paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Dogg3r's Review / Comments on Dogg3r's Review / Comments on Dogg3r's Review / Comments on Dogg3r's Review / Comments on Dogg3r's Review

Comments on Dogg3r's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Dogg3r Wednesday, November 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month41 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag Classic, Phantom Pump, Ion, Shocker, Ego 07. The Vibe feels like a loose ION at 1/2 the cost.
Marker Setup: 07 Dust Black Ego w/ Zick
Pulse w/ RF Chip
Barrels
Strengths: Price, "Bolt-Out-The-Back" design, size and simplicity.
Weaknesses: It is an Air Hog. Trigger Pull needs work.
Review: You cannot beat the price and it's very simple to maintain.
If you want to play tournaments and hardcore speedball, then get an Ion/Shocker/DM/Ego or whatever. This is a great recreational gun for the price.
For under $150 you have a gun that is enough for how most people play.
The only upgrade I will say is a barrel.



Conclusion: If you're new to the sport, buy this gun and save a lot of money. Spend it on paint and learn how to aim. Buy a better gun next year if you need to.
For the experienced players, this is not a bad gun. Maybe something to give to a friend that you brought to play, or as a good backup to the recreational player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Mugato Thursday, November 22nd, 2007 | 1:03 pm PST
Thank you for posting a review. I've been waiting for someone to do it. How does the marker shoot? What do you think about the low force bolt preventing chops?
I just bought a Spyder VS1 and was thinking about exchanging it. But I'm conflicted about the Vibe not having eyes. You stated it feels like a loose Ion, what do you mean by that?
Thanks again for the post.
   

Onslaught_2k4 Thursday, November 22nd, 2007 | 5:01 pm PST
You should stick with the VS1. Its got break-beam eyes and that is a real nice feature to have, especially on a marker so inexpensive. If you don't like how the Spyder feels or shoots, you should replace it for a different Smart parts, if you like them in particular (I do), such as the ION-xe or the EOS. Buying the Vibe would be like taking a step back.
   

Mugato Sunday, November 25th, 2007 | 3:03 pm PST
Thanks for the advice onslaught. I ended it keeping the vs1. On part because the darn shop doesn't take returns or exchanges. I almost blew a lid. I had them let me test everything and show me how they both work. The vs1 seemed faster and the eyes definitely the top reason. But the vibe definitely feels nice and is much quieter. You are right though, once I need to upgrade to an all pneumatic (blow forward non stacked), with eyes and higher rof then I'll just get a higher end marker. The vibe sure does look nice though.
   

FISTFULLOFRODEO Tuesday, November 27th, 2007 | 8:44 am PST
How bad is the trigger on the Vibe? i am also trying to decide between the VS1, and the Vibe. I had an ion, and sold it because i needed a clutch in my truck, and i didnt want to keep driving 45 miles every time i wanted to play paintball (closest HPA fill station) so i have not had a marker in over a year, and i want one just to play with my friends (they shoot mostly older gen spyders) I pretty much sold everything, so im trying to get back into paintball for under $250 (as i also sold my tanks and mask) so which is the better shooter the vibe or the VS1?
   

Mugato Wednesday, November 28th, 2007 | 11:28 pm PST
My response was long, so I emailed you. Since this is a Vibe post, I'll say kudos to the Vibe.
   

FISTFULLOFRODEO Thursday, November 29th, 2007 | 7:49 am PST
lol! thanks man, this could help me out alot! haha
   

quazey Monday, December 10th, 2007 | 5:18 am PST
im new to paintball should i get a spyder pilot or a vibe please responde thanks for the review
   

Pballin_Prince Wednesday, January 2nd, 2008 | 7:27 pm PST
quazey-i suggest getting the vibe for the following reasons: 1. Spyder Pilots are not alowed in tournys. 2. Spyder Pilots are heavy and unbalanced, and with the tank +hopper youll wanna kill yurself (it could kill you first!). 3. Spyder Pilots triggers are nothing like VS ones, and u cannot in anyway roll them, so ull be doing 2bps max. 4. Barrel accuracy sucks. GET THE VIBE!! its good for beginners and can be used in tournies unlike the Spyder Pilot. GET IT!! I do not work for Smart Parts or any other company. I just made the mistake of buying a Spyder Pilot. Dont make my mistake.
   

sciondyoyoyo Friday, February 15th, 2008 | 2:24 pm PST
the vs1 is way better than a vibe fo sho
   

musicmixer10 Sunday, July 6th, 2008 | 8:36 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by sciondyoyoyo
the vs1 is way better than a vibe fo sho


The VS1 has a harder trigger pull though

   

incrediblebulk5 Sunday, July 13th, 2008 | 3:25 pm PST
do u know wat bolt out the back is or did u just read it and thik it aoolied
   

Gotaro Friday, January 9th, 2009 | 10:48 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sciondyoyoyo
the vs1 is way better than a vibe fo sho
I would say that is absolutely not true. The Vibe is fully electropneumatic, so it is much quieter and smoother than Spyders. The higher ROF cap on the VS1 is a BIG plus, but I would still go with the Vibe over that. Now the Electra 08 I might consider..
   

sledgehammer Saturday, January 24th, 2009 | 8:38 pm PST
All spyders are crap PERIOD!! spyders use the old and terrible stack tube blowback design, and does not recock in colder weather, the vibe and sp1 give you way better gas value as they are low pressure, and are not mechanical. Spyder sales are gonna be completley dead i predict in the next five or ten years, as sadley the cant compete with enything out there, namely SMART PARTS does enyone else agree?
   

Pilate Monday, September 21st, 2009 | 1:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sledgehammer
All spyders are crap PERIOD!! spyders use the old and terrible stack tube blowback design, and does not recock in colder weather, the vibe and sp1 give you way better gas value as they are low pressure, and are not mechanical. Spyder sales are gonna be completley dead i predict in the next five or ten years, as sadley the cant compete with enything out there, namely SMART PARTS does enyone else agree?


i agree.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media