paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on mystery sniper's Review / Comments on mystery sniper's Review / Comments on mystery sniper's Review / Comments on mystery sniper's Review

Comments on mystery sniper's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

mystery sniper Monday, April 16th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
B.T. Apex Barrel
J J Ceramic
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR-2
B.T Apex Barrel
Draxxus Pulse Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Midnights
Marbilizer
Rec.Sport
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Price
Length
NOT accurate
NO Distance
Review: Most people keep giving this barrel a good review, it's not that great. Yeah, it looks good, but everyone saying this barrel is accurate, quiet, jus plain awesome..don't know what they are talking about.

I've been playing with the Apex for 1 year now, and when i saw the new smart parts barrel, i got it. If your going to spend more than $50 on a barrel, it should be accurate, quiet, and actually RIFLED, it says rifled for a reason, but its not, its smooth bore. And accurate, yeah rite, i might as well have been using a stock barrel.

Then theres distance. wait, for this barrel.....what distance..... to hit a target at 20ft, you have to lob them, i guess if your going over a wall, but for sniping...NOOOO!!!
Conclusion: Dont buy it, its not worth it,save your money and get something like an apex or flatline if you want an accurate barrel.
Rating:
2 out of 10
 

Review Comments
dmz boy Monday, April 16th, 2007 | 2:41 pm PST
mmk apexs and flatlines are not accurate ive used them both.....do you run on c02?...what was your velocity set at...length isnt a weakness you bought it you knew it was 20 inches...this barrel is just fine
   

pork wiz Monday, April 16th, 2007 | 3:39 pm PST
Dispute:
dude, no effense or anything, but I think you should rethink your review. I own this barrel and I personally think it is awesome. anyways, i think you may not have done somethings to make this barrel reach its best performance. for example, what was your velocity? how old was the paint that you were using? was the paint that you were using have the same bore match to your barrel? maybe you chopped a ball without knowing, and you didn't clean it.
Last edited on Monday, April 16th, 2007 at 4:31 pm PST
   

Donster 125 Sunday, April 29th, 2007 | 2:20 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pork wiz
dude, no effense or anything, but I think you should rethink your review. I own this barrel and I personally think it is awesome. anyways, i think you may not have done somethings to make this barrel reach its best performance. for example, what was your velocity? how old was the paint that you were using? was the paint that you were using have the same bore match to your barrel? maybe you chopped a ball without knowing, and you didn't clean it.

care to write a review and share your thoughts on this product?
   

cbean Wednesday, May 16th, 2007 | 6:55 am PST
Smart Parts must have changed their designs or something... People seem to think that this barrel is supposed to be rifled, but I've found no reference to it. In fact, it almost looks like this barrel doesn't even exist outside of Ebay. It's not on the SP website, which is REALLY really wierd.

I purchased one recently, haven't taken it out yet, but it's definitely made by smart parts, and nothing on my packaging indicated that it was rifled. The only non-ebay link I've found is this:
http://www.tippmannparts.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=catalog.pr
odInfo&productID=1327&categoryID=27

Where are people getting the idea that this is a rifled barrel? And while I'm at it, has anyone asked SmartParts via email or phone why this barrel isn't on their website? Just really really strange, ya' know?
   

S.P.E.D Monday, July 2nd, 2007 | 11:35 am PST
Dispute:
........no...... your review is in the wrong place. this barrel is hella more accurate then the stock barrel.. .not at much as an all american or something... but its not bad at all

if you have to lob it 20 feet? then crank your vlocity above 100fps and youll be happy with it.. i promise
   

Ravenwulfe Friday, August 3rd, 2007 | 10:49 am PST
It is rifled, only very slightly. It's not like hammerhead where it's groves. If you look down the barrel, you'll see little lines that get caught in the light. That's the rifling. It's not supposed to be major.

Flatlines aren't the most accurate barrels for the very reason they're able to get more range, the back spin. It throws way more factors into play, such as additional stress on the ball, flight characteristics are changed due to backspin, it's affected more by wind resistance because the spin and ball deformities are catching the air and slightly changing the flight path... you get the idea. Great for covering fire and keeping heads down, not so much for accurate, controlled shots. I can't say I can say for sure the Apex because I've yet to shoot one yet or talked people people who've played a long time with them all that often.

As well, the distance for this barrel is identical to any other barrel that isn't a Flatline or Apex, or under 8 inches. It is, however, accurate for a one piece barrel and I have used it for sniping and been able to constantly hit where my red dot was sighted, as long as I didn't have to angle the shot significantly.

Perhaps you need to check your own equipment, your paint, and play more before making judgment calls on things that you haven't used for over a month and have findings that differ greatly from other reviews. Unless you type out detailed findings and give reasonable explanations of what you didn't like and what went wrong, then it's hard to take things like this seriously or help you troubleshoot.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media