paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Tcheno's Review / Comments on Tcheno's Review / Comments on Tcheno's Review / Comments on Tcheno's Review / Comments on Tcheno's Review

Comments on Tcheno's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Tcheno Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months68 of 68 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Tac5
Spyder MR2
Spyder VS2
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix SLG (Black) with Dye UL barrel and Kila magnetic detents
VLocity Jr with Gangastar Chip
Dye Throtle tank with Centerflag 420 preset
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Fedneck
Strengths: Check Review
Weaknesses: ASA
ASA Macroline Fitting
Feedneck
Trigger Spring
Review: I'm a proud owner of an SLG for about 3 months now.
My SLG is one of the very first to hit the market and for that reason I came across almost every issue ever reported on this marker.
From short bolt, to weak detents and weak macro fitting, (wrong reg shim setup has also been reported in some cases but mine was fine) I've been there and that helped me learned how to fix and troubleshoot my marker.

Bolt and detent issues have been solved by Dye so only a few SLGs out there should have these issues. In case you are presented with one other early batches, don't be alarmed. Dye has awesome CS so just contact them and they should get you up and running in no time. I did and my SLG has been just perfect ever since.



OK, now to a list and description on all the SLG issues reported to date and fixes:



Short Bolt
A usual syndrome is the marker will tend do stop shooting from time to time, usually happens when shooting ropes of paint to a target far a way.
This is caused by defect during the milling process of the tip of the bolt with has rendered the bolt about 1mm shorter then what it should be.
Since the bolt is shorten then the expected design, the ball rolls back, away from the eyes, in a way that the marker's eye don't read the ball in the chamber.
The only fix to date to this issue is to contact dye and ask for a replacement.

Weak Ball Detents
A usual syndrome of this issue is you tend to chop paint. You tend to chop more often as you use the marker and wear the rubber detents.
Rubber detents have proven to be too weak as the bolt wears them out quite easily.
Dye has addressed this issue by including new spring detens on the SLGs.
For those with first batch SLGs you can use Matrix spring detents or get Killa Magnetic Spring Detents.

Weak ASA Macro fitting
Usually hat happens is that the macroline just bursts out of the ASA fitting when you attach your air tank.
Some have reported this issue, in my opinion this is due to bad planing on part of Dye since the stock macro fitting for the ASA is really lame.
Simple fix, just get to you Proshop or local hardware shop and get a decent macro fitting.

Hyper 3 Shim setup
Usual syndrome is high drop-off.
Shim stack has been wrongly setup inside your reg.
Only a few cases have been reported. But its an easy fix.
To fix this issue just open up your reg and setup the shim stack in the following manner:
])()()()()... (and so on)
^Large side of the reg's poppet


These are basically all the major issues reported by SLG users.

Now on to the the review it self.


A part of the above, the SLG is a really great marker for the money packed with high end performance and simple maintenance.

Once again, as you can see above, all reported issues are caused due some issue on the production or planing stage on the marker with means there are really not much of an issue with the more recent batches.

Maintenance is easy as pie, just get you Allen wrench, pull the bolt out back, lube the 3 bolt o-rings plus plunger o-ring, put it back in and your done.
Shoots as fast as other high ends (30bps are advertised but u can go up to 25).
Is actually very silent once you actually shoot it with paint, plus is you use a nice aftermarket barrel you'll be amazed on how quiet it is.
It's efficiency (1500 shots) and robust aluminium body is perfect for me as I play from Speedball to Rec/Scenario paintball.
With only 2.2 Lbs is one really light marker.

The only downsides I can find on the SLG are the ASA (would prefer an ON/Off), Feedneck (a clamping one would be in order although I use the stock one with my Vlocity Jr just by removing the top o-ring) and the stock trigger.

Concerning the trigger, you will find it a bit too hard to walk mostly due to the trigger spring but even this can be easily fixed if you don't wanna spend the extra buck on a new trigger.
Just take of the trigger and trigger spring and start cutting the trigger spring in quarter turn increments in order to lighten it to your liking.


Bottom-line, the SLG is really a great marker, light, fast, reliable and consistent.

I highly recommend it to everyone out there looking for a good price/quality/performance marker capable of withstanding the beat of recball, the endurance of scenario and the demand of speedball. And best of all, all that on a small and easy maintenance package.


Edit: 03-19-2008

Manual Typo
I forgot to mention that the early manuals have typos on how to configure the boards settings and the order of the firing modes.

Modes are:
1 Semi
2 PSP
3 Millennium
4 NXL

And to configure it you have to:
1 With gun off set both dip switches up
2 turn gun on
3 adjust setting to your liking
4 set dip switch 2 down
5 your set!
(lowering dip switch 1 will reset all settings to factory default)


EDIT: 04-14-2008

Full-Auto Issues
Besides the already reported "full-auto issues" like using whisper training barrels, dry-firing with a squeegee on the barrel and too high/low reg pressure, I came to find that by not screwing in the back cap properly (by hand), the full-auto issue tends to happen as you enter high high rates o fire or even as you single shot for the first time, so always use a tool to help you screw the back-cap properly.

O-Ring Wear/Leak down the barrel
Some have reported leaks down the barrel which are generally caused by wear on the plunger o-ring.

This is generally caused by wear/tear due lack of lube as this specific o-ring is "blown" by venting air every time you shoot and has to pass across the small bolt vent hole.
For those of you that have been getting this sort of issues and for those of you wanting to prevent this, I recommend that you apply a generous amount of lube on the bolt's Soft Rubber Cushion in order to enable the plunger to hit the cushion's lube and lube the o-ring every time you shoot.
This should enable you to reduce wear on this specific o-ring, reducing o-ring changes to a minimum and keep you SLG working hassle free.
Conclusion: The SLG is really a great marker, light, fast, reliable and consistent.

I highly recommend it to everyone out there looking for a good price/quality/performance marker capable of withstanding the beat of recball, the endurance of scenario and the demand of speedball. And best of all, all that on a small and easy maintenance package.

Buy it! You won't regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 14th, 2008 at 6:12 am PST
 

Review Comments
Scalptrash Monday, April 21st, 2008 | 9:38 pm PST
Great review, thanks!

I purchased an SLG based on my friends recommendation and unfortunately, it hasn't been a good experience thus far.

I just purchased it in mid March '08 and managed to get an early model with the issues you described. I have yet to shoot the marker, when I attached my air tank the first time, the rear macro fitting basically exploded in my hand and caused an injury. Nothing serious, but quite painful.
My friend had read about the shorter bolt, so we checked it for that and I had one of those as well.
My real area of concern was Proto's customer service. Even though I have read several places that their customer service is very good, it took me four days, three voicemails and an email to finally talk to a live person that was able to offer any assistance whatsoever. They issued a call tag for my marker which was UPS ground. From MN to CA that takes 6-7 days. Basically, I have owned the gun for over a month already and have yet to use it. I have had to borrow a friends marker every time we play, since I sold mine when the SLG was purchased.
I, unfortunately, have to disagree with the comments about Proto/Dye's customer service. They have been extrememly slow to respond and have done basically nothing to rectify the situation or reinstill any confidence in me about their product. I am still waiting to hear from them....and they still have my marker.

Also wanted to point out how you can tell if you have an old style SLG or the updated one. If the rear macro fitting has a gray plastic connector, and not a metal one, it IS the old style. If it is metal, you are good to go.

We just witnessed another SLG blow the hose from the rear macro yesterday while playing X ball. There should honestly be a recall for this, it can be very dangerous.
Last edited on Monday, April 21st, 2008 at 9:47 pm PST
   

Tcheno Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008 | 2:04 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Scalptrash
Great review, thanks!

I purchased an SLG based on my friends recommendation and unfortunately, it hasn't been a good experience thus far.

I just purchased it in mid March '08 and managed to get an early model with the issues you described. I have yet to shoot the marker, when I attached my air tank the first time, the rear macro fitting basically exploded in my hand and caused an injury. Nothing serious, but quite painful.
My friend had read about the shorter bolt, so we checked it for that and I had one of those as well.
My real area of concern was Proto's customer service. Even though I have read several places that their customer service is very good, it took me four days, three voicemails and an email to finally talk to a live person that was able to offer any assistance whatsoever. They issued a call tag for my marker which was UPS ground. From MN to CA that takes 6-7 days. Basically, I have owned the gun for over a month already and have yet to use it. I have had to borrow a friends marker every time we play, since I sold mine when the SLG was purchased.
I, unfortunately, have to disagree with the comments about Proto/Dye's customer service. They have been extrememly slow to respond and have done basically nothing to rectify the situation or reinstill any confidence in me about their product. I am still waiting to hear from them....and they still have my marker.

Also wanted to point out how you can tell if you have an old style SLG or the updated one. If the rear macro fitting has a gray plastic connector, and not a metal one, it IS the old style. If it is metal, you are good to go.

We just witnessed another SLG blow the hose from the rear macro yesterday while playing X ball. There should honestly be a recall for this, it can be very dangerous.


I'm very sorry to hear that.
Concerning Dye CS, it seems to me that we, Europeans, are better served on that department as Ash has done his best supplying everybody with ASAP feedback.
As for the rest, I Hope you receive you SLG soon as I'm sure you'll be amazed at how it performs once all the glitches are sorted out.
   

DarkWombat Thursday, August 28th, 2008 | 8:30 pm PST
Great review!

I've got an SLG and I noticed you have the Kil-A magnetic detents. Have you noticed a difference with these? Do they need replacing like the stock detents? Are they just flashier?
Last edited on Thursday, August 28th, 2008 at 8:30 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media