paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Sam68's Review / Comments on Sam68's Review / Comments on Sam68's Review / Comments on Sam68's Review

Comments on Sam68's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Sam68 Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proteus
Marker Setup: Bob Long Marq 6
Strengths: Light
Great vision

Weaknesses: Single plain lense, fogging will happen
Review: First off I will start with the good, the mask is very light probably the lightest on the market and was my chief reason for buying this mask, that and I also think Dye makes the best paintball gear out there. Vision is also great because of the rounded protruding lens shape; I also think that the venting on this mask is great for talking and keeping cool. OK now for the bad first of all PRICE wow $100 bucks is a lot of cash for a mask and for this price I shouldnít have to do anything to make this mask perform better. Fogging is a huge problem with this mask I have only used a JT Proteus mask before this and it came with a duel lens, which never fogged up on me. The Dye only comes with a single plane lens, come on Dye for $100 bones this thing should come with your best HD duel plane lens which is what I had to go out and buy ($30) after the first time I tried to use this mask. I had the worst night of paintball in my life due to this crappy lens, so now I have a $130 mask that I still donít trust so next time I play I will bring my JT just in case this new lens doesnít solve my fogging problem. I have been told that the lens will solve the fogging problem but still should I have to go and buy a $30 lens right away.
Conclusion: Well the bottom line is if money is no concern ($100 + $30 for a new lens) and you want the lightest mask out there, go and buy this mask and an HD duel lens because you will kick yourself if you try to play with the crappy one that comes with it. I will update this review after I play with the new lens, god I hope it works or I will be going back to my JT. I hate to do it but I have to rate this mask a 6 for the lens, but if they put the good HD lens in it would probably be a 9, price being the 1 point deduction because even with a good lens $100 bones is a little much.

P.S. I also tried some anti fogging stuff that the manager at my local field said was ďthe SH_T ď and it didnít even help.

I have now played with the new duel HD lens and it works great just like my JT lens NO FOGGING, so like I said it should just come with this lens to begin with, if it had I would have given it a 9. I was also told that the i3 PRO used to come with the duel lens not sure if that was a first run on this years mask then they went back to the single HD lens, or this meant that last years i3 came with a duel lens. Possibly some of you got the duel lens with the earlier 07 Pro's if this was the case. Someone disputed my review thinking that I may have the i3 and not the PRO but as for mine it is an 07 i3 PRO, with the soft ears, so I don't have last years i3, I do know the difference.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 9:34 am PST
 

Review Comments
lear-pilot Sunday, March 25th, 2007 | 11:53 am PST
Are you sure you have the Die i3 PRO with the high def lens and not the normal Die i3, the PRO is the only mask with a High Def lens, you cant get a HD duel lens and for sure its not only $30, you can get yellow lens and stuff but they are NOT HD
   

Sam68 Monday, April 2nd, 2007 | 9:21 am PST
Like I said it comes with a single lens not the duel, it is a high def lens but not duel layered, now that I have added the duel HD lens the goggles are great, I have played with them now with the new lens which was $27 bucks $30 with tax, so I now have a total investment of $130.00 in this mask. Yes I do have the brand new Die i3 PRO 07, not the Die i3.
   

Stalkin Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007 | 8:47 am PST
I have the exact same issues with the lense. I, also, thought that it came stock with a thermal lense.

I ordered and received the mask directly from Dye. I cracked that bad boy open and instantly noticed that it didn't have any lense protection. Looking past the really pretty amber tint - I saw that it was also single layer.

This is what I got from Dye in response to my question about the stock lense.

Hello,
The I3 pro comes with a high definition single lens which has a scratch resistant coating, UV protection and optimal lens clarity. Thank you for supporting Dye and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Aurora Boling
Customer Service & Retail Sales
Dye Precision, Inc.
(858) 536-5183 ext. 229
service@dyeprecision.com


Last edited on Thursday, April 5th, 2007 at 8:55 am PST
   

Sam68 Wednesday, April 25th, 2007 | 11:46 pm PST
Bunch of BS if you ask me $100 bucks for a mask and it comes with a single lens, like I said for that much money it should come with the best lens they make HD duel, o well live and learn.
   

PNTBLLRDYE Sunday, May 27th, 2007 | 7:10 am PST
dude, this is probley the best mask on the market, there is nearly nothing wrong with it....THE LENS WORK FINE
   

Sam68 Monday, May 28th, 2007 | 10:22 pm PST
Dude itís a review, read it, YES NEARLY nothing wrong, so tell us what does nearly mean, my lens fogged up until I put a duel lens in yeah its nearly perfect only the lens sucks, all I am saying is for $100 bucks it should come with their best lens, hey genius maybe we have different weather where I live and my lens fogged easier, itís a review do you want me to lie to make you feel better about your mask, others have had the same thing happen to theirs, get a life fool.
Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 10:24 pm PST
   

paintballer9876 Wednesday, July 25th, 2007 | 8:22 pm PST
Man im glad that i bought vents avatar, smoke double lense and a clear single lense stock with cases for both mask and other lense all for $80.
   

rustilldown_7 Sunday, September 16th, 2007 | 7:05 pm PST
I bought my mask of $80 at NPPL HB and have been using them ever since. I personally believe this is a great mask. My brother also got one and neither one of us has ever had problems with the lens fogging up. Just for others to know.
Last edited on Sunday, September 16th, 2007 at 7:19 pm PST
   

rustilldown_7 Thursday, November 8th, 2007 | 12:20 pm PST
Okay so last time I went paintballing it was chilly and my mask did fog for a little while. I didn't do anything to it and after about five minutes it just disappeared.
   

McEd Sunday, April 6th, 2008 | 8:57 pm PST
great review even though i do not fully support your rating
   

tylerdurden999 Thursday, June 19th, 2008 | 1:55 pm PST
to be honest i think your rating was quite harsh, its expensive but you get what you pay for with dye. best mask iv used, despite lense change, performance more than makes up for it
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media