paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on K-Red's Review / Comments on K-Red's Review / Comments on K-Red's Review / Comments on K-Red's Review / Comments on K-Red's Review

Comments on K-Red's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

K-Red Saturday, April 21st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing quite like it, actually.
Marker Setup: Stock set-up. Whatever they had on it when I shot it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel, maybe a bolt that doesn't scare small children.
Strengths: The very name strikes fear into people
Ludicrously fast
Weaknesses: Obscene speed and accuracy
Some 13-year-old kids use these
Burns through air
Review: When I started playing, I used a pump. What the heck has gotten into these parents with tons of money when little Johnny comes to them and says "Mommy, I would like to play paintball"? I went to a game where some 13-year-old-kid was using one that he got for his birthday. This kid was pwning! You tend to hear David and Goliath stories about this situation where someone with a 98 custom takes the kid down. Try doing that with a pump!
After a few games he let me try it out. I would love this gun if it hadn't caused me so much pain. The accuracy is good, the range is decent, the speed is tremendous, the weight is exceptional. The only things I really did not like were the fact that it chops A LOT of paint if you don't have a fast hopper, and it is theoretically possible to kill a 9 oz tank in under 60 seconds (We actually did try this).
The kid was very nice, and had a nasty habit for apologizing every time he hit anyone. I was a little ticked that he had an obscenely powerful marker that he never had to pay for, but I'm glad that all my markers combined never cost me as much as his parents probably paid for that thing. I'm also glad my markers don't use up CO2 as fast as his.
Conclusion: This is really cool. Not $2,000 cool, but it's still cool.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Terminate Sunday, April 22nd, 2007 | 3:00 am PST
Dispute:
ummmmm you can't shoot any angel on CO2 as far as i know...
   

irsd123 Sunday, April 22nd, 2007 | 1:09 pm PST
Angels cannot run on CO2, and since all modern angels come with eyes, the speed of the hopper is irrelevant to the chop-rate of the paint. I doubt anyone who really had three years of paintball experience would not know this.
   

K-Red Sunday, April 22nd, 2007 | 5:48 pm PST
It was probably nitrogen. I don't know. I only tested it.
   

irsd123 Monday, April 23rd, 2007 | 9:22 am PST
Three years of paintballing and you cannot tell the difference between CO2 and Compressed air tanks?
   

K-Red Monday, April 23rd, 2007 | 11:58 am PST
Three years of back woods, no speedball, and not one gun that drops anymore than 5 bps. My primary is a Piranha VTL, and I haven't had it long or used it much. Most of what I learn is from scenes like this where somebody lets me try out their marker, and this kid didn't know much about it himself.
I really don't like Angels, or anything like them for that matter, but this was a cool gun.
   

irsd123 Tuesday, April 24th, 2007 | 7:45 am PST
Even back woods players use HPA, it isn't just a speedball thing, as ANYONE would know. anyone with more than about two weeks of paintball experience, or anyone who visited a pro shop would be able to tell the difference between CO2 and HPA.
   

K-Red Tuesday, April 24th, 2007 | 10:06 pm PST
Never needed it, until now I've been happy with pumps. And I'm pretty sure that ANYBODY isn't going to walk into a pro shop and have the guy behind the counter say something like "Hi. Welcome to the pro shop. By the way, this is an HPA tank, and here's how it's different from CO2"
The guys I have played with, on and off, for roughly three years have similar markers to me, the most modern being an A-5, and I'm pretty sure that one uses CO2, and if I'm wrong it's probably got more to do with the fact that I've never used it. I have never needed to know the difference because I have never needed to goods for it.
So I didn't know, so what? My not knowing has little to nothing to do with my experience, it has more to do with my lack of buying power, and a crippled curiosity when dealing with anything higher than my limit.
What do you want from me? Edit the article to say "burns air fast compared to CO2 in my markers"? I can do that.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 25th, 2007 at 7:49 pm PST
   

irsd123 Thursday, May 10th, 2007 | 12:40 pm PST
Firstly, the tanks most often used by woods ballers (aluminum) cost about $45-50 each, so you cannot argue cost.

Secondly, anyone who as ever done any research about paintball (for example, looking for which gun to buy) would know about HPA, and it is unbelievably unlikely that you have never, in three years of buying and shopping for paintball gear would be able to easily recognize an HPA tank.

I knew what one was before i even knew bought my first gun. and my first gun? An A-5 for woodsball.
Last edited on Thursday, May 10th, 2007 at 12:49 pm PST
   

K-Red Friday, May 25th, 2007 | 9:35 pm PST
First of all, I didn't really argue cost. I just never had a marker in the passed three years that needed it to run, because all the ones I cared about were low-end markers. In the town I live the only store that does anything paintball is an Army/Navy store, they fill CO2, and only started carrying HPA tanks last year when high-end markers started catching on in the surrounding area. They still don't have a compressor for which to fill them.

My first gun was a PGP I bought from them. I didn't research it, I just bought that, a mask, and some 10-round tubes of paint. I played with some friends with mostly Brass Eagle Talons.
I later bough a P68SC from them, then a Kingman Hammer. The Hammer is what I've been using most often for the passed three years. When I carpooled with friends to any kind of field I usually borrowed a friends Spyder Compact. Prior to writing this review, I hadn't been to a field in almost two years.

I know what an HPA tank is now, not just because of you, but because I'm considering upgrading to some higher-level marker that will not run off CO2, and even then I'll end up using it rarely, because the closest place that fills them is forty miles in either direction from where I live (Yeah, I live out in the sticks).
Last edited on Friday, May 25th, 2007 at 9:38 pm PST
   

Fox Azure Friday, June 22nd, 2007 | 12:24 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by irsd123
Firstly, the tanks most often used by woods ballers (aluminum) cost about $45-50 each, so you cannot argue cost.

Secondly, anyone who as ever done any research about paintball (for example, looking for which gun to buy) would know about HPA, and it is unbelievably unlikely that you have never, in three years of buying and shopping for paintball gear would be able to easily recognize an HPA tank.

I knew what one was before i even knew bought my first gun. and my first gun? An A-5 for woodsball.


Alright buddy, lay off. First, he pwned you in that last comment, second I know him IRL, he's not lying. It was a stupid mistake, I personally have never seen an HPA tank either. Forgiveness is a virtue K? =)
   

irsd123 Monday, July 2nd, 2007 | 1:31 pm PST
"pwnd" Ha, very funny. How nice of you to drop by to continue a pointless argument that had already ended.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media