paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Fuse-BLC's Review / Comments on Fuse-BLC's Review / Comments on Fuse-BLC's Review / Comments on Fuse-BLC's Review / Comments on Fuse-BLC's Review

Comments on Fuse-BLC's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Fuse-BLC Thursday, March 27th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 1
Angel Fly
Proto
Invert Mini
AutoMag ULE
Spyders from way back when.
Tippmann's from the 98 to the X7.
Marker Setup: Many. Playing since '97.
Strengths: Supposed to be accuracy, rate of fire, weight, ease of bolt mechanism...
Weaknesses: Lemon?
Review: After the first afternoon of playing(65 degrees and sunny), while the gun still worked, the velocity started going flat.
Made some adjustments. Gun would not fire. Leak developed in the front on/off air to gun.
Okay, switch out O rings. Leak develops in back bolt. Okay, switch out O rings.
Leak develops under solenoid to body seal. Okay, re tighten/grease. Leaks in all three
places now. LPR adjust, HPR adjust, pressure to minimum. Nothing.


So I have a 1400 dollar paperweight.
Been reading a lot of forums and have seen this all over. Don't know why they are having so many problems with the 08 series, but they are. Especially the air on/off.

Buy at your own risk.
Try a 7 series first. Its proven and 400 dollars cheaper.
Conclusion: After this experience with my first Dye product, I will probably never buy Dye again.
Its a shame, cause they do have a good general rep.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 14th, 2008 at 11:41 am PST
 

Review Comments
Xtrovert Friday, March 28th, 2008 | 3:40 pm PST
No offence, but because it broke down once, you cant call it bad, maybe you didnt have the tech knowledge to fix it!
   

McEd Saturday, April 5th, 2008 | 10:25 pm PST
Dispute:
you obviously got a lemon or u can't handle this awsume gun. either way it does not deserve a 1. this review should be deleted
Last edited on Saturday, April 5th, 2008 at 10:26 pm PST
   

vail209 Tuesday, April 8th, 2008 | 5:13 am PST
Dispute:
false
   

DoMin8tor76 Thursday, April 10th, 2008 | 10:35 pm PST
Dispute:
Dude the DM8 is by far the simplest gun to maintain. I've worked with Autocockers and cheaper guns that cost me a lot more work than DMs. I dont know if this is some stunt youre trying to pull off but come on Ill bet you dont even own a DM8 so go play with your mini and when you get some simple tech knowledge, move up to the big guns and see how wrong you are
   

Fuse-BLC Monday, April 14th, 2008 | 11:24 am PST
I am surprised by the negative feedback.
But for 1400 dollars, I expect quality. As I should.
Not a newb, don't work for Mini, been playing since 97. Longer than some of you have
been alive, I'm sure. If you want a lesson, meet me on the SPPL field...

Update.
Yes, I got a lemon. After I took the gun apart, and guessed it was the solenoid. I was right. Turns out it was un-repairable. The tech guys couldn't even figure it out in two weeks. So they finally sent me a brand new marker.

The review may have been harsh, but if it wouldn't have been so if it were not my experience. Perhaps there is a design flaw in the new mods. I know previous DM's
have had good reputations. So we'll see if things change with my new marker.

Last edited on Monday, April 14th, 2008 at 11:28 am PST
   

i3en Monday, April 14th, 2008 | 8:20 pm PST
if your admitting you got a lemon raise the rating to what i deserves, every company sells a gun that dosent work out of the box every once in a while, they dont test them before they sell them so what do you expect??? and just for the record i dont think that any 11 year olds on a Dm8, and just cuz youve been playing a long time dosent mean your not a noob
   

jjlaxdog Wednesday, April 30th, 2008 | 12:54 pm PST
That is one of the dumbest things i have ever heard. he is so stupid
   

ProtoDyeFan100% Thursday, May 15th, 2008 | 3:30 pm PST
Change your rating please, it is totally killing the overall rating, and you even ADMIT that you got a lemon!! i think this is total BS.
   

pbeer&metallica Friday, May 23rd, 2008 | 4:44 pm PST
if what you are saying is true why dont you do a review on the new marker you recieved.....oh and for everyone else reading this its obvious he is a old man that hates speedball because he cant keep up with the younger players and thats why he plays in the sppl
   

fantinelj Monday, May 26th, 2008 | 11:11 am PST
Hi there. Sorry to hear that you've had a run of bad luck with this marker. I happen to work on weapon systems, including electronic, pneumatic, optical, and guidance oriented for a private organization. I am in no way affiliated with Dye or any paintball related organization in the world, save for as a customer and a recreational (non-competitive) player. However, I have a very hard time believing that a Dye would have so many problems. Have you contacted them in any way?

Howver, I am offering to repair this marker for you for $20 plus any parts that I would have to buy. The $20 is simply for my time, and to keep from being flooded with the would be free loaders. I would inform you ahead of time of what parts are needed, and if you prefer that I don't do the work, then I would simply email you back my findings, and mail/hand deliver your system back to you for free. One last thing, I would ask that you pay for shipping to get the weapon to me, if you decide to mail it.

If I do make repairs, adjustments, and EVERY problem is not resolved, then I will not expect a dime, and repay you for the shipping/delivery expenses that you experienced to get the marker to me. I am also prepared to buy you out of the marker if need be.

Please email me if you are interested. I would be more than happy to arrange a deposit with you for your marker via paypal. This is not an advertisement, or solicitation, but rather some advice, and an offer to help you with your marker, and to let me see it with my own eyes.


PS Have you tried using "Sleek" grease on the internals? The stuff works great.
   

SHOEI03 Monday, May 26th, 2008 | 8:22 pm PST
I got my DM8 in December 07 - since then the only problems I've had is my battery going weak and having to replace it!

change your rating or delete it!

you don't see any of us dogging your mini.
   

Anti-Revolution Sunday, October 24th, 2010 | 4:53 pm PST
you guys need to chill. first of all the guy said "lemon?" which would prob mean that he doesnt own 20 DM8s, and he doesnt know how often this gun goes bad. secondly, just cause you guys a dye-fanboys doesnt mean you gotta brain wash yourselves into believe they are perfect markers. the guy got a bad gun, so why shouldnt a bad gun be factored into the overall rating? you guys cant take the truth.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media