marker Setup: 06 SP Ion
Blackheart Board
14 In. Progressive Barrel
Q-Lock Feedneck
Check-It On/Off
Virtue Ion Lazer Eyes
Eclipse QEV
Vicious Scythe Trigger
Halo
68/45 Draxxus HPA Tank
Strengths: strong-ness
Lid
Speed i guess
Weaknesses: Drive thing
Face plate and board
Review: the draxxus pulse is a good hopper if you have a ridiculously fast gun and if you have the RF chip installed. The lid is alright because of the magnets. Without the RF chip installed it really isn't much better than a halo. It is fast but you can only really take advantage of that if you are shooting like 20 something BPS and i cant do that because i play in tournaments anyway.That whole removable feeding mechanism is very hard to get out. Also, this is my major complaint, i played a tourney recently and it was raining a little and the inside of the faceplate got some water in it and it also got a lot of condensation in it, which a halo never does. Anyway it fried the board and i now i need to get it fixed and draxxus is getting sued and whatnot so it is herd to get in contact with them.
Conclusion: unless you are shooting more than 20 BPS and are going to buy the RF chip There is no need to have this just buy a halo for a lot less and it works just as well and doesn't get fried because of a little rain.
Rating:
5 out of 10
 

Review Comments
bigwood212 Friday, March 9th, 2007 | 4:28 pm PST
Dispute:
Its not hard to get in contact with them at all. The phone number is in the back of the instructions. All you gotta do is call it. DXS is ProCap. In case you didnt know. Sueing them will have no effect on the fact that they answer the phone there. They make other stuff. Also if you go to the company website they give you an email adress to. I emailed them and they sent me an email back in 2 days telling me how to send in my loader and just right whats wrong with it and a return adress. I got it back with a new shell in 4 days total from the day it left my hands. Your review is bull. You gave it a 5 cause you played in the rain and it broke and it goes really fast but you dont need to. lol. It does exactly what its made to do. Thats like saying i give my rail a 5 cause i wet the board and it broke and it shoots 30 bps but i dont need that.
   

bigwood212 Friday, March 9th, 2007 | 4:34 pm PST
Also the pulse has a lot on the halo. Faster, removable tray, stronger, and the pulse feeds in real time with the rf chip. How can you rate the halo better? And how can you state the removable drive tray is a weekness because its hard to remove? HA! Its a benifite either way cause others dont have it.
   

mtbrdude Monday, March 12th, 2007 | 7:12 pm PST
5/10 isn't a bad score... it's average. why do people always forget this? and this is also an experience shared by MANY other people, go read the posts on pbnation. there's no reason to dispute this.

the pulse is having a crapload of problems that the halo never faced... i'm sick and tired of people backing up crappy products just so they don't feel stupid about buying a piece of crap.
Last edited on Monday, March 12th, 2007 at 6:14 pm PST
   

pulseisbetter13 Monday, March 12th, 2007 | 7:12 pm PST
"That whole removable feeding mechanism is very hard to get out."

NO, it's not. After the first try, it is very easy to get out.

"unless you are shooting more than 20 BPS and are going to buy the RF chip There is no need to have this just buy a halo for a lot less and it works just as well and doesn't get fried because of a little rain."

First off, the RF chip is an accesory, you don't need it to work the loader. Secondly, I got my PULSE for 140, Halos are like 120,theres not that big a difference. Let's think, an OK Halo for $120, or an awesome Pulse for $140. Yah. That's what I thought.
Last edited on Thursday, March 29th, 2007 at 12:43 pm PST
   

heysueskreesto2 Monday, March 12th, 2007 | 8:34 pm PST
mtbrdude- do i need to point out the fact that the pulse is new. the halo has been around for years, so they have all the bugs fixed out (except the shells and feednecks still tend to break). the fact that its a new product that doesnt have all the kinks worked out doesnt automatically make the halo better.

the pulse is very fast and most are pretty reliable.

i see where you are coming from saying that 5 is the average score, but sadly it is not here on pbr. people have extorted the score system to the point where 7 is considered bad lol. and the pulse, i may add, is not an average hopper, and i do disagree with this review.

i honestly do not see how you can expect to play in the rain and not get something thats not covered messed up. water screws up electronics. learn to be more careful with your paintball stuff, and do not expect to play in the rain uncovered and always get away with everything in pristine condition.

also, this hopper was built for speed, but you decided to purchase it over a halo most likely partly because of that. you should not take off because a hopper is faster than you need. all that means is that it will be even more consistent at the rate you are capped at in tournies because it can easily outdo it.
   

mtbrdude Tuesday, March 13th, 2007 | 11:25 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by heysueskreesto2
mtbrdude- do i need to point out the fact that the pulse is new. the halo has been around for years, so they have all the bugs fixed out (except the shells and feednecks still tend to break). the fact that its a new product that doesnt have all the kinks worked out doesnt automatically make the halo better.

.


so what if the pulse is new... it MIGHT be better next year once bugs are worked out(if it survives the lawsuit) but until the the Halo and Reloaders are STILL better hoppers. i mean, whoe ver heard of a halo breaking because of built up static electricity?
   

bigwood212 Wednesday, March 14th, 2007 | 3:31 pm PST
i have a halo and a pulse. My halo doesnt work. Broke the first time i use it. I didnt want to get a new board. You make no sense. Your saying the pulse is not better than the halo cause its faster and you dont need that and the tray is hard to get out but halo doesnt have that. No matter what these things would make it better than the halo. Even if your not useing em. Your supose to buy the hopper you need based on what it does. Also halo is not a lot less money. And whoever told you they break because of built up static electricity is an idiot. I happen to be an electricle engineer. Im telling your this is not likely. Even your chip breaking from built up water condensation is not likely. It would have to be a lot of water in a concentrated area since this is only 9v. And last but not least. How do you know your halo doesnt get water in there???? You cant see the board on the halo. Its covered by a plate. You just see the light. Your full of bull. Your the hater here. All these problems are caused by young kids that dont know how to handle this kind of thing and they think they do.
   

pulseisbetter13 Thursday, March 29th, 2007 | 12:53 pm PST
I have a few things to say. First, the Pulse CAN take a little rain. I was playing rec-ball in POURING rain, and I swear, my Pulse was fine. No problems. Secondly, 5/10 is NOT an average score. Since when is a 50 percent on anything average? 7/10-8/10 is closer to average.
   

pbfreak555 Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007 | 3:28 pm PST
Dispute:
fried because of rain? last tournament i played in it was pouring rain and it eventually snowed. i had my pulse out there the WHOLE time. it still works fine. You must have been playing in the bathtub.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media