paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on tips000's Review / Comments on tips000's Review / Comments on tips000's Review / Comments on tips000's Review / Comments on tips000's Review

Comments on tips000's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

tips000 Wednesday, December 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion (slg is way! better)
promaster (slg is still better)
pmr (slg is way! better)
wrath (slg is better)
you get the point!
Marker Setup: SLG
68/3k tank
vlocity jr.
dye ul barrel
SP on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck!
ASA!
trigger (or jut shorten/take out the spring)
Strengths: fast!
Light!
Small!
Not much kick at all!
Quiet!
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck
stock asa
trigger is stiff
barrel can be improved
Review: Ok i got this yesterday and opened it up and it came well organized and it was very beautiful... i put my on/off on and feed neck... i took the bolt out and lubed it up... i screwed in the tank and turned the asa on and it was really loud and i thought wow its either shooting hot or is way too loud...i cronoed and it was really hot from the factory which was weird i thought...it blew an oring out and i had it changed and then it was fine i set it lower and chopped paint...then i realized the eyes were off lol...so i cleaned it once again and it ripped it was quiet and fast and really accurate with my dye ul


great price... get one

i gave it an 8 cuz the stock feedneck sucked really really bad and the asa wasnt great either
Conclusion: Its a geat gun for any level of play shoots just as fast and accurate as shockers and dms
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 26th, 2007 at 6:07 pm PST
 

Review Comments
reballmadness02 Thursday, December 27th, 2007 | 1:04 am PST
Dispute:
i personally have a Sjg and dont get me wrong i love it but there is no way it can even come close to a dm
   

TPD Thursday, December 27th, 2007 | 5:34 pm PST
If you're playing with good paint, have a good barrel, and match your paint to your barrel, not to mention have a very clean SLG, then yeah, you are not going to notice much, if any, difference in accuracy between this and any DM or Shocker.

As for speed, unless you shoot really, really fast in really long strings (like 400 balls @ 20-25bps), you are also not going to notice a huge difference in speed between this and a DM or Shocker... of course, if you do, you will.

For most players needs however, this gun is, more or less, when maintained properly, just as fast and accurate than a DM or Shocker. Maybe he should have said it is like, not exactly like, a DM or Shocker. So you're right, but it isn't really a big deal-more of a typo on the reviewers part...

Yeah, if he really cares, he would want to change his choice of words from "as" to "almost as"

Cheers
   

KoRo5u5oo Sunday, January 6th, 2008 | 3:23 am PST
The accuracy of a gun has more to do with the barrel than the gun itself, the DM comes with a stock UL barrel, if you put a UL on the SLG, it'll shoot just as good.
Only differences are consistency at high rof, sound, etc.

Anyone know if the stock feedneck fits the Vlocity hopper?
   

misfit0022 Sunday, January 6th, 2008 | 3:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by KoRo5u5oo
The accuracy of a gun has more to do with the barrel than the gun itself, the DM comes with a stock UL barrel, if you put a UL on the SLG, it'll shoot just as good.
Only differences are consistency at high rof, sound, etc.

Anyone know if the stock feedneck fits the Vlocity hopper?


yea, right. A barrel has the slightest effect on accuracy its more of just a guide, its all about air release, timing, torque, etc from the bolt. A slg will never be as accurate as a True spool(DM/PM)
Last edited on Sunday, January 6th, 2008 at 6:53 pm PST
   

TPD Monday, January 7th, 2008 | 10:13 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by misfit0022


yea, right. A barrel has the slightest effect on accuracy its more of just a guide, its all about air release, timing, torque, etc from the bolt. A slg will never be as accurate as a True spool(DM/PM)


Yes, and no. A barrel, yes, is a "guide" for the paintball to follow once the marker's breach is sealed and air is released behind the ball. However, if your barrel isn't of a high quality bore, even with the most "accurate" valve system, you're not going to get the most accuracy out of the gun.

So, no, unless you have a high quality barrel, you accuracy is going to be limited.

Another huge factor in accuracy is consistency (regulator consistency in psi, valve consistency in psi or fps, etc). Accuracy isn't about one shot, one hit: accuracy is about shooting a ball, then shooting 100 more in exactly the same spot. You don't know how accurate something is by shooting one shot, you need to shoot three, five, ten, fifty, to really see how accurate the gun is (not to mention whatever is aiming the gun, but let just assume it's on a metal secured platform).

To get that shot to land right on top of the previous shot, your marker must be consistent in velocity. If your marker's consistent in velocity ball will travel the same speed, same distance (more or less).

Visit http://www.protoslg.info/

The SLG is much like any other spool valve based marker, except that it is an unbalanced, if you will (the forces on both side of the valve do not cancel out). Because it is unbalanced, it is easier (cheaper) to make, slightly slower and slightly less efficient than other "true" spool valve markers. Because it is slower (kind of high mass/friction) and less efficient (needs more air to work) it will likely not be as consistent. For instance, you'd need a higher flowing reg than normal to really keep up with the large air demands.

However, if you have a good reg and a high quality barrel, and use match your high quality paint to your barrel, you're not going to notice any of this. My automatic-pneumatic works in a similar way to the SLG (almost exactly the same cork design). Because I have a good setup the gun is just as accurate as any, if not more, gun I've seen.

A barrel has way more than just a slight effect on accuracy. The barrel is extremely important to the accuracy of your gun (if you get a better, smoother and better machined, barrel than the one you have now, your accuracy will increase/if you get a worse one, your accuracy will decrease... no matter what the gun; try it), however that is not to say other aspect of the marker are also important. I'll list em':

Most important
1)using high quality (well machined/engineered) equipment (from the gun to the barrel to the reg)(this doesn't mean buy the most expensive crap, as it can still just be high priced crap)
2)barrel
3)reg
4)paint-barrel match
5)marker valve
Least iimportant

A marker's valve is important; with the same setups (both using a good reg and barrel) a DM will be more accurate than a Spyder or Tippmann (if maybe only slightly). However, if you have a crappy DM, with dirty seals and such, and cleaned, well setup Tippmann, the blowback (an "inferior" gun design) will be more accurate than the dirty DM. If you have a DM with an older teardrop barrel and a Spyder on hpa with a good reg and a new Boomstick, the Spyder's going to be just as, if not more, accurate than the DM.

Gun style helps; spool valve are more consistent than any other standard valve design I've come across (just as long as they're machined well... remember early SFT shockers and GenE trixs?). However, the barrel, reg and paint-barrel match will have much more of an effect on accuracy than the way the gun works (furthermore, if the gun isn't machined/constructed/built well then it doesn't matter what the gun's valve is, it'll suck-as far as performance goes, I'd rather have a 2004 mech cocker than an original trix or SFT shocker).

1)"Torque" from the bolt has little to no effect on accuracy.
2) "Timing" does have an effect, but any well built gun can be a well timed gun (the time it takes for the gun to cycle is low, and a well timed gun releases air to propell the paintball only once the bolt has sealed off the chamber, and does not allow any air into the chamber). Spool valve guns are not the only well timed guns, and if properly setup, even stock, the SLG can be a well timed gun-although it might be easiest to time a spool valve style marker.
3)"Air release"? Not really sure what you mean, but open face always kicks ventri bolts' arses
   

TPD Monday, January 7th, 2008 | 10:15 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by KoRo5u5oo
Anyone know if the stock feedneck fits the Vlocity hopper?

I've seen a couple at the shop with Vlocity's on their stock feedneck. Not sure if they sanded them or anything, but I'd give it a shot.

[edit-after checking, it seems 4/5 times the Vlocity would need to be sanded, or the o-rings in the feedneck would need to be messed with... somehow. It isn't hard though, just get a piece of sandpaper, like medium grip, from your hardware store (bout 1-5$) and sand away bit by bit at your hopper neck until it fills, snuggly, into your feedneck.]
Last edited on Monday, January 7th, 2008 at 10:19 am PST
   

Indecisive Saturday, January 12th, 2008 | 7:27 am PST
Dye actually says that these guns are more efficient than their high ends for balls/tank.
   

TPD Sunday, January 13th, 2008 | 4:01 pm PST
That wouldn't surprise me, considering that they, in theory if set up right, use less gas than a matrix. However, they do use much more battery power than a matrix.
   

Master_x Saturday, January 19th, 2008 | 9:18 pm PST
The gun isnt all that quiet though and the stock feed neck fits very well if you take a halo w/o sanding it down and take out the o-rings in the stock feed neck
   

killbot Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008 | 4:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by misfit0022


yea, right. A barrel has the slightest effect on accuracy its more of just a guide, its all about air release, timing, torque, etc from the bolt. A slg will never be as accurate as a True spool(DM/PM)


thats sooo hilariously wrong. Air release? TIming? Torque, youve got to be kidding me.

you do know that people HAVE done studies on this right? really really in depth ones, and NOTHING you just said is right.

#1 = Paint quality
#2 = shot to shot consistency in fps("operating pressure" is meaningless, as is open or closed bolt)
#3 = Paint to barrel match.

   

tips000 Saturday, February 2nd, 2008 | 7:56 pm PST
alright guys geeze it shoots 30 bps (or so says the book) and read a manual for any of the dms or shockers and guesse what they say 30bps so it was technically supposed to be just as fast right i doubt any1 has tested this unless u can shoot 30 bps... i am shooting a ul and i am shooting just as good og a stream as my freinds 07 minion and 07 ego i really notice no difference when using the minion or the slg because they are both great guns... when the ul frame comes out i beleive it has the potential of actually matching a dm

just sayin... lol
   

SrPb Thursday, February 7th, 2008 | 9:39 am PST
Dispute:
The SLG is NOT better than the PMR. The PMR is electropneumatic while the SLG is not. While they have similar performance the PMR is more consistant and efficient.
   

Master_x Tuesday, February 12th, 2008 | 3:53 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SrPb
The SLG is NOT better than the PMR. The PMR is electropneumatic while the SLG is not. While they have similar performance the PMR is more consistant and efficient.
the pmr is way more consistent, but slg is lighter, (used to be cheaper) and has a better operating air pressure
   

mgahs25 Monday, March 10th, 2008 | 7:29 pm PST
you must be on crack if you think the slg is better than a pmr. don't get me wrong, the slg i a good gun but its definitely not better than a pmr. no dout about it its better than an ion though. i don't know about the wrath though, i never used it. and don't even compare it to dm's.
   

sheriff_matt Tuesday, March 18th, 2008 | 9:49 am PST
The SLG, no matter how much you don't like it, IS more efficient than the PMR. It uses less air, and supposedly is also more consistent. I have not done a side by side test, but the only advantage the PMR has over an SLG is the fact that it is fully electro-pneumatic. The SLG is not capable of the same sustainable high rates of fire as the PMR. The PMR is capable of a sustainable ROF of 20bps. I have tested this. If you don't believe it, that's fine.

If you want to compare markers, I don't think you're going to get a fair result. Everyone has their own opinion of how this marker compares to others. If you want to know how this marker performs, try it out.

On a personal note, I had the choice of either a PMR or an SLG. I chose the SLG. Why? Because it's more efficient. I don't need the extra 5bps, and the UL frame is personal preference. I probably will never upgrade the grip frame if they ever come out with it. For the same price as a stock PMR I was able to get an SLG with a clamping feedneck and roller bearing trigger. It's capable of a higher ROF than I need, or could ever use in a tournament. It's very efficient, and it's very easy to clean and maintain. Comparing the SLG and the PMR was difficult, but in the end, the SLG had more pros and less cons than the PMR.

   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media