paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on kebone2's Review / Comments on kebone2's Review / Comments on kebone2's Review / Comments on kebone2's Review / Comments on kebone2's Review

Comments on kebone2's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

kebone2 Saturday, December 29th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular ion- just as good
Spyder Pilot- only slightly worse
WGP Autocockers- about as accurate, just not as fast
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS '05
Dye 16in stainless steel barrel
Dye Sticky grips
Psycoballistics drop w/ on off
Smart Parts Q lock clamping feedneck
Velocity with Select Force
Shock Tech Superfly bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feedneck, bottomline, bolt, the works.
Strengths: Built on a reliable paltform, and nomatter what it features, it will sell.
Weaknesses: Features almost nothing new to paintball
Review: I think Smart Parts turned out this thing just to make more money off the "Ion" name. Because it features performance wise are almost the same. Of course, thats not really a bad thing, but c'mon, "bolt-out-back design" , the Impulse had that. As well as the Nerve. So they havn't done anything that they didn't do in the past. The stock barrel is still bad, and it still dosen't come with a clamping feedneck stock, man, it the q-lock so expensive that they can't put it on there from the factory? So, I say, if you want an Ion, go get an old one.
Conclusion: Go buy the old one.
Rating:
6 out of 10
 

Review Comments
bigschank Tuesday, January 1st, 2008 | 9:36 pm PST
Dispute:
You say nothing of the guns performance. You mention only two features of gun; the feed neck and the Bolt out Back feature. This review is nothing more then someone’s opinion of a gun that they don’t own.
   

WillyW0nka Saturday, January 26th, 2008 | 10:39 pm PST
Going on about the gun's performance would have been a waste of time, it will shoot exactly the same as an Ion. I think this review was fine, it shows the gun for what it truly is, an ion with an uglier body, an ugly feedneck, and the bolt-out-back mod.
   

iliveforthis99 Monday, February 4th, 2008 | 6:51 pm PST
The ion xe is better then an ion for one reason. The bolt out back design is a good improvement over the old design. The ion shells were ugly as well but looks are secondary to performance and function.
   

McEd Wednesday, March 5th, 2008 | 4:20 pm PST
Dispute:
just another ion hater trying to ruin sp's reputation, and i agree nothing but a review on 2 parts of the gun, i dout you have ever shot one of these
Last edited on Wednesday, March 5th, 2008 at 4:21 pm PST
   

el zorro Sunday, March 16th, 2008 | 9:03 pm PST
This review is utterly worthless. I have the old Ion and wish quite frequently I had the bolt out back. It would save a lot of wear and tear on the banjo fittings by not having to take them apart everytime I wanted to lube the bolt.
All things considered, if the XE is at least as reliable as the original then this is a great improvement and deserves much more than a 6/10 especially if nothing wrong is particularly pointed at.
Kebone is a bone head.
Last edited on Sunday, March 16th, 2008 at 9:05 pm PST
   

orry-shooter Wednesday, September 24th, 2008 | 7:51 pm PST
Dude...im ok with your review..you spoke your mind on what you like and thats good. What i hate is i read alot of the original ion reviews when a couple of years ago in the ion hype, and all i kept hearing was smart parts getting flammed for this and that, and one of the big things was no bolt out back design and they finally do it to the ion to #1 give to the customers that they have been asking for, and # 2 make things easier on the customer for maintinence. I mean i wish people would come out and say they don't like smart parts to help all the people new to this sport will see that they can just disregard that review. Point enclosing smart parts does not make bad stuff could they make better stuff heck ya, but i mean they're guns are stock guns down to the last letter of the meaning stock. If you want upgrades you can go to the smart parts web sites, and get *all* the upgrades you would ever need in box from them. You can go to smart parts.com and order your gun with feedneck...better board qev, rail everything. but just because they don't do what another companies does doesn't mean you have to use your personal agenda to turn people off...its bad for our sport.
   

C.Falcon Sunday, May 17th, 2009 | 9:46 pm PST
The back out the bolt makes a big difference when you clean and relube your gun.

It turned a 20 minute task into a 5 minute task.

Also you only looked at 2 parts of the gun. This review lacks depth.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media