paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on 4skins23's Review / Comments on 4skins23's Review / Comments on 4skins23's Review / Comments on 4skins23's Review / Comments on 4skins23's Review

Comments on 4skins23's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

4skins23 Thursday, March 15th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month49 of 193 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Angels, Shockers, and Autocockers.
Marker Setup: WDP Angel A4-Fly graphite/ black fade, Angel Air, Phat barrel kit, and Pulse loader.
WDP Angel IR-3 Gloss Black as back-up.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, of course!!!
Strengths: New technology, weight, size.
Weaknesses: Quality control!!!!!!!!!!! Poor customer service. I personally don't like the huge asa.
Review: I bought this marker as a gift for my son in March. We owned it for about a week before we decided to take it back to the paintball store we bought it from. I see from the recent reviews that other people had better luck than I did. I hope I just received a "lemon".
I bought this from our local paintball store as a gift for my son. When we got it back home I checked it out better. I am impressed with the locking case it comes in. I like the price. I read the manual. It was pretty cut and dry, easy to understand and adjust settings. I was really impressed when we turned the eyes off and dry fired it, we then tried the different modes. Very nice.
This was when it all went bad. We put air and a Pulse loader to it. It did air up no problems. I put old paint in it and it chopped. I did not even get 10 balls shot thru it. No problem, it was probably the old paint. Bought a fresh case,no dimples etc...Chop, chop, chop. I tried it slowly it still chopped.
When buying this at the paintball store I ran into a guy who had said that I would have to turn up the bip as it is set super low from the factory. When resetting the board he said to raise the bip up alot because it is wrong from the factory. So, I tried that. It did not work. The very next day after buying it I had to take it back to be fixed from the paintball store where I bought it from.
I received it back a few days later and they said they talked to a tech and he walked them thru the problem. It was a setting of the dwell. When resetting the board the setting for dwell is 38, my board only resets to 28. So instead of replacing a defective board they just set it up to 38 manually. Keep in mind the dwell on this mini is adjustable from 1-40 and default setting is 38. So, you can only adjust one way really. From what I remember from the manual, the bip was the same way,adjustable from 1-40 and it's default had it set real low like 8 or something.I had also found out that I had the newer version 1.2 of the board so it was revised already. So then they shot 2 hoppers of paint thru it and said it was good.
My son went to the field the next day and of course it would not shoot, just chop, chop, chop. So I went into the board and made sure the settings were exactly as the manual says its supposed to be and tried shooting paint thru 1 ball at a time. I also turned the reg pressure down all the way the slow the bolt down. As I looked at it, it looked as if the ball would hit the detents and go up and try to feed back to the hopper. Exactly what it was doing. Back feeding into the hopper. At that point I tried taking the detents out to see if the spring tension was adjustable which it is not. so I cleaned them, and put them back together. Then I took the mini back to the store and demanded my money back. They finally let me exchange it for a different marker. They said they probably would not be selling anymore Minis because they don't want to lose all of their customers.
Since that whole experience, I have no big problems with the mini, it seems like a nice marker until you shoot paint thru it. If it wasn't for poor quality control, this review would be flip-flopped right now. But because my mini did not shoot even 1 ball at a time I gave gave this a 1. I also took into account that the default settings on the board were totally messed up straight from the factory. Also that customer service would not replace a defective board.
Conclusion: I will not recommend this product at this time. Wait six months to a year to see if this company gets all the bugs worked out before spending your hard earned money. Basically, it would not shoot paint so, a marker that won't shoot paint is just an expensive paper weight. It seems that mine may have been a lemon, but this review is based on my experience not everyone else's.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 15th, 2007 at 1:36 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
413sonix Thursday, March 15th, 2007 | 2:34 pm PST
Great, honest review man.
   

GodRoxMySox Thursday, March 15th, 2007 | 6:25 pm PST
Dispute:
Dude what are you talking about. Of course they will replace a defective board. I sent mine in and got my board replaced and so have several other people with defective boards. You should have at least called them and told them about it. And you cant say you couldnt find out how to contact them because their number is in the back of the manual their website is in the manual and their email is in their website. Don't just rely on the store for help, they probly only know jst as much as you about the mini because it is so new. Talk to the manufacturer for help and they will help. Im not trying to be rude its just if you would have tried a little harder to get help you would love the mini. This gun shoots ropes and in my opinion outshoots almost any gun if you use it right.
   

challes2000 Saturday, March 17th, 2007 | 9:10 am PST
I think this is a good review and shouldn't be disputed. The shop he bought it from contacted the manufacturer and it doesn't sound like he got the help he needed. They should have shipped him a new working marker and even given him a free gift for all the trouble. I know I personally would be very upset and give the same score of 1. When your putting out a new marker customer service is very important if your looking to get an excellent ( 10 ) rating.
   

4skins23 Sunday, March 18th, 2007 | 6:58 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by GodRoxMySox
Dude what are you talking about. Of course they will replace a defective board. I sent mine in and got my board replaced and so have several other people with defective boards. You should have at least called them and told them about it. And you cant say you couldnt find out how to contact them because their number is in the back of the manual their website is in the manual and their email is in their website. Don't just rely on the store for help, they probly only know jst as much as you about the mini because it is so new. Talk to the manufacturer for help and they will help. Im not trying to be rude its just if you would have tried a little harder to get help you would love the mini. This gun shoots ropes and in my opinion outshoots almost any gun if you use it right.


First off, I'd like to say part of the reason you buy from your local pb store is to have that lifetime labor for free. Second, Its new- it should work.
Compare that to a new car that you just got and the first day driving home breaks down on the side of the road. You get it towed back to the dealer and they fix it. You pick it up in a couple days and you get it home. Now you take it on a vacation the next day, but then it breaks down again once you are there. How would you rate that car? If not under contract, wouldn't you try to give it back?
Even though this marker isn't as expensive as a new car, $400 bucks is $400 bucks.



If there are flaws in a product, then here is where you should state them. Any product that has a flaw or problem, whether its corrected by customer service or not should be stated and and rated by you. In other words, alot of reviews state they had bad boards or whatever, they had to call customer service and get this or that replaced. They still give them a 10 because they are happy now their marker is working. THAT IS WRONG. You received a malfunctioning marker-grade it. Do not grade customer service.
People come here to read reviews about stuff they may want to buy: I know I don't take reviews seriously if its like, " I give it a 10 because customer service was great, because they replaced my board and barrel, and this and that and NOW it shoots ropes." or "after you up the barrel, and trigger frame it is great." Sorry, but thats not what I'm getting out of the box. I'm just getting a broke marker that needs to go back to the manufacterer.....
Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 7:10 am PST
   

chain hang Sunday, March 25th, 2007 | 3:35 pm PST
if it was cold out when u first used it that could have caused the chopping
   

benoit75 Saturday, March 31st, 2007 | 12:30 pm PST
Dispute:
just because he screwed his gun up doesnt make it the gun's faul or the company's
   

leslielam Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007 | 6:14 am PST
Your mini isn't the only one doing it, ours is smashing paint lke crazy, We contacted Paintball Solutions and sent the gun back. We're hoping they can fix the gun. We did the proper break in, fresh battery and paint and yes we have the milkshake in the halo syndrome. WE'RE hoping for the gun we read all the rave reviews about.
   

hushyomouf Friday, April 6th, 2007 | 7:03 pm PST
very descriptive and totally talked me out of buying a mini for a few months anyway. good review. stupid disputes with the exception of the first one, but I never contact the manufacturer either, thats why i by stuff from my local paintball shop so THEY can mess with the manufacturer and save me the headache. that and they are a sponser so i get a nice discount.
   

adds Tuesday, April 17th, 2007 | 5:39 pm PST
nice review...and you shouldnt be bashed for writing honestly. i had a defective board in my pmr aswell its not fun...some people are just unlucky
   

klank is here Saturday, April 21st, 2007 | 4:40 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by eric12994
YOU PROBALY DONT EVEN HAVE THIS GUN JUST SOME INSANE GUY BIENG WIERD
Your that guy.
   

thepipsqueak Thursday, April 26th, 2007 | 12:41 pm PST
Good review.
I'm glad you said your honest, and in depth opinion instead of posting one of those,
"OMG!!! I hateeee THIS GUnn I DiD eVerything Rite But iT JUST SUCKed!!!!" kind of reviews.
You've convinced convinced me to wait A while after this gun is released here to buy it. I mean I won't be buying it for a long time anyway cause im broke, but that's besides the point.
Good review.
   

paintballer585 Saturday, May 5th, 2007 | 4:29 pm PST
lolthisguyiscrazyloltheydontchop theyshoot
   

ion_boy Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007 | 9:58 pm PST
how do you rate the mini a 1!!!!??????
   

WillyW0nka Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007 | 5:21 am PST
Good review, I definately won't be buying a mini.
   

1ntens1ty Thursday, May 31st, 2007 | 8:52 pm PST
you probably got an early run mini and some of those had problems sooooo.... don't give something a one just because you got an early screw up, because the mini's are past their point of "breaking in" and are now much more quality controlled
   

walka Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 | 8:35 pm PST
good review and i don't think you should be ripped on for being honest i still would like a mini but i think i'm going to wait a few months
   

donny262007 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 | 12:39 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by 1ntens1ty
you probably got an early run mini and some of those had problems sooooo.... don't give something a one just because you got an early screw up, because the mini's are past their point of "breaking in" and are now much more quality controlled
He reviewed it with the product he recieved and the company did not help him out. Good review should not be diputed. Thanks I was thinking about buying one but not now
   

Deshi89 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 | 9:16 pm PST
i had 2 friends that got the mini less then a month after it came out and they had board problems, and they sent it back and the company fixed it..u should of contacted them directly..
   

ghillemonster Thursday, June 21st, 2007 | 6:25 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by benoit75
just because he screwed his gun up doesnt make it the gun's faul or the company's

QFT man, that is what i said to my self as i read it
Last edited on Thursday, June 21st, 2007 at 6:26 am PST
   

Dark Raityul Monday, July 9th, 2007 | 1:49 pm PST
The first batch of markers were faulty, and they asked the owners to return them to get a whole new mini.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media