paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on -Viper-'s Review / Comments on -Viper-'s Review / Comments on -Viper-'s Review / Comments on -Viper-'s Review / Comments on -Viper-'s Review

Comments on -Viper-'s Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

-Viper- Monday, June 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock paddles
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5: WAS board / Low Pressure Kit with Palmer's Fatty running @ 350psi / Freak kit & Flatline / Smoke Ricochet / T6 Adjustable stock / TechT Vortex / TechT squishy paddles / Palmer's QEV / ST drop and on.off asa / Macro / Shocktech Superfly bolt / JCS Redhot powetube / Trinity spring kit (hard) / Lightened valve spring / Polished internals
-Dangerous Power G3: stock Deadly Wind Whisper barrel coming soon
-Smart Parts ION: CP trigger / ST drop and on.off asa / ND QEV / Freak kit
Strengths: Soft
Weaknesses: Dumb product overall
Review: Seriously, lets all take a minute and think about how many times the "too hard" stock paddles have broken paint. I would say that the idea should be obscolete. The product, in my opinion, is just one to say your Cyclone has been upgraded this much more. In no real way does this help out with anything. Take a look on youtube and watch how many videos have A-5's running at higher speeds, most likely with stock paddles unless stated, and see how many Cyclone breaks they get. I doubt you will see any.

I've never had a problem with my god forbidden stock paddles breaking paint, the only reason I purchased these was to work my way down the path to a completely aftermarker A-5. A year ago I shot some Ultimate Chronic paint at a scenario game, while Chronic is known for it's extremely brittle shell and ability to break, I had absolutely no problems with the stock paddles at 15bps. The paint never made it past any branches it was so brittle, but it had no problems with the Cyclone. I thought it was a neat idea and all thinking that the paddles would be semi-soft but when I recieved them in the mail today, the idea went right out the window. I do like the lime green color though :).

Don't listen to the people and the hype about how they aren't breaking nearly as much paint as they were. They are really just trying to justify their purchase. It really is just hype. This product from TechT really fails. This isn't the case however for the QEPH and Vortex. I swear by my Vortex, these paddles just serve no real purpose.

I have yet to play with the new paddles but when I play, IF I notice any sort I difference, I will update my review. But don't hold me to anything, as I am not looking to be surprised.
Conclusion: 5 is average. That's what this product gets.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 17th, 2008 at 7:28 am PST
 

Review Comments
Xmarkerman Monday, June 16th, 2008 | 2:51 pm PST
Also you gave Squishy Paddles only average rating of "5" I think this is a good review. Breaks inside Cyclone are rare and only time can show if this product is really worth buying.
   

LordOdin99 Wednesday, June 18th, 2008 | 2:51 pm PST
Most people that have a problem with the cyclone creating a "blender" with the paint get the squishy paddles and a lot of them get rid of the problem. Coincidence? I think not.
   

-Viper- Wednesday, June 18th, 2008 | 8:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by LordOdin99
Most people that have a problem with the cyclone creating a "blender" with the paint get the squishy paddles and a lot of them get rid of the problem. Coincidence? I think not.
A lot of people also do not know how to properly diagnose a problem correctly. If they see paint in the Cyclone they sometimes automatically think it's the Cyclone. Could be leftover paint from chops. How do they know?

You talk like you have seen so many accounts of Squishy Paddles saving the day which I seriously doubt. The Cyclone turning into a blender is not as common of a problem as you would think. If it was, the Cyclone would not have the great reputation that it does. Don't talk like you think the Squishy Paddles save the day. Sometimes it might, but most of the time it will not have a good enough affect to make the purchase worth while.
   

LordOdin99 Thursday, June 19th, 2008 | 9:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by -Viper-
A lot of people also do not know how to properly diagnose a problem correctly. If they see paint in the Cyclone they sometimes automatically think it's the Cyclone. Could be leftover paint from chops. How do they know?

You talk like you have seen so many accounts of Squishy Paddles saving the day which I seriously doubt. The Cyclone turning into a blender is not as common of a problem as you would think. If it was, the Cyclone would not have the great reputation that it does. Don't talk like you think the Squishy Paddles save the day. Sometimes it might, but most of the time it will not have a good enough affect to make the purchase worth while.

Firstly, don't offer a review of a product before you even try it. You hear of a product and pass judgement on it before you have even used it. It's biased and untested.

Secondly, I have used my paddles and can say whatever I think about them based on my experiences. You have outright stated you have no experience with them at the time of your post. So by default, I know more about these paddles than you do.

Thirdly, from what time I have spent on the A5OG, I have heard enough stories to know that they do in fact work. If you still doubt me, then head on over there and read a few threads. Do your homework before you make blanket statements.
Last edited on Thursday, June 19th, 2008 at 9:05 pm PST
   

LordOdin99 Thursday, June 19th, 2008 | 9:43 pm PST
Dispute:
Totally biased and untested. 100% opinion; 0% experience.
   

utterslax Sunday, July 6th, 2008 | 11:14 pm PST
Dispute:
You know, I felt the same way you did at first. Never had I had any chops in my cyclone, so when I ordered the 3 other TechT upgrades (Vortex Mod, Lightning Rod, QEPH), I left these out, didn't need them.

These paddles are made to be used in conjunction with the other 3 mods. As soon as the other 3 were installed (correctly, had a proshop check just in case), they sped up the stock paddles so much, I had a blender. At least it proves those 3 do their job in speeding up the feed rate. I quickly realized that that's why these paddles were made.

Now, I haven't used my A5 since installing the paddles, but I'm sure they fixed the problem. Once I do use it, I'll post all of this in a review.

Bottom Line: Not necessary unless you have the other 3 cyclone upgrades. If you do, then these are essential.
   

termitemfp Monday, December 8th, 2008 | 1:57 pm PST
I completely agree with LordOdin99. 100% opinion. Go get the Cyclone upgrade, lightning rod and QEPH. It has a stronger spring in the Lightning rod causing the stock paddles to cut through the balls. like utterslax its a must, but for you to make a review and bring down the overall review of the product you sir can kiss my ass. I think the paddles are great and they made my paintball experience that much worth while.
   

Xmarkerman Saturday, February 7th, 2009 | 8:36 am PST
Dispute:
Squishy Paddles make the whole difference. I haven't cleaned my cyclone during 1 year of use. Why? There is no need to----it's clean.
Squishy Paddles is a must upgrade for cyclone.
Last edited on Saturday, February 7th, 2009 at 8:37 am PST
   

Scarecrow :) Friday, April 17th, 2009 | 8:45 am PST
This is a great product! have you ever used a E-grip with the stock peddals? You are bound to brake a ball in the cyclone if you shoot at high rates of fire!
Let me guess you probably used this product once and decided it did not work! You have to use it over a period of time to tell if it really works!
   

Gunny1970 Thursday, January 28th, 2010 | 5:31 pm PST
Squishy paddles save the day!!!
   

Grey Saturday, February 13th, 2010 | 11:24 am PST
How can you review something that you never used?

My original A-5 had problems breaking paint in the cyclone over a year ago, I installed these and I have broken a single ball in the cyclone since...period. Also since then I've installed a set in a second A-5 I had, my new X7Phenom and my best friends X7, which was previously chopping paint in the cyclone. No chops on any of them. I'm not saying their perfect, but they come close.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media