paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on maxamillion71's Review / Comments on maxamillion71's Review / Comments on maxamillion71's Review / Comments on maxamillion71's Review / Comments on maxamillion71's Review

Comments on maxamillion71's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

maxamillion71 Friday, June 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
08 Ego
Spyder VS1
Tippmann A5 eTrigger & Flatline
Marker Setup: Electra 08
Halo Hopper
68/4500 HPA
9.6 volt Spyder battery & charger
Recommended
Upgrades:
9.6 volt Spyder battery & charger
Strengths: Ramping modes make it wicked fast,
stock barrel is suprisingly accurate,
Weaknesses: battery & charger Not included
seems to be rough on paint in the cold weather
Review: (Update 26 Dec 2008):
My Electra stopped firing a few weeks ago so I sent it back to Kingman. The tech called me the other day and said that the problem was I had replaced the main spring with an after-market 32degree spring kit (which I did because I couldn't get the velocity over 230 fps no matter what I did). Anyhow, they replaced the spring and claim that it is working fine, they also said that to get the velocity up around 280 fps that you need to adjust the inline regulator as well as the velocity adjustment screw.

So the moral of the story is: don't replace the spring with an after-market spring kit.

(Update 17 Aug 2008):
OK. here is an update.. I came into some money recently so I splurged and spent $1250 on a brand new 08 Ego, truly the best of the best, no doubt. But to be honest, the 08 Electra is in the same class as the 08 Ego, it just happens to cost $1000 less than the Ego. What I have observed: the 08 Ego is far more consistant (it truly does shoot ropes), which means when you are on target you get 4-5 hits per kill versus the 08 Electra which has a wider shot grouping, which one might argue gives you a statistical advantage of getting paint on target than a tighter shot grouping. Also, I typically play walk-on paintball at the local fields and I find it easier to get into games when I am playing with the electra than the Ego. The 08 Ego is far more intimidating than the Electra(sorry, but it's true). So, if money is a factor, then the 08 Electra is by far the best dollar-for-dollar marker I have used. The other difference is that the 08 Ego operates at a lower operating pressure so it is easier on the O-Rings. I have blown through several O-Rings on the Electra and it is a bit of a pain to constantly troubleshoot air leaks every time you play...

Look & Feel:
It's a sexy marker, no doubt about it. It's light weight and well balanced with a 68/4500 tank and Halo hopper. It actually feels more like a high-end marker than any other low-end gun I've ever used. The trigger is sturdy and easy to adjust to any taste.

(Update 26 Dec 2008):
Barrel:
Originally I had posted that the stock barrel was more accurate than my J&J ceramic, which I still believe to be true. However, I have since purchased a 2-piece 14" All American Barrel and that seems to be the best barrel I have found. I haven't done an exhaustive barrel to paint test, but I typically try each barrel at the chrono everytime I play so that I get the best paint-to-barrel match. So far the 14" All American barrel seems to be the most accurate.

(Update 26 Dec 2008):
Paint:
Originally I posted that I had gone through 5-6 cases of paint with no breaks. I have now gone through probably 9-10 cases and I have only had problems with barrel breaks when the temperature was below freezing. I have found that the Electra has far more barrel breaks than my A5 or my Ego.

Battery:
It's nice that it works with regular 9volts, but to be honest I was pretty disappointed that it didn't come with a battery & charger. Even my VS1 came with a rechargeable 9.6v battery and charger. Personally I would recommend getting the 9.6v rechargeable Spyder battery & charger, the battery is a snug fit in the grip and you really don't want to be cracking open the grip every time you play to replace batteries.

6 Aug 2008 (update)
After a few long days of play I have found that the Electra 08 seems to drain the battery faster than my Spyder VS1. Twice now, towards the end of the day the marker stopped working due to low battery.

Rate of Fire:
It has both PSP & Millennium Ramping modes so it is insanely fast.

(Update 26 Dec 2008):
Feedneck:
Originally I didn't care for the twisting-style feedneck of the Electra, so I think I was unfairly harsh on it in my review. The more I have used it the more I am starting to like it.

Pistol Grip:
The CAM is great, easy to use and very easy to understand. On a personal note, I prefer the VS1 pistol grip over the Electra's. I think I like the VS1 grip better because it's more of a true 45 pistol grip, and the rubber membrane on the VS1 feels more comfortable to me.

Cleaning:
Here is why I love Spyder markers, they are a breeze to clean. Slide the bolt out the back, run a squeegee through it, and you're done.
Conclusion: The Electra 08 far out performs it's price tag. Add on a decent hopper, battery & charger, and possibly a new feedneck and you have a marker that will run with just about anything out there, at any price range.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 26th, 2008 at 9:18 am PST
 

Review Comments
victo808 Monday, November 17th, 2008 | 8:24 pm PST
hey there i just bought a spyder electra 08 and got it in the mail today.... but the rate of fire is slow like 12-13 bps.... can you tell me how to set the rate of fire to the maximum wich i think is 25 bps please????
   

alejocabral Monday, December 15th, 2008 | 10:33 pm PST
what type of upgrate clamping feedneck fit with this marker¿? thanks
   

jjgoforward Monday, December 21st, 2009 | 1:21 pm PST
Nice review! Interesting that you are able to compare the 08 Ego to this 08 Electra. I guess that the extra$1000 doesn't get you that much if you are a rec player.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media