paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Volksjager06's Review / Comments on Volksjager06's Review / Comments on Volksjager06's Review / Comments on Volksjager06's Review / Comments on Volksjager06's Review

Comments on Volksjager06's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Volksjager06 Wednesday, February 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Electric spyders
SP Ion
SP Shocker (which isn't really similar at all)
Tippmans
PMR with busted eyes
Marker Setup: Black '06 Shocker SFT
NOX bolt
NDZ HE firing can
Virtue Board
CCM frame
NDZ Slik trig
Silver CP Shorty reg
Limited Ed. Hybrid NBK grips
Black & Silver SP Q-Lock feedneck
Hybrid Quarter-turn On/Off ASA & rail
Freak kit & All American
Dye 2pc Ultralite


Black Smartparts Ion
SP 360 QEV
Tech T L6 Lightning Bolt
NDZ Blade trig
SP Q-Lock feedneck
Dye Sticky3 grips
SP S-Rail & On/Off
14" SP Progressive '06 barrel
ViewLoader eVLution 3 hopper
Dye Rhino '07 Tank Cover
Pure Energy 48/3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
There really isn't a point in upgrading this marker as its meant to be a cheap, entry level gun. The barrel is worth swapping if you really want to spend the money, but a board upgrade wouldn't be worth it as the Vibe is blind anyway.
Strengths: Light
Air Effecient
Co2/HPA operation
Cheap
Weaknesses: Cheap
No Eyes
11bps capped
Unattractive styling
Review: I'm going to start out by saying this marker serves its intended purpose well. This marker is meant to provide ENTRY LEVEL PLAYERS an electronic marker with "high-end" features. The features include BOB design, electro-pneumatic operation and the "speed" of an e-trigger (although this is negated, but I'll get there later).
My biggest problem with this marker is the lack of eyes. I don't understand why they wouldn't include that feature in this marker as even low-end e spyders have eyes. Simply including a ball detection system would greatly improve this marker's functionality. I've heard that the Vibe rarely chops but I believe that is because of the board's e-cap.
This marker is programmed to not fire above 11BPS, no matter what. Any part swap you want to perform on this marker (short of a new board, I suppose) won't make the SP Vibe any faster. With this in mind, as long as you've got a revvy or some type of semi-force feed loader as part of your setup, you shouldn't be able to chop. I would have been much more impressed with this marker had they simply installed a set of eyes (break beam or reflective for all I care, something is better than nothing) and at least raised the cap on the board. If you plan on continuing in the sport of paintball, you will quickly become frustrated with the vibe as you walk your trigger at a rate higher than the marker is able to fire.
This marker is pretty sturdy, but that is because it is made of plastic. I understand this is meant to cut on both price and weight, but it makes the Vibe just plain ugly as well as scratch-prone.
All in all, I understand the market SP was trying to reach, but for the $150 price tag, you could get a spyder with eyes. I detest spyders, but I feel that if you're going to pay that much for an e-marker, it should at least have some form of ball detection.
Conclusion: This marker is for beginners ONLY. If you plan on playing tourney ball, find something else. If you plan on advancing in your sport, choose a marker you can grow with. Pick something with more features and more upgrades on the market. This marker is like a bike with permanent training wheels.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 5th, 2008 at 8:43 am PST
 

Review Comments
NinjaDragon23 Thursday, February 28th, 2008 | 9:24 am PST
I agree, get a spyder with eyes instead. I think sp introduced this because of the now $225 ion xe, and they didnt really have a cheap intro-level anymore, not calling the ion xe a non-intro gun, in my opinion, both are entry level. But I never knew this didnt have eyes, and, capped at 11?
   

Volksjager06 Monday, March 3rd, 2008 | 2:01 pm PST
Yup. Blind and e-capped.
   

Focus02 Friday, March 7th, 2008 | 9:16 pm PST
It sounds like you never even played the marker and simply wrote a review based on what you 'think' the marker will be like.

The marker does have ball-detection, its just not in the form of eyes..

The reason the Vibe/SP-1 doesn't need eyes is because the low-force bolt actually does its job. I've put over 8000 rounds through mine, sometimes crappy paint, sometimes crappy conditions where other markers were having alot of problems, mine never broke a ball in the breach, ever..

You can also check the videos on various sites that demonstrate the bolts anti-chop capability. (including someone who fired it with their tongue in the breach like the automag vid from long ago).

I have a spyder with the ACS bolt, so I too was skeptical of the Vibe/SP-1's ability to not chop, but in this case, the Vibe works, where the spyder ACS is just crap..
   

Volksjager06 Tuesday, March 11th, 2008 | 2:25 pm PST
I have played with a vibe. I work at a paintball field and I've ran at least one game with quite a few different markers, And an anti-chop bolt is not a paint detection system at all. A paint detection system would not allow the bolt to cycle if no ball was present in the breach, thus saving air by not cycling unnecessarily (increasing the marker's efficiency), also the wasted cycle is part of the 11 bps the marker is supposed to fire. When this marker cycles at a max of eleven shots per second and three or four of those shots are misfires, the fire rate essentially drops to 7 or 8 bps. And if the low-force bolt is so much better than a true paint-detection system, why do only the cheapest of Smart Parts markers use them?
   

FISTFULLOFRODEO Saturday, March 22nd, 2008 | 4:03 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Volksjager06
I have played with a vibe. I work at a paintball field and I've ran at least one game with quite a few different markers, And an anti-chop bolt is not a paint detection system at all. A paint detection system would not allow the bolt to cycle if no ball was present in the breach, thus saving air by not cycling unnecessarily (increasing the marker's efficiency), also the wasted cycle is part of the 11 bps the marker is supposed to fire. When this marker cycles at a max of eleven shots per second and three or four of those shots are misfires, the fire rate essentially drops to 7 or 8 bps. And if the low-force bolt is so much better than a true paint-detection system, why do only the cheapest of Smart Parts markers use them?

- I agree with you about the wasted gass by the dry fires produced by a marker without a set of eyes installed. Eyes really help conserve that extra air.

However, you compleatly lose me when you talk about the bps drop. This makes absolutly no diffrence between a marker equipt with eyes or a marker with an anti chop bolt, if there is no ball in the chamber, there is no ball going out the marker. An anti chop will still fire, and a marker equipt with eyes will not, in both cases a paintball never leaves the marker and the shots per period will be lower than the trigger pulls per period. the solution to both of these problems is to have an agitated hopper to pick up the slack and cause paintballs to fall into the feedneck. The advantage of eyes in this case is so minimal that its not really even worth arguing. This advantage is reduced even further when the vibe's competition is added to this equation. The Targets of this marker are low end markers such as the 98c and the Vs1. In the 98's case the anti chop tech is more primitive than the vibe's and more harsh than the vibe. if you want to argue for the VS1, you have to take into thought the nature of a sear tripper. if you are really going to split hairs, the time taken away by the eye to no eye advantage is reset by the time taken to reset the hammer on the sear and the time taken to reset the marker into its past position after the marker walks from its added internal movements (hammer and bolt, plus the Spring tension). All in all its really not worth measuring, just like the disadvantage from the lack of eyes. This could go on all day...but i will stop. This is after all a review site and part of having reviews is expressing personal opinions. Even though your review dissappoints me, you also have many valid arguments twards this marker, and i compleatly respect your opinion. The market the vibe is being released into is a market quickly becoming more and more competitive and in that right, Smartparts has given the vibe some hefty disadvantages twards the competition. and one of these disadvantages is the markers eyes. Many of your arguments i compleatly agree with. Thank you for writing an informative review. I respect your opinion.
Last edited on Saturday, March 22nd, 2008 at 4:04 pm PST
   

Volksjager06 Wednesday, April 30th, 2008 | 9:31 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by FISTFULLOFRODEO


- I agree with you about the wasted gass by the dry fires produced by a marker without a set of eyes installed. Eyes really help conserve that extra air.

However, you compleatly lose me when you talk about the bps drop. This makes absolutly no diffrence between a marker equipt with eyes or a marker with an anti chop bolt, if there is no ball in the chamber, there is no ball going out the marker. An anti chop will still fire, and a marker equipt with eyes will not, in both cases a paintball never leaves the marker and the shots per period will be lower than the trigger pulls per period. the solution to both of these problems is to have an agitated hopper to pick up the slack and cause paintballs to fall into the feedneck. The advantage of eyes in this case is so minimal that its not really even worth arguing. This advantage is reduced even further when the vibe's competition is added to this equation. The Targets of this marker are low end markers such as the 98c and the Vs1. In the 98's case the anti chop tech is more primitive than the vibe's and more harsh than the vibe. if you want to argue for the VS1, you have to take into thought the nature of a sear tripper. if you are really going to split hairs, the time taken away by the eye to no eye advantage is reset by the time taken to reset the hammer on the sear and the time taken to reset the marker into its past position after the marker walks from its added internal movements (hammer and bolt, plus the Spring tension). All in all its really not worth measuring, just like the disadvantage from the lack of eyes. This could go on all day...but i will stop. This is after all a review site and part of having reviews is expressing personal opinions. Even though your review dissappoints me, you also have many valid arguments twards this marker, and i compleatly respect your opinion. The market the vibe is being released into is a market quickly becoming more and more competitive and in that right, Smartparts has given the vibe some hefty disadvantages twards the competition. and one of these disadvantages is the markers eyes. Many of your arguments i compleatly agree with. Thank you for writing an informative review. I respect your opinion.


I really can't argue with somebody who takes the time to write a respectfull and well-thought dispute. But my point in commenting on the eyes was that a marker that fires on a half-loaded ball has actually wasted time cycling and will sometimes force the ball back up the feedneck, forcing the shooter to wait for the ball to load again. This is all negated by the eyes ability to allow the marker to wait a split second before firing. This allows the shooter to conserve a few precious PSI as well as split seconds on his firing rate (which do count when you're considering the fact that cycles and shots only take split seconds). I also agree that this marker outdoes most of its competition. But I would argue that while seers are horrible operating systems, spyders are able to outperform this marker in a great deal of departments besides perhaps weight. Many spyders are able to cycle at high rates of fire even through such limitations as spring tension. The point I was making by mentioning the electronic cap was not that the Vibe is slow. In fact it was just the opposite. I'm quite sure this marker could cycle quite fast if SP hadn't CAPPED it. The cap was more than likely a marketing ploy which would later force the owner to upgrade his/her board if that person wished to shoot faster some time down the road.
Also, I think its horribly unfair that this review got a 1/6 positive feedback simply because fanboys feel their maker deserves a 10. I did not bash this marker, I simply shared my experience with it. I am glad that there are some people who can read a review and digest it with a degree of maturity.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media