paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on kidzwitgunz's Review / Comments on kidzwitgunz's Review / Comments on kidzwitgunz's Review / Comments on kidzwitgunz's Review / Comments on kidzwitgunz's Review

Comments on kidzwitgunz's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

kidzwitgunz Saturday, May 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantoms - better in all ways but cost more
PGP - Close in price and performance
Talon/Blade - Much, Much better
Marker Setup: CCM SS-25 with wevo stick feed and 13cu/3000
Phantom, 6 in stealth barrel, Wevo undercocking kit, Vert Air
VSC Phantom, 14 in stealth barrel
Custom modified VSC Maverick with 12 gram bucket, TASO barrel, t stock (in pics)

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - only if you don't like the decibels this one puts out!
Detent Rings - A must to prevent roll-outs
Hardware Store Springs, AC Spring kit, Phantom Spring kit - even with the adjustable bolt you need these for consistent velocity
Strengths: Perfect starting in pump, nelson based marker
Cheap
Easy to Work on
No mods needed
Weaknesses: Stock barrel really loud
Very hard to find parts
All mods must be "home-made"
Review: Well I finally have decided to write my first review on here, and I decided to start with probably the best 70 dollars i ever spent in this sport next to my Profiler! I purchased my first maverick about two years ago when I decided I wanted to start dabbling more heavily in pump play, both open and stock-class! While I liked the looks of the more expensive markers in this style of play, my budget could not afford buying a "higher" end nelson pump so I went with the Maverick! I would have to say that it was a good deal!

The Maverick is more cost effective for beginner players in three main areas:
1. the overall cost is about two thirds less than even a used Phantom!
2. These markers are made out of high strength aluminum and plastic so they can take a beating!
3. Because they are so cheap you can take a dremel, etc to them without worrying about messing up an expensive marker!

Unfortunately these strengths can also be weaknesses too!
1. As far as "style" goes there is not a lot you can do to short of annoing it, yet why spend the money on a "starter" pump!
2. Availability of parts, because ACI/PMI went kaput, finding replacement parts is nearly impossible!
3. After-market upgrades are limited to what one can do with a dremel and you only have two choices for barrels, either jj or TASO

Next I will discuss how the maverick does in the field! When you get your marker the first thing to do is take either detent rings, or electrical tape and place them in the barrel to prevent roll-outs! Not only do roll-outs waste paint and make it hard to shoot at people but they also decrease efficiency, accuracy, and consistency! After that slap on some CO2 and mow some faces!

I have found that the maverick's stock barrel is extremely loud compared to other barrels and this can be both good and bad! The good is some players, especially newer one's mistakenly believe that th louder a barrel sounds the more pain is involved so it is nice to scare other's. the bad is that one's position is IMMEDIATELY given away to the other team, especially in the woods! Also the Maverick's springs must be adjusted along with the bolt to insure the best velocity!

After playing with this marker for several years I have grown fond of using it even though my inventory now includes ss25's, phantoms, etc! I like that I can play really really rough with it in and not worry about breaking anything! While you can expect a little variation in velocity, after breaking in the valve it is not impossible to attain +/- 5 fps at the chrono. And as far as accuracy goes when set to the proper velocity with good paint/bore match it shoots as "ball-on-ball" as any other marker out there! (As anyone will tell you who has played this sport for long enough, other than creating backspin a la "flatline" there is no other way to get accuracy and if set at the same velocity ALL markers will have the same accuracy!
Conclusion: My final recommendation is that if one is interested in getting into pump this is by far the cheapest, most effective starter pump to begin entrance into the wonderful world of pump play! While comparing this marker to it's higher-end brethren like the Phantom, sniper's, buzzards, etc. is tempting to do the truth is that just like any entrance level marker it is not as good. Yet is the greatest way to learn what you as a player like, whether or not you wish to stay in pump and how you like to play with a pump! I recommend the Maverick to anyone who enjoys the challenge of playing with a pump marker in today's world of high-end phaser guns or to anyone looking to practice their mod-skills before they butcher their beautiful Phantom! Because this marker is not on par with "higher" end pumps yet because of its "cheap-ness" i am giving this marker an 8 because it does what it should, get people into pump, yet it does have issues of its own and IS BY NO MEANS, perfect for the demanding pump enthusiast!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 29th, 2007 at 3:32 pm PST
 

Review Comments
3022 Sunday, May 27th, 2007 | 4:31 am PST
Dispute:
I really do not think that this is perfect starter marker and that there are no mods needed as you say.

You mus have Detent Rings to prevent roll-outs. You mus have siphon or anti-siphon tube in tank to guarantee good gas/liquid CO2 separation (= no velocity spikes, which is not only good for accuracy, but even essential for safety). The tank in backbottle setup does get in the way of aiming, so you need either a raised sight or bottomline for aiming - what is basic thing in pump play. And as you have already said it si Very hard to find parts for this marker. So perfect starter marker? Not a bit.

Along your own setup, i think that you in reality know all these limitations very good... but you are perhaps yet not ready write up realy objective review, of your favourite marker.

ACI Maverick can be really great marker, after some homemade mods he can be equivalent to much more expensive Phantoms or Carters, but there are simply many shortcomings and flaws out of the box.
   

PeeWee101 Sunday, May 27th, 2007 | 10:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by 3022
I really do not think that this is perfect starter marker and that there are no mods needed as you say.

You mus have Detent Rings to prevent roll-outs. You mus have siphon or anti-siphon tube in tank to guarantee good gas/liquid CO2 separation (= no velocity spikes, which is not only good for accuracy, but even essential for safety). The tank in backbottle setup does get in the way of aiming, so you need either a raised sight or bottomline for aiming - what is basic thing in pump play. And as you have already said it si Very hard to find parts for this marker. So perfect starter marker? Not a bit.

Along your own setup, i think that you in reality know all these limitations very good... but you are perhaps yet not ready write up realy objective review, of your favourite marker.

ACI Maverick can be really great marker, after some homemade mods he can be equivalent to much more expensive Phantoms or Carters, but there are simply many shortcomings and flaws out of the box.


Man where do I begin. I "MUST " have detent rings??? NO that it all your opinion as are all of your objections to this review. I have shot pumps for 15+ years. Must have a syphon or anti-syphon tank????? ... no Your wrong on that also been using standard tanks for ever. The back bottle setup has been a long standing setup with thousands & thousands of markers (phantoms, gray ghost, bushmasters, spartans & the list goes on). The mav is the best low cost starter pump out there at the moment. Parts are not all that hard to find couple sites on line have repair kits.
   

3022 Monday, May 28th, 2007 | 7:52 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by PeeWee101

... Must have a syphon or anti-syphon tank????? ... no Your wrong on that also been using standard tanks for ever. The back bottle setup has been a long standing setup with thousands & thousands of markers (phantoms, gray ghost, bushmasters, spartans & the list goes on).


Sure, you can even play with hot marker, it makes no difference... You do really not need consistent velocity - +/- 60 fps, does it matter? Evidently not for dangerous fools.

In old days there were even not paintball masks, but after time, it has been clear that it is necessity. And as well, from some time, it has been clear that Backbottle setup + CA = (anti)siphon tube is necessity.

If you do not understand these basics, about paintball equipment, then you are not experienced player, but only unusual old ignorant with your 15+ years of pump-play. And if you feel insulted by that... then Im really not interested about that. Im a lot more interested about novices who give ear to your dangerous nonsenses. They deserve to be cleary warned.
Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 7:59 am PST
   

kidzwitgunz Tuesday, May 29th, 2007 | 3:29 pm PST
First you don't need detent rings, use electrical tape in the barrel!

Secondly the nelson valvetrain works absolutely flawless with un-regged CO2! In fact it can run off of liquid CO2! The nelson valve was designed before regulators even were an idea in some guys head so there would be no need for them!

Third, when it comes to velocity I have never heard of a plus minus 60 fps, and for the record 99% of the current mavericks come under-powered so you wold need springs to even attain fps of 300fps +!

Fourth you must not be aware of pump play because sites like doro paintball, CCI, and wevo all sell kits to make your maverick into a bottomline setup!

Fifth even after homemade mods this marker will NEVER equal a Phantom or especially a Carter! Carter's are hand made works of flawless perfection and Phantoms are probably the most versatile marker to ever have existed! All I said is that if you are thinking about pump then this would be a great way to get into the pump scene!

Sixth your rant about dangerous nonsenses is a farce! Again I will quote you facts, the nelson and nelson clones work best at a psi of 800-900 which is what CO2 regulates itself at unless it is very very hot out there! So you whole shpeal about danger is not based on any facts!

Seventh seriously go to pbnation and visit the pump sub-forum and read up! Or better yet go over to mcarterbrown or the phog and check out what others have said about nelson clones (of which the maverick/trracer is one)

Eighth, you would never ever ever want to put an anit-siphon tank on any asa that is not perpendicular to the barrel because then the anti-siphon would turn into a siphon tank! So while an anti-siphon tank would help you with CO2 if the bottle is tilted or vertical then instead of anti-siphon the tank becomes siphon! And while the nelson clones can run on liquid CO2 I would not want to run it on it all the time because you would get horrible shot to shot consistency....Meaning your velocity would fluctuate up and down all over the place and this might be the ONLY way you could achieve spikes of 60 fps!

Finally while you have the right to say whatever you want to say about my review, I firmly believe that you might not play exclusively pump because all of your disputes are a moot point! The nelson back bottle arrangement has been around for 20 plus years and will continue to be around long after I am gone!
Last edited on Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 at 8:20 am PST
   

3022 Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 | 2:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kidzwitgunz
Secondly the nelson valvetrain works absolutely flawless with un-regged CO2! In fact it can run off of liquid CO2! The nelson valve was designed before regulators even were an idea in some guys head so there would be no need for them!

Pressure regulation and properly liquid/gas CO2 separation are two wholly different things. Sorry, but if you do not understand that, then you evidently know nothing about real employment of CO2. And when you know that and you will trought mix that there, then you are only demagog. So, what you are?

With most of markers, you can run on liquid CO2. Yes. It will be great. You can run on gas CO2. Even this will be great, even without reg. But you NEED chose one from them - liquid OR gas CO2.

In markers with backbottle setup, without (anti)siphon tube, these two CO2 "components" are simply not good separated from each other, both will be go in the valve "randomly", charging of the gas will be different = the velocity will be different = it will be dangerous (with valve adjusted for gas CO2) or unreliable (with valve adjusted for liquid CO2). That is no theory. That is experience.

Esential is that your "no mods needed" statement was false.

And by the way, Im engineer and I have more than 10 years experiences with rifles and pistols working on CO2 (match airguns and paintball markers) and I play exclusively with pumps from year 1994 - that was only half year later after paintball came in my country. So, are you suprised, that Im not interested about your advices about your "specialists" from pbnation?
Last edited on Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 at 3:07 pm PST
   

kidzwitgunz Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 | 3:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by 3022


Pressure regulation and properly liquid/gas CO2 separation are two wholly different things. Sorry, but if you do not understand that, then you evidently know nothing about real employment of CO2. With most of markers, you can run on liquid CO2. Yes. It will be great. You can run on gas CO2. Even this will be great, even without reg. But you NEED chose one from them - liquid OR gas CO2.

In markers with backbottle setup, without (anti)siphon tube, these two components are simply not good separated from each other, both will be go in the valve "randomly", charging of the gas will be different = the velocity will be different = it will be dangerous or unreliable. That is no theory. That is experience.

Esential is that your "no mods needed" statement is false.

And by the way, Im engineer and I have more than 10 years experiences with rifles and pistols working on CO2 (airguns and paintball markers).


You still do not acknowledge that the nelson design has proved to be one of the most reliable designs, ever! (aside from the sheridan) Regardless of how the gas is sent into the marker, it still preforms, and like I said before I have never heard of insanely crazy fps spikes! 10 to 20 fps, sure, but not 60 in a nelson marker!

Also these markers shoot admirably out of the box. And remember this is for a BEGINNER pump player, or someone who doesn't want to spend the 300 dollars to get a nice phantom setup!

The ONLY thing they might need is new main spring, which can be bought at any hardware store and cut down to size!

And I apologize if I offended you, I realize you are smart but also do not assume that I am a no-nothing kid myself! Even though I am only 24 I have been a certified gunsmith for 3 years now and have been playing "ball" since my first brass eagle talon and pgp waaaayyy back in the 5th grade! And am now a 2nd LT. USMC to boot!

The bottom line is there is no other marker that can be bought for under 100 dollars (US) that will compare to the maverick/tracer or similar nelson clones! While the PGP and other sheridans are good enough they are marginally more expensive and offer no barrel upgrades and you have to have a machinist work on them! The Mavericks are easy to work on and can be modded with a dremel, IF YOU SO CHOOSE TO!

Out of the box they work, why are you arguing this point with me!

And as far as anti-siphon goes did you hear my point about angling the bottle? The stock 45* (I believe) back bottle configuration will turn ANY anti-siphon tank into a siphon tank, thereby ruining what you were trying to accomplish! To do it your way it would need some after-market parts, namely a bottom-line setup! So.......
   

3022 Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 | 3:48 pm PST
Out of the box they will work, reliably, safely and agreeably... only when you buy even some other parts, that is why I argue this point with you.

You speak about Sheridans. OK. New PGP2 cost around 100 USD, old in good contition around 60 USD. Then you need only paint and powerlets for safe and relative troublefree play. With centre punch you can make own wedgits which will be prevent rollouts with small paint. With dremel you can lighten your stock hammer and modify valve whitch will improve your CO2 efficiency. With propane torch you can change your barrel if you wish. Are Mavericks easier to work? I have really doubts about that. How many homemade semi-auto conversions have you seen? How many conversions for LP have you seen?

How many will cost you cheapest Nelson setup? You need q-changer or CA tank, hooper, raised sight rail (& red dot) or bottomline... with PGP you need actually only powerlet and decent paint.

Trracers/Mavericks/Hornets and similar markers can be very, very, very good markers (like nearly all markers :-) ). But in comparsion with PGP or SL68II... bad value out of the box, to many mods/parts need. Are they bad because that? Not. That is only one of thier weak point. But you will present him here like advantage?

That is little problem for me.
   

kidzwitgunz Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 | 9:21 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by 3022
Out of the box they will work, reliably, safely and agreeably... only when you buy even some other parts, that is why I argue this point with you.

You speak about Sheridans. OK. New PGP2 cost around 100 USD, old in good contition around 60 USD. Then you need only paint and powerlets for safe and relative troublefree play. With centre punch you can make own wedgits which will be prevent rollouts with small paint. With dremel you can lighten your stock hammer and modify valve whitch will improve your CO2 efficiency. With propane torch you can change your barrel if you wish. Are Mavericks easier to work? I have really doubts about that. How many homemade semi-auto conversions have you seen? How many conversions for LP have you seen?

How many will cost you cheapest Nelson setup? You need q-changer or CA tank, hooper, raised sight rail (& red dot) or bottomline... with PGP you need actually only powerlet and decent paint.


Okay well first on ebay right now old pgp's are going for 60 w/o shipping, but they might need new cupseals, etc which will up the price!

Also it is much harder for beginner players to go straight from semi to stock class because of the rampant use of cheap, and fast electro markers!

With the Maverick all you need is a tank and hopper. You can still handicap yourself with the pump and learn how to play, yet fall back on not havnig to use ten round tubes, and switching 12 grams. Also using a tank is cheaper since most fields have fill stations and 12 grams are expensive to buy. Add to this the very difficult task of going from throwing barrels of paint to having to rock and cock, count your shots and always insure you have a fresh 12 in the chamber, whew!

It was hard for me to switch back to pure stock class, and I switched back from open class pump!

As far as Mav's being easy to work, yep all you need is a dremel, that's it! Look at my pic, I converted it to a stick feed using nothing but a dremel and a screwdriver to tap the hole fo the Phantom stick feed! No acetylane torches, etc! And as far as LP goes why would a pump that runs of HP need LP? And why waste money on semi-auto conversions? It takes ALOT of money to turn any nelson into a semi-auto and it takes just as much to turn a sheridan into semi too! Not too mention more skills than most average people have.

When it comes to sights, they really aren't needed unless you want to intimidate players! Most paintball action happens within 20 yards or so, especially on fields so aim with the barrel and keep both eyes open! If one still wanted sights get an a5 or 98C offset rail and use that.

And with the PGP you need more than paint and 12 grams, you also have to invest in 10 round tubes which might be hard for people to get and some kind of harness to put them in!

As far as cost go, log onto pbnation, mcarterbrown, etc and go to the buy/sell/trade section and find a mav for 60 bucks. Then go to a hardware store pickup a 1 in 45* PVC elbow and put a regular 200 round hopper on it! Then put a tank you already have on the back! Now you can play paintball for well under $100, and you won't need a harness because 200 rounds should last any pump player at least three games or so!

I just don't see how the PGP is a better starter marker! Don't get me wrong they are excellent markers, I have three myself, it is just very hard for semi players to go from having lots of firepower to what is in essence a single shot marker! It would be like asking a SAW gunner to use a musket on the modern day battlefield and expecting him to suppress a battalion by himself! Not happening this side of Heaven!
Last edited on Tuesday, June 5th, 2007 at 8:15 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media