paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on chirs4's Review / Comments on chirs4's Review / Comments on chirs4's Review / Comments on chirs4's Review / Comments on chirs4's Review

Comments on chirs4's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

chirs4 Friday, April 25th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 63 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Ego Etek2, stock barrel
Strengths: fps consistency in low speed setting (214 fps allowed in Germany), spare part kit included
Weaknesses: Kickback, loud, old style shape, bolt exposed to any kind of dirt
Review: I just bougth the Etek2 and cant get used to it. Usually I play a Shocker NXT and the difference is amazing.

The Etek feels light and "handy" but it has really a kick back, while you shoot.

As it is an open bolt marker, its also quite loud.

Third weakness is the bolt, that sticks out of the back of the marker. If some sand or dirt should come in contact to this area, it may harm the gun. I dont know why it is not protected.
On the other hand the bolt ist very easy to strip and clean.
The gun uses a good and easy set up system on the back of the grip. Different shooting modes are available and the ramping is quite nice.

It reminds me of the "Smart Parts Impulse" gun. Kind of old school.


Conclusion: I will sell my Etek2 and try something else.
You have to try this gun before buying it. Lot of people here in Germany like an play it. But if you are used to a silent and soft shooting gun like the shocker, you probably wont be happy playing the etek2.
Rating:
4 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Slevin138 Sunday, April 27th, 2008 | 10:21 am PST
Dispute:
This reiview is very inaccurate because he does have any proff for what he is saying
   

fallenAngel13 Sunday, April 27th, 2008 | 1:28 pm PST
you realy switched from a shocker to an etek that is sad that you would do somthing like that switching from the quitest gun on earth to an etek. loud is not even a weakness if your using it to play speed ball like you should be. and to get dirt in the bolt the hopper would have to be off and even then you would have to drop the thing you havent used the etek have you realy no way you liked the why would you buy it if you thought the bolt out back was a bad idea and you should know all eclipse gunz are loud and kick a little except sl74 sl8r ego 8 and other zick kit guns so you never bought this gun you probaly have and used ion w/ no ups, gravity hopper and CO2 tank you wish you had this gun you sad little girl :-O< LIES!!!!!!!!!!!
Last edited on Monday, June 2nd, 2008 at 5:53 pm PST
   

englypb4 Sunday, April 27th, 2008 | 3:21 pm PST
i think that eclipse would think over the bolt being out the back if it was a problem.
   

etek king Monday, June 30th, 2008 | 7:34 pm PST
I think that 4 out of ten is unreasonable but if you hate so much then you should sell it to me for cheap. Here is a note, I have ties with a person in Indonesia who could sell me this for $215 slightly used like yours so try to beat it, nevermind this comment if you already sold it.
   

jablasta5150 Monday, September 29th, 2008 | 7:34 am PST
wow you have never really shot it have you???? the etek2 has like no kick and who cares if its loud and like others said before me WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO GET THAT BOLT DIRTY???!!!!!
   

riguy156bear Monday, March 16th, 2009 | 5:06 pm PST
Dispute:
just not true
   

helpgeo5 Thursday, April 30th, 2009 | 3:08 pm PST
Dispute:
i have used one and havnt found any of the weakness you found
   

NDpaintballFAN Monday, June 22nd, 2009 | 1:53 pm PST
Dispute:
This gun has hardly any kick at least not enough to actually affect the accuracy. Two, dirt getting on the bolt won't damage the gun and if it did then why would they design the gun that way. And three, yes the gun is loud but when you are playing xball it doesn't matter if you gun is loud or not.
   

PBplayer1202 Sunday, July 5th, 2009 | 9:39 am PST
Dispute:
   

eclipseninja Monday, August 3rd, 2009 | 1:40 pm PST
4 out of 10 is very unfair for just the loudness and kick, if kick is a huge problem, get a zick kit
   

agedude Friday, October 2nd, 2009 | 7:52 pm PST
Dispute:
you are not giving your opinion of the marker, you're giving your opinion of poppet valve markers.

it's hardly a great idea to fail a marker on preference, don't you think?
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media