paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Sniper63's Review / Comments on Sniper63's Review / Comments on Sniper63's Review / Comments on Sniper63's Review / Comments on Sniper63's Review

Comments on Sniper63's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Sniper63 Monday, November 12th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month100 of 113 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Diablo Wrath; not even comparable
-Karnivor; trigger on the SLG is better
-Various Spyders; again, these don't even compare
-Ion
Marker Setup: -98 Custom with 14" SmartParts Progressive barrel, remote line, and Tapco T6 CAR Stock
-Proto SLG with SmartParts Q-Lock feedneck, 14 in. Junior Freak kit 50ci 3000psi Pure Energy HPA tank, Dye Rhino tank cover, Evo3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck. Possibly a new barrel, but the stock one isn't bad.
Strengths: -Consistent
-Very User-Friendly
-Super low pressure
-Air-efficient
-light
-lots more
Weaknesses: -Very small feedneck
-Not much else
Review: So I saw this gun in an issue of APG and I was immediately intrigued. I went on PaintballGear and was amazed to see it being offered at the low, low price of $249.95! Within 2 days of PaintballGear stocking the SLG I bought one and was not disappointed. When it arrived I pulled it out of the box and just about sprouted a woody right then and there. The thing is so hot and so light, it's unbelievable. It weighs in at only 2.2 lbs.!
I stuck the battery in and turned it on. Much to my delight, everything was in working order. (I've had a couple bad experiences with guns in the past. Cough, Diablo...) It was then that I noticed the one and only problem with the gun. When I tried to put my Evo3 on, the feedneck was too small. Eventually I crammed the thing in there enough to allow some test shooting, but I would definitely recommend a new feedneck. First of all, the thing rips despite technically being a sear-tripper. I had no trouble getting into the factory-rated 19-20 bps range. Second, with the new Dye Hyper3 reg on, the consistency is outstanding. There was like zero deviation in the shots. Not a single spike or shootdown in the few ropes I shot. The stock barrel is more than accurate enough for speedball, but it is a bit loud, so if you want to quiet the gun down a bit and additionally give it nail-driver accuracy, you might want to buy a new barrel.
This gun truly is one of the most user-friendly I have ever come across. Just turn it on and it's ready to go. Hold down the bottom button for a few seconds and the eyes are off. Hold it down again and they're back on. Simple as that. Programming this thing is really easy and well-explained, which brings me to my next point.
Now this may sound odd, but one of the most impressive things about this gun is the instruction manual. For a guy who's used to the usual crappy, thrown-together manuals that most guns come with, this manual is like heaven. Awesome detailed diagrams. Detailed explanations. Someone actually seems to have planned this one out decently. Props to Proto just for that.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone whether they're just getting into paintball or they're just looking for a new gun. In fact, I already have one of my best friends considering buying one. This thing can easily step with ions, impy's, karni's, just about anything. And to those who believe that an ion is better just because the ion is electro-pneumatic, see what they see when the get roped by the gun that you didn't have to put $100 of upgrades into to make it competitive.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 14th, 2008 at 10:49 am PST
 

Review Comments
paintballer_71! Monday, November 26th, 2007 | 6:49 pm PST
I have a proto slg and i also have a vlocity jr. I read somewhere that if you take the top o-ring out of the feed neck that your loader will fit. i did this and it works so you might try and do this with your loader instead of buying a new feed neck
   

mjr_paranoid Thursday, December 6th, 2007 | 3:41 pm PST
Back in the old days when the world was in black and white we used to sand our feednecks t get a good fit.
   

whiterasta80 Tuesday, December 11th, 2007 | 9:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintballer_71!
I have a proto slg and i also have a vlocity jr. I read somewhere that if you take the top o-ring out of the feed neck that your loader will fit. i did this and it works so you might try and do this with your loader instead of buying a new feed neck

This is true, I had to do it with my Revvy as well. Personally, after removing the top o-ring I had to tape my hopper to fit, but at least I can get it to work.
   

smythers Tuesday, June 17th, 2008 | 7:24 am PST
Just bought a new SLG. It breaks paint a lot more than I wanted it to. I had the eyes always on, I set the ROF to 16 balls per second against my 19 balls per second apache hopper. At first I used Nelson Anarchy paint, a very brittle paint I know, and they would break about every 40 shots. Then I switched to a harder shelled paint, the nelson hotspots, (lower quality but harder). I hoped it would solve the problem, but it didn't. Any ideas on a good paint to use or what else may be the problem? Thanks.
   

Rountree68 Monday, September 1st, 2008 | 8:53 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by mjr_paranoid
Back in the old days when the world was in black and white we used to sand our feednecks t get a good fit.

haha i did that a long time ago.... but then clamping feednecks came out lol
   

r0zj0k3r Thursday, November 6th, 2008 | 11:01 pm PST
Dispute:
I'm disputing because I don't think this review is very critical at all, in fact to me it almost sounds like an advert.

Known issues with this gun go way beyond a small feedneck, people please read through a big part of these reviews and you will see, common themes;
detents, eyes (more specifically the bolt issue), air efficeincy is mediocore at best-infact i and many others will say it is on the poor end

my own gripes:
-the grips are cheap and dont seal in the sensitive internals of the gun (so maybe classifying this gun as rugged is out of the question)

-I don't like the configuration set up, but it is only a $200 gun.

-The upgrades you recommend would go well above $100 as you said one would need when buying an ion.

The positive:

-Great price
-Great consistancy
-customer service
-good rec-ball gun out of the box as long as you didnt get the roll back problems
-accuracy
-overall reliability (if you have any of the known issues proto will hook you up with the fix and it will only cost you a little time)

This isn't to say I don't like the gun. I do, and I recommend it to other people in similar situations. I believed the hype a little too much before I bought the slg, simply put; you get a $200 gun, and since the last $200 gun I bought like 10 yrs ago was a spyder compact the industry has come a long way. Buy it if you want a GOOD gun for a DECENT price. I am glad I bought it but i need to go throw it in the dirt a few times and see if it still works.
   

whiterasta80 Friday, November 7th, 2008 | 8:47 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by r0zj0k3r
I'm disputing because I don't think this review is very critical at all, in fact to me it almost sounds like an advert.

Known issues with this gun go way beyond a small feedneck, people please read through a big part of these reviews and you will see, common themes;
detents, eyes (more specifically the bolt issue), air efficeincy is mediocore at best-infact i and many others will say it is on the poor end

my own gripes:
-the grips are cheap and dont seal in the sensitive internals of the gun (so maybe classifying this gun as rugged is out of the question)

-I don't like the configuration set up, but it is only a $200 gun.

-The upgrades you recommend would go well above $100 as you said one would need when buying an ion.

The positive:

-Great price
-Great consistancy
-customer service
-good rec-ball gun out of the box as long as you didnt get the roll back problems
-accuracy
-overall reliability (if you have any of the known issues proto will hook you up with the fix and it will only cost you a little time)

This isn't to say I don't like the gun. I do, and I recommend it to other people in similar situations. I believed the hype a little too much before I bought the slg, simply put; you get a $200 gun, and since the last $200 gun I bought like 10 yrs ago was a spyder compact the industry has come a long way. Buy it if you want a GOOD gun for a DECENT price. I am glad I bought it but i need to go throw it in the dirt a few times and see if it still works.


Can't argue with most of the points you make, but I do dispute your contention that the efficiency isn't good. I get very close to the advertised efficiency.
   

jablasta5150 Monday, November 17th, 2008 | 4:45 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by mjr_paranoid
Back in the old days when the world was in black and white we used to sand our feednecks t get a good fit.
gunna have to agree with him!
   

PBjedi Wednesday, December 31st, 2008 | 11:22 am PST
yall sound very condisending to spyders. spyders are beastly guns for a good price,id say a VS2 is more than a match for ur little SLG's! lol
   

757eclipse Friday, January 2nd, 2009 | 2:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by PBjedi
yall sound very condisending to spyders. spyders are beastly guns for a good price,id say a VS2 is more than a match for ur little SLG's! lol

a spyder is a cheap-mans gun. the only good thing about them is they are cheap. i used a spyder for years and every time i went to play it had a different problem. it drove me once to go as far as to quit playing until i had saved up enough money to buy a REAL marker. and the fact that kingman has added eyes to their newer markers is only a little help with the chopping problem but it has added another thing that can go wrong. i knot this isn't a spyder thread or comment section but trying to say that spyders are a good marker is like trying to say that the sahara isnt hot in the summer.
   

Disaster Theory Wednesday, May 6th, 2009 | 10:05 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by 757eclipse


a spyder is a cheap-mans gun. the only good thing about them is they are cheap. i used a spyder for years and every time i went to play it had a different problem. it drove me once to go as far as to quit playing until i had saved up enough money to buy a REAL marker. and the fact that kingman has added eyes to their newer markers is only a little help with the chopping problem but it has added another thing that can go wrong. i knot this isn't a spyder thread or comment section but trying to say that spyders are a good marker is like trying to say that the sahara isnt hot in the summer.


I agree totally with 757eclipse spyder paintball guns give lots of kr@p, but the new elecra seems quite cool tho!

The guy that did this review of the slg thanks it helped alot
   

Sonixboom Wednesday, November 25th, 2009 | 7:25 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by mjr_paranoid
Back in the old days when the world was in black and white we used to sand our feednecks t get a good fit.

Spoken like a true master
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media