paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Shodan561's Review / Comments on Shodan561's Review / Comments on Shodan561's Review / Comments on Shodan561's Review / Comments on Shodan561's Review

Comments on Shodan561's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Shodan561 Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month181 of 194 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Tippmann A5
Tippmann X7
Viewloader Triad
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical (M16 shroud and stock)
Mil-Sim TAC Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
for those who are yet to get the Tactical, and only the basic, i recommend the Tactical add ons.
CO2 Remote hose
Strengths: -Highly Accurate
-Great Mil-Sim look
-Magazine tool box looks cool and is very useful

Weaknesses: -Weight is an issue,
-Currently only M16 add ons
Review: The ABT, is Great, right off the bat you will notice the rugged, Military look, and from opening it you notice that good 0l' Tippmann Quality.

This, in essence is a 98 Custom, this is good and bad for a few reasons, good because of the quality and bad because of some awkward maintenance hassles.

To start i will talk about the actual gun:
It is encased in durable material, it looks and feels like something the army would use, however it also weighs like its real too, the Gun ha a crushing 10 pounds when used with a fully loaded 200 round Hopper and a 20 ounce CO2 Canister, by itself its a good 5-ish pounds, luckily for the "Tactical" owners, the Package includes a handy strap for easier use, the M16 adds are plastic,but its Hard, in fact it looks like it can last just as long as the main gun body.

The ABT is actually sold in 3 versions 2 of which are now available,
the AB Basic, which does not bring the M16 adds, but includes the Mag and tools
the ABT (Tactical) which does include the M16 adds and the Mag.
the final is the AB and ABT with the E-trigger, which is a steal at the price some sites have it as preorders for June, the Trigger includes 3 fire mods (1 Shot, 3 shot burst and Full Auto)

The Marker comes with a Ironhold which is not removable, however, the Holder was actually thick enough to allow one of my Sights to fit perfectly, and attached with a hard clamp.

The Gun has a 5 point CAR stock, which is sturdy and does not slip points, it also has a clip for the strap.

the Co2 line is structured perfectly, and the weave looks very neat, reinforcing my belief in the great quality of the manufacture.

It is recomened to use a Remote Hose for on the go action without the massive weight

The 11" Barrel is of good quality, and apparently the barrel socket allows other A-%5 barrels without Ball breaks, it could be entirely possible to install a flat line barrel, if expansion slots could be added.

The gun does not bring any sort of Anti-chop system, however after much shooting i only had a break once, using another A5 barrel, that said, cleaning it was kinda a hassle, which required me to have to open the front barrel area in order to clean it all out good.

The gun was Fantastically accurate, after many shots directed to the same area, i managed to hit the area in less then a 1 Sq Ft area, at a far range, which is fantastic.

The mag in essence is just for show,for some reason the Mag fell off the holding, but it may have been a user error... but it is well detailed, and useful for carrying O-rings and Allen wrenches or a small packet or Lubricant.

I Fired it until the Co2 was gone, it took a while, a good bit more then what it takes on my 98C.

One complaint i had with the stock trigger of some guns is that its either too tense, so you had to push the trigger a while (1 second) or the trigger was too light, so i antecedently fire off more then i want, the Trigger on the ABT is perfect, with a good feel, and not a long pull, but not a short one either.

There is apperently no way to install an E grip unless if it came with it, but im not sure, im yet to investigate opening the Trigger area, Also hopefully the ABT series would do good, so other types of gun mods can be released, if an XM8 one is revealed, i would be a nut, but that wont explain changing the Hold rail, considering the M16 one is there for good.

ive seen Pics of people who managed to install the A-5 Cyclone on their gun. but im yet to hear anything about a specific one for the ABT.

Conclusion: All in all the ABT is a superb gun not only for its price point, but also for its quality, i expect to play with this much more now, hopefully in the future, more adds and mods will be released, and more people can be lured into the awesomeness of woodsball with this great gun.

I would give it a 10, but the few little problems do add up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
jjohnson12 Friday, February 29th, 2008 | 11:27 am PST
Shodan561, your post is very helpful, but can you tell me if you have had a chance to look inside the grip and see if there is any way to put an egrip in it or if you would have to do a little work in it to install one.

Thanks
   

Shodan561 Friday, February 29th, 2008 | 7:38 pm PST
Unfortunately, when you open the marker half of the grip is permanently attached to the rest of the body, so an Egrip by itself is impossible, unless you can buy the board and the trigger then you can add it yourself, but that would be a hassle, though a responsive trigger looks possible.
   

mbjordan23 Sunday, March 9th, 2008 | 6:52 pm PST
hey, thanks for the review. i currently have a tippmann 98 with a flatline. its pretty accurate, but i was thinking about an upgrade because ill be able to paintball at some new land we have very often. weight is not a problem for me but would you recommend i get this gun? i thought the price seemed low and thought maybe the gun was cheap. does the us army really use this thing? and one more thing, i have the option of buying it with the egrip pre installed. i am unfamiliar with those, and was wondering, if the battery stopped working, are you just screwed, or does it just stay in the mode you were in when it stopped working?
Last edited on Sunday, March 9th, 2008 at 8:17 pm PST
   

Shodan561 Monday, March 10th, 2008 | 6:22 pm PST
At the moment having a 98 custom with a flatline could be just on par with the ABT in range, though im certain the ABT may have a power and efficiency advantage, the real reason why the ABT is so cheap is that you can really do much to it after you buy it, aftermarket upgrades can be found, but honestly if you plan on upgrading more you are better off with you 98, also the ABT egrip batt is a standard circuit battery, when it dies all you have to do is open the slot on the side of the gun and replace it, when it dies in game however the gun will stick to the last mode used, exept full auto, i heard also that the gun may feature a responsive trigger too that after 4 pulls then hold you can get full auto without the need of the battery no biggie there, quality wise the ABT is worth much much much more than for what it sells at, and yes the army does use this for paintball purposes, all in all, if you wise to flesh out your gun, you may want to stick with your 98, however if you wise to have an all ready supurb gun right outta the box, then the ABT is for you
Last edited on Monday, March 10th, 2008 at 6:25 pm PST
   

Shodan561 Monday, March 10th, 2008 | 6:54 pm PST
i have decided that inorder to help give people an impression of what you CAN do to your gun, i am making a small list of small improvments you can make:

1: Piccatinny rails: the front sight of the gun before the shroud. there is a small opening between the top on the barrel and the end of the sight, you can install a hard clamp rail here, when installed, a rail mounted laser sight, flashlight or whatever can be put there.

2: 98 custom barrels with electrical tape,: some barrels cannot fit perfectly with the ABT, it will skrew in, but it will be wobbly with the shroud, just wrap some tape around the end of the shroud and it will be stable.

3:sights, having a hard clamp sight attached to the top of the ironhold is possible, it may be slightly inclined, but if positioned correctly you can get it straight.

4: Cyclone system: buying a 98 cyclone can fit on the ABT, if you follow some simple instructions (cant link for permission purposes, just google it) you can make the system fit and run on your gun

5: Egrip board for non egrip ABts: buying triggers liek for the 98 custom can work wit hthis, simply open up the trigger you bought, take out the boards and the trigger circuitry, then ipen up your ABT, put the stuff in there exactly liek the 98 trigger, it is EXACTLY the same thanks to the fact they are basic;y the same gun, skrew it back together, and there you have it, and make sure you get the cyclone system too.

6: Apex barrel: grab a 98 custom 14" or bigger barrel, buy a "Spec ops" branded Apex connector for the 98 barrel, connect the Apex to the end, it wont work on the stock barrel since its too small, and the already installed barrels are also too small.

7: under gun stuff: between the shroud and the mag on the underside is a small patch of open space, if you make 2 holes in it and install a rail, you can attach a small 'nade launcher or other under gun armenants"

8: Air tru stock: this requires a bit more stuff to do, including buying the 98 air through set, and forcing out the end cap of the gun, if you can manage to find the instructions (google) you could get this great upgrade for weight relief

9:different mag: some mags for the 98 are plastic liek the one for the ABT, however alot of them are too big to be clipped, if you can saw a little off the top of a few, you can get a diffrent mag.

10: X36 X7 Ironhold!!!!!: For those who don't ever want to see the m4/m16 hold this is what you do, since you cant actually take off the hold, what you can do is this:

First get a folding stock for a 98 try to hard clamp a small rail right next to the feeding elbow, then unsckrew the allen skrew on the m4 hold near the back of it, then fit the X36sight over the m4 sight, skrew the first part of the rail on the x36 to the one you just installed, then fit the rest of the body to the back of the gun, a good portion should be sticking off behind it, next push down the sight, on the metal area now overlapping the skrew you took off the ABT, try to drill a hole through it, when done, put the allen skrew back in, and secure it with a washer or something, finaly with the front of the hold secure
get a hardclamp and clamp the piece sticking out, through the closest open hole on the Folding stock, the stock wont be able to fold anymore, but hey, look at your new ironsights, you wont be able to see the last sight, and you will have the new sight covering it, its alotta work but its worth it, il try to link some pictures later
   

mbjordan23 Tuesday, March 11th, 2008 | 5:39 am PST
thanks for the help
   

qu1kfate Monday, March 17th, 2008 | 9:26 pm PST
hey what hopper would you suggest using with this gun?
and what exactly does the remote hose do?
   

jjohnson12 Tuesday, March 18th, 2008 | 9:54 am PST
I use a Viewloader Revolution with mine and it works great, especially with the e-grip, it only cost around 30 dollars and it is better than some of the high priced ones.

and for the remote hose, all it does is act like an expansion chamber for the gun so the gas can expand before getting in the gun to give you more consistency and it also gets the tank off the gun to lighten the load and free you up.
   

jonsato Thursday, March 20th, 2008 | 8:24 pm PST
hey, i wanted to know how you attached the sight on your gun?
   

Shodan561 Monday, March 24th, 2008 | 5:34 pm PST
If you notice, if you look down the iron sights its kinda shaped like a wedge, i have a Tac-Sim scope from Spec ops paintball, it requires rails to be installed normally, however, if you notice the rail can be sightly moved downward from the beginning of the rail, if you make it so its slightly in a wedge shape, you can fit the protruding part into the actual M4 ironsights. next i got s standard small clamp from home depot, a bit of electrical tape, then i clamped the scope on the ironsights, were the clamp is placed i wrapped it in electrical tape so it wont scratch it or cause too much pressure
   

LtGrout913 Wednesday, April 9th, 2008 | 9:25 am PST
I was wondering if it is possible to use the TIPPMANN E-Trigger Electronic Upgrade Kit on this gun instead of buying the 98 custom e trigger or if tippmann will come out with an e trigger for the ABT so that i can buy the gun now and put that e grip on when it comes out.
   

sledgehammer Thursday, October 2nd, 2008 | 11:38 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by qu1kfate
hey what hopper would you suggest using with this gun?
and what exactly does the remote hose do?

actualy a revie is good but if u want faster feed, at the same price as a revie use a rickochet apache, i use one on my sp1 and it feeds at 15 ball per sec on full auto no problem no chops, just a thought.
   

sledgehammer Thursday, October 2nd, 2008 | 11:44 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by LtGrout913
I was wondering if it is possible to use the TIPPMANN E-Trigger Electronic Upgrade Kit on this gun instead of buying the 98 custom e trigger or if tippmann will come out with an e trigger for the ABT so that i can buy the gun now and put that e grip on when it comes out.
not trying to flame here , but why is everyone so hung up on e grips and the like , iam picking up a Alpha black basic in two weeks and make no plans to upgrade to e grip, because thats what i have my SP1 for. If enything iam going to mod it to look like an m4 sniper, hey but thats just me
   

sledgehammer Thursday, October 2nd, 2008 | 11:50 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by sledgehammer
not trying to flame here , but why is everyone so hung up on e grips and the like , iam picking up a Alpha black basic in two weeks and make no plans to upgrade to e grip, because thats what i have my SP1 for. If enything iam going to mod it to look like an m4 sniper, hey but thats just me
also in your review you say it ways a CRUSHING 10 pounds with paint and loader, TRY SHOULDERING A WG47 FROM ARMOURTECH THAN YOU WILL UNDERSTAND WEIGHT
   

milo6699 Tuesday, November 18th, 2008 | 8:50 pm PST
Is the collaspable stock removable?
   

sledgehammer Tuesday, November 25th, 2008 | 7:31 am PST
yes there is a screw under the tip of the stock by the reciever just remove it and the stock will slide out
   

HCBS Saturday, May 23rd, 2009 | 9:20 pm PST
i dont think you know what your talking about

this gun cannot have a5 barrels, it has 98 threads,
it has 4 fire modes
and you dont know the definetion of GROUPING
which is wat you call the distance between shots aimed at the same target... you are not helpful, and actualy misleading.
   

HCBS Saturday, May 23rd, 2009 | 9:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jjohnson12
Shodan561, your post is very helpful, but can you tell me if you have had a chance to look inside the grip and see if there is any way to put an egrip in it or if you would have to do a little work in it to install one.

Thanks


this guy is an IDIOT, one you dont use ANY a5 parts, use the 98 cstom cyclone

and YES you can install the egrip, there is a package you can buy that is just the e grip, and if you buy it from a store they will do it for you
   

HCBS Saturday, May 23rd, 2009 | 9:27 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Shodan561
At the moment having a 98 custom with a flatline could be just on par with the ABT in range, though im certain the ABT may have a power and efficiency advantage, the real reason why the ABT is so cheap is that you can really do much to it after you buy it, aftermarket upgrades can be found, but honestly if you plan on upgrading more you are better off with you 98, also the ABT egrip batt is a standard circuit battery, when it dies all you have to do is open the slot on the side of the gun and replace it, when it dies in game however the gun will stick to the last mode used, exept full auto, i heard also that the gun may feature a responsive trigger too that after 4 pulls then hold you can get full auto without the need of the battery no biggie there, quality wise the ABT is worth much much much more than for what it sells at, and yes the army does use this for paintball purposes, all in all, if you wise to flesh out your gun, you may want to stick with your 98, however if you wise to have an all ready supurb gun right outta the box, then the ABT is for you

if you arent a fat lazyass, and take any amount of time, you can do EVERY THING you could do to the 98 to the AB... and RAP4 has TONS of ups for it
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media