paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on VonOrt's Review / Comments on VonOrt's Review / Comments on VonOrt's Review / Comments on VonOrt's Review / Comments on VonOrt's Review

Comments on VonOrt's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

VonOrt Tuesday, March 11th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidators, DM's, Quest, Mini, Over 20 yrs of exp in the game I've shot them all
Marker Setup: Mac Dev Droid out of the box
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bob Long Marq
Strengths: Light wieght
not bad looking
Weaknesses: See the review
Review: This is my review of the Mac Dev Droid. To say I'm sadly disappointed in this marker would be an understatement. For the price of this gun and supposedly being a high end marker it came up way short of my expectations.


The bad:

1) The biggest issue I had with this marker was it would not shoot solid paint. Something that you would expect from a $1000 marker. The gun was not chopping paint. It was breaking paint about 1" down the barrel. I shot 7 different brands of paint. Including winter shell paint that dropped from 6' and bounced off of concrete. This paint was all fresh and purchased from my local pro shop. All of the tested paint shot fine through my Intimidator, Mini, and Blazer. I also tried at least 4 different barrels on this gun to no avail. Thinking it might be a barrel issue, I put the Mac Dev barrel on my Intimidator and had zero problems. I was shooting semin uncapped with a brand new Reloader B. The hopper was set for the highest speed but that did nothing for the issue. I also tried to slow the hopper down thinking it was too much pressure on the paint. This did not help. The same hopper was used on the highest speed on the Intimidator and the Mini with no issues.

2) Now some will say I'm being nit picky at this point. But the finish on the gun was not that great. You can see brush marks through the anno. Sorry if your trying to market this as a high end marker and charge high end price for it, everything should be perfect. I have seen better anodizing and polishing on mid range guns like PM7's.

3) The screw in the top of the gun that holds the drive train in place looks cheap and Spyderish. This is something I would expect on a $200 gun, not a $1000 gun. At least on the Mini they use the grip frame screw to accomplish the same thing. (and a mini is only $325)

4) Effeciency was no where near the advertised numbers. Using a 45/4500 tank witha a good 4000 psi fill, I was lucky to get around 800 shots. I do not call that effeceint. With the same tank and fill I can nearly get 2000 rounds through my Intimidator.

5) Shoot ability was so so. I'm not one that will say a marker has "recoil", as I reserve that for real firearms. But this marker definetly has a muzzle climb to it. Making it harder to keep on target when attempting to fire long strings. Of course firing long strings was usally only about 10 to 20 balls before it would start breaking paint.

Conclusion: Overall I think this gun is way overpriced, and just not that good. I have shot many mid level guns that out perform this marker in pretty much every category. And they cost significantly less money. Overall I would give this gun a 1 out of 10. And personally I don't think I will ever shoot a Mac Dev product again. I have no faith in the product or the company. This marker was a total waste of money.

edit*
Just received information from the person I sold this gun to. He had the new bolt and new software installed from NOX. He says he used the gun over the weekend with no problems. I'm glad its working for someone. Does it change my view of the gun, not really. But I will say at least MD stepped up and started making a new bolt. Was that the issue I have no idea.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 11th, 2008 at 2:36 pm PST
 

Review Comments
ikey Tuesday, March 11th, 2008 | 6:28 am PST
you got a complete lemon. this should be one of the best guns ever made in paintball. you should have tested/got a different one.

about the shot count? im sorry your lieing. no gun in the histroy of paintball can get 2000 off a 45/4500. if there is, it would be a phantom pump. 800 off a 45 with a 4000 fill? thats decent. i guess it should be better. exected is like 1700+ off a full 68 4500.
   

VonOrt Tuesday, March 11th, 2008 | 7:30 am PST
If you read my comment, I said I can get nearly 2000 shots off a 45/45 with my Intimidator. Its a Dragon that has been fully upped to 2k5 standards. I never said I can shoot a full case off the fill.
   

TippmannCCI Tuesday, March 11th, 2008 | 8:42 am PST
whoa so if i hooked up my Phantom to one of those your saying i would get a case off of it? I might have to try that
   

TPD Tuesday, March 11th, 2008 | 9:17 am PST
If you used a 45/45 with a phantom you'd probably get around 1000-1500 shots.

If you're Dragon gets nearly a case off a 45/45, no matter what its set up is, I give you props-any gun that get that many shots off such a small tank deserves great credit.

Have you tried contacting Macdev? The fact that you don't have any explanation for why the paint was breaking in the barrel, other than your opinion that the gun sucks (which, while it might be justified, it way to vague/ambiguous), make me want to second guess this review. However, it's your experience, not mine.

Try contacting Macdev. Not only will they replace you equipment if this is what happened out of the box, I'm sure they'll really do some nice, and apparently deserved, brown-nosing. Update your review after you contact Macdev. The fact their product ships from the other side of the world might have caused the product to decay, but it's more likely you, as said above, just got a lemon... not that it's an excuse for a 1000$ marker not working.

What's your timmy setup? Inputs? Dwell? Valve? Ram? Bolt? LPR? Reg? I want to know how you do it...
   

Mxshadower Monday, March 24th, 2008 | 4:15 pm PST
if you sold the gun to someone and they simply got the new bolt which was broken with yours why would you give it a 1? thats like saying:

I broke my gun and didn't fix it so i sold it to some guy who fixed it so
   

Nurg1234 Friday, April 4th, 2008 | 3:18 pm PST
Dispute:
I think you problem may have been similar to mine and the reason the paint may not have been making it through the barrell was that the bolt was sticking and not allowing the shot to completely make it out of the barrell before the next shot rammed into it. I would have liked for mine to work flawlessly out of the box as well but alas it was not possible. I do not see the review as valid for the marker was not really operational and firing properly which makes the review inaccurate . Since you have sold it and now it works flawlessly it makes me wonder if you took the time to look into what may have been causing your issues because there is not much to fixing this marker at all as it's construction is really simple. I think it just needed to be broke in a little before you gave it such a bad review. I bet if you got it shooting or the guy that got it working properly lent it to you for awhile to actually review it I bet your outlook would be alot different then a 1.
   

Sencha Saturday, April 12th, 2008 | 4:58 pm PST
Also although Mac Dev is based out of Australia (not quite all the way around the world) they do have a service for North America. Any problems anyone has with their guns can be taken care of in the States. If their is a problem you can't fix or figure out the gun doesnt have to go far. I don't think anyone should criticize this player for giving it a one. Any player, with 20 years experience, who gets a gun that doesn't work properly out of the box would be miffed. But any player with more than 2, yes 2, years experience would have been able to fix it rather than make it out to be the worst when they could've easily fixed it.
   

charlesph Sunday, April 27th, 2008 | 8:58 pm PST
Did you even relube it when you got it? You can't expect something that has been riding around in a truck for 8 days to come and the lube be perfect. Take it apart lube it, put it back together. It wasn't getting good efficiency because it needs to be broken in. Your retarded if you think a brand new marker will perform to it's capabilities brand new that would explain the kick as well. You probably had the defective bolt and valve. you should attempt to fix it and get the v2 parts before giving something a bad review. MacDev has very good customer service
   

fallenAngel13 Friday, June 6th, 2008 | 8:22 pm PST
hey annyone notice he got to know how efficient his gun was but it woulnt fire paint........... and why would paint break an inch down barrel you might of had a gun shooting very hot but that is all i can see that would cause that kind of break and the kick so and it was probably loud so you are probably an idiot....... the other thing why would you not try to contact macdev.... I think this is fake to many holes in story and you realize all effieciny are based on 45/ 68 not your tiny dxs 45/45 1600 shot accomidate for tank size 1100 shots is about right on normal firing gun but firing at 350 fps you might lose ohhh... 300 shots
   

VonOrt Tuesday, June 17th, 2008 | 3:11 pm PST
FA13.. I was able to get maybe a hopper through it at times. I checked the guage on the airtank before I shot a hopper through it. Then I checked it after. Its really not that difficult to figure it out from there.

The gun was chronoed at 275 - 280 just like all of my guns are. So no it was not shooting 350. Maybe if you were there you might be able to tell me what the chrono speed was. I had a ref standing right next to me. He read the chrono also. Just because your a fan boy and probably sponsored by MacDev. Does not mean you know everything about every gun they have produced.

As far as contacting MacDev. I sent it out to my teammate who was supposedly contacting MD about this. I found out later that MD says they never heard of the problem. The teammate says he told them about it. He sent me the gun back and said it was working. I lubed the gun and once again nothing but goo. I stand by my review on this.
   

VonOrt Wednesday, June 18th, 2008 | 5:12 pm PST
I guess I'm your number 10 then buddy. I"m not here to make personal attacks on you.. like you are obviously here to do to me. I've been in this game since 1985. I'm sure you have seen more in your 4 years than I have in 23. I don't go out and bash on equipment just for the heck of it. But when I buy a $1000 gun I expect it to perform. This gun did not do that. When I bought my Intimidator I pulled it out of the box it worked. When I bought my PM7 I pulled it out and it worked. My Marq, out of the box and it worked. The Droid.. out of the box did not work. If MacDev or any of their oh so loyal fans would like to send me another one at no cost. I would be more than happy to test it and right a second review. But I"m not going to drop another grand to do so.
   

empire33 Sunday, August 10th, 2008 | 10:57 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by ikey
you got a complete lemon. this should be one of the best guns ever made in paintball. you should have tested/got a different one.

about the shot count? im sorry your lieing. no gun in the histroy of paintball can get 2000 off a 45/4500. if there is, it would be a phantom pump. 800 off a 45 with a 4000 fill? thats decent. i guess it should be better. exected is like 1700+ off a full 68 4500.

wow ok your a moron bob long guns can get 2000+ on a 68/4500
   

cwoertel Monday, August 11th, 2008 | 3:42 pm PST
I have been playing paintball for 16 years. Bob Long guns get no where near 2000 shots off a 68/45, more like 1700 to 1800 if set up properly. The most you could expect to get out of a 45/45 is 700 to 1200 depending on gun.
   

fallenAngel13 Sunday, August 31st, 2008 | 7:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cwoertel
I have been playing paintball for 16 years. Bob Long guns get no where near 2000 shots off a 68/45, more like 1700 to 1800 if set up properly. The most you could expect to get out of a 45/45 is 700 to 1200 depending on gun.

Do you know what a protege is? Or a vice?
   

TimmY T3H GhosT Thursday, September 11th, 2008 | 4:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by empire33
wow ok your a moron bob long guns can get 2000+ on a 68/4500


he said no guns can get 2000+ on a 45/45
45/45
45/45
the reviewer said 45/45
most of you seem to need to learn the difference.
he was right, most guns are expected 1700+ on a 68/4500
vice and proteges are exceptionally effiecient in current terms.
that does not mean they can get 2000+ shots on a 45/45 because 45/45s are SMALLER
sorry for the redundancy, but it seems to be necessary.
   

pb4life911 Monday, September 15th, 2008 | 3:58 pm PST
I just won this gun at a big game raffle yesterday.... i cant figure out how to change it to semi please help me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
   

zensins Wednesday, January 6th, 2010 | 2:43 pm PST
[QUOTE]
The biggest issue I had with this marker was it would not shoot solid paint.

I shot 7 different brands of paint.

I also tried at least 4 different barrels on this gun to no avail.

The hopper was set for the highest speed but that did nothing for the issue. I also tried to slow the hopper down thinking it was too much pressure on the paint. This did not help.
[/QUOTE]

Roger that. So you never got the marker to shoot "solid paint". Changing barrels 4 times and paint 7 times did not change this. Changing hopper settings did not help. Understood.

[QUOTE]
But the finish on the gun was not that great. You can see brush marks through the anno.
[/QUOTE]

I agree that the finish on the frame could be better. But what you're seeing is milling marks, not brush marks. I'm no fan boy, and I'm wiling to acknowledge LEGITIMATE complaints about any marker.

[QUOTE]
4) Effeciency was no where near the advertised numbers. Using a 45/4500 tank witha a good 4000 psi fill, I was lucky to get around 800 shots. I do not call that effeceint. With the same tank and fill I can nearly get 2000 rounds through my Intimidator.
[/QUOTE]

Lemons happen, which could explain this, but since the guy you sold it to managed to get it running great with new bolt and board, that narrows it to those two things. If it was the board, then it was the SETTINGS on the board, most likely, and much more likely than a defective board. (When a board dies, it usually dies hard and identifiably.) A really screwed up dwell setting could cause poor efficiency. But if it wasn't that, it could have been a cracked bolt under an o-ring caused by overpressurizing. Either case seems plausible with the bolt & board replacement equaling a complete fix. Either case could have been user error, and each case should have been easy for an experienced marker owner to diagnose. A little research would have uncovered the bolt crack with overpressurizing problem on the v1 bolts. Sending it to MacDev for a check would have also completely and quickly solved the problem, even for a new player. Why didn't you send it in if it didn't work right BNIB?

[QUOTE]
5) Shoot ability was so so. I'm not one that will say a marker has "recoil", as I reserve that for real firearms. But this marker definetly has a muzzle climb to it. Making it harder to keep on target when attempting to fire long strings. Of course firing long strings was usally only about 10 to 20 balls before it would start breaking paint.
[/QUOTE]

Excessive "recoil"/barrel rise/breaking paint can also happen from overpressurizing. It's starting to sound a lot like your buddy bought your Droid, replaced the bolt you cracked, and fixed the screwed up board settings by putting a new board in. Bet he got a good deal on the Droid too, and now it rocks.

As several people have pointed out, what you said paints a confusing picture about your experience with the marker. Because above, you say it never shot solid paint. But now it did shoot solid paint, 10 to 20 balls. I guess you were just exaggerating in your first, number one, primary statement, "it would not shoot solid paint." And you managed to gather all of this data on efficiency, etc., when obviously the marker was malfunctioning in a HUGE way. Can you really say you have "3 months experience" with the Droid when you never got it to shoot more than 10-20 balls without a malfunction? I can understand being pissed about buying a marker and it not functioning out of the box. I can even understand wanting to slam it on pbreview. But you can't have it both ways. Either the marker functioned enough to be able to fairly review things as specific as barrel rise and efficiency, or "it would not shoot solid paint". Your review would be a lot shorter and succinct if you'd just said "Broke paint habitually out of the box, never worked properly until bolt and board were swapped." And I would be a lot less skeptical about its accuracy if you had returned the marker to MacDev when you couldn't fix it, because that seems like the common-sense thing to do in your situation.
Last edited on Wednesday, January 6th, 2010 at 2:44 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media