paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on DeFinate's Review / Comments on DeFinate's Review / Comments on DeFinate's Review / Comments on DeFinate's Review / Comments on DeFinate's Review

Comments on DeFinate's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

DeFinate Sunday, May 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann X7 - primary, the rest i've just tried out on many occasions
Tippmann 98
U.S ARMY/Tippmann Alpha Black
Smart Parts Ion
AutoCocker


Marker Setup: Tippmann X7-basic:
12" Lapco 'apex ready' barrel
Apex (tip)
Tacamo 416 shroud
all the TECH T upgrades (for slightly more air efficiency and for zero chopping problems)
Liberty Car-stock
UTG foldable grip handle
UTG rear sight
BSA 40mm Red Dot

Sp-1 (first edition, without select fire upgrade-YET*)
J&J 14" ceramic barrel
Double Trigger





Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel- the stock barrel is fairly good on its own surprisingly.. but J&J barrels are relatively cheaper and gives great results.
Strengths: Inexpensive
Light weight
Easy to maintain
Light Trigger

Weaknesses: -Flashlight mounting
-Rails on the markert.
-screws on the rails
-feed neck placement
Review: UPDATE- 07/30/08

Apparently, the price has gone up for the marker, the original price was $149.99, which was a great price for this marker.. HOWEVER, it is now being sold @ $174.99-179.99

Smart Parts reasoning is due to the cost of shipping and materials...

This slightly changes my review for the marker.

The one of the main interest and draw to the marker was the fact that it was a relatively inexpensive marker for what you are getting, compared to the others available.

I still stand by my review in most parts however, for the new price 179.99, you are pretty much getting closer to other markers which are just as great, if not better for the extra money. granted 25 dollar increase is not much, but in terms of tax, and marker worth... other marker alternatives seem a little more beneficial. - end update.




- I mostly play milsim and at one point was looking for an inexpensive alternative milsim marker. I checked out the Sp1 and after awhile of doing some research on it, i picked it up. I've had the Sp1 for some time now, and it has been a great back up marker for me. I usually run with a rifled Tippmann X7 and realized that my local fields are smaller than i can move around with, holding a X7. The Sp1 is perfect for those tight spots and CQBs you may encounter. It is a light marker, and fairly durable to sustain typical in game damage any marker occurs. The Rate of fire is only decent, the stock sp1 (no select fire) caps it at 11bps but the trigger pull is very light so rapid fire is only a matter of how fast your trigger finger is. It's also decent on air efficiency whether be Co2 or HPA.. it operates on low pressure.

The gripes i have with the marker is the fact that the feed neck for a hopper is right in the middle of your line of sight. If you feel like having a red dot/ scope.. you pretty much forced to get an offset rail. The rails itself on the marker is larger than most standard rails out there. So fitting could be a problem if your rail or scope/red dot does not have the proper screw length to clamp on the marker. Another problem, that is if you don't mind it.. is that the battery inside the handle.. rattles and shakes inside.

Since its a mil-sim marker, the marker itself is not very customizable. It looks like a pistol, something like the pistol from the movie ROBOCOP. It doesn't look bad, least thats open for discussion. You can't make it look like anything else, and accessories are few and far in between for the time being that is.

Its a great back up, i wont front. For 149.99 you get a solid marker. To be honest, 149.99 is the perfect price for what you get. Anything higher well.. thats definitely debatable.

8.5/10

Quick summary:

IS IT WORTH IT? for 149.99 it is.
WILL IT BREAK EASILY? not really, its pretty sturdy.. composite material, and less moving parts. Just be careful about removing those screws.. they tend to grind out its screw hole and become very loose.
SHOOTS OKAY? pretty much, stock rate of fire of 11bps w/ a very light trigger pull
CAN I ADD PERFORMANCE PARTS? well, not so sure.. it shoots great as it is stock
CUSTOMIZABLE? Nope.. it's not like the X7, A5.. so no G36c, M16 etc type sp1's unless you have a great imagination, talent and time to make one
WHATS AVAILABLE THEN? few Tippmann Stocks work, only with that adapter plate, a double trigger, and thats about it really... gotta wait for the rest of the stuff.
Conclusion: Its a great back up, i wont front. For 149.99 you get a solid marker. To be honest, 149.99 is the perfect price for what you get. Anything higher well.. thats definitely debatable.

Smart Parts actually did something good with this Sp-1 Marker. Granted it's an Ion in a milsim body.. but its only 149.99. All that matters for this type of marker, and for its market is that as long as it shoots great, won't break down, easy to maintain, and with a fair retail price... then thats all that matters. Fortunate enough.. the Sp-1 is all that. A very good marker for what its worth.

8.5/10
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 30th, 2008 at 5:53 pm PST
 

Review Comments
sledgehammer Tuesday, May 20th, 2008 | 5:47 pm PST
the sp1 as far as iam concerned looks just like the real life mp7 pdw( personal defence wepon) if you add lazer and red dot site i have fired one on the weekend and was instantley immpressed, iam going to buy one in a couple of weeks, it is very lite and compact not big and combersome
   

DeFinate Thursday, May 22nd, 2008 | 10:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sledgehammer
the sp1 as far as iam concerned looks just like the real life mp7 pdw( personal defence wepon) if you add lazer and red dot site i have fired one on the weekend and was instantley immpressed, iam going to buy one in a couple of weeks, it is very lite and compact not big and combersome

Not quiet an MP7 if you really look at it, however i definitely want to put a sliding stock on it. If i could just get rid of that front handle and add a foldable one.. an MP7 look would be very promising.

Definitely pick up that Sp-1, this thing is no joke... a very solid marker for Rec-ball and milsim. Low maintenance, shoots great, decent on air, and cheap.
   

sledgehammer Friday, May 23rd, 2008 | 1:33 pm PST
OK folks i never thought that smart parts could come up with somthing that could match tippmanns in reliability , man was i wrong i just bought myself one today and put my revie on it with half a loader full of paint and ( i must stress this) an almost empty 20 co2 tank on remote, it shot every ball far with no chops whatsoever, this could be possibley the best anti chop bolt ever made, then i used the gun all day last sunday with not one chop, thats probley 2500 balls and i got almost a case off one with one tank, incredible! the sp1 will shoot till the tank is bone dry. I love it!!!
   

Chaotic_diablo Saturday, October 17th, 2009 | 6:09 pm PST
Where can i find this 'custom mod CASV'? and the G36C rail.
Is the Rail a A-5 attachment? Feedback is much appreciated ^^
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media