paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on vendetta-rw's Review / Comments on vendetta-rw's Review / Comments on vendetta-rw's Review / Comments on vendetta-rw's Review / Comments on vendetta-rw's Review

Comments on vendetta-rw's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

vendetta-rw Friday, August 8th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned:
DM's, shockers, droids, egos, pretty much everything
This marker's shot feels like that of an impulse
Marker Setup: Stock G3
Halo
45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator
Strengths: Very light
Small yet easy to hold
Weaknesses: Consistancy: Reg
Accuracy: Barrel/Reg
Review: I was very impressed with this gun upon opening the box. It was small, light, and easy for an adult to hold. The trigger frame and trigger felt a little cheap to me. The trigger had some side to side play and had that metal on metal click. The grips did not fit flush against the frame so there was a little give when you squeze the grip. Also the ruber grips are extremely hard.

I took the gun out and shot it. It wasnt great over the chrono 5 +/- but it was alright. The gun has a little bit of kick about like a impulse or automag. As far as accuracy, using ultra evil left over from chicago, I could hit 4 in tree consistantly. The verticle accuracy of the gun was unacceptable due to the 5 +/- though.

I took the gun to mess around with it on wednesday practice. I still could not get consistancy. I lubed the reg and dry fired the gun through a couple of tanks. The gun then started shooting 8+/-. I put a dye reg on the gun and the consistancy improved alot 3+/-. On the field the gun performed well, it was easy to shoot and includes psp ramp settings. The accuracy of the gun was decent but not up to par with the mini in it's class.

In closing I was not to thrilled with the marker. I talked with my team mate who techs guns at the field and he said he noticed a lot of the regs coming back with problems, and problems with the front O-ring.
Conclusion: I grade guns on an even playing field according to the year they came out. This gun being an 08 model has some pretty stiff competition. A perfect mid range gun deserves a 7. Due to the fact that the gun has a couple of design flaws I am going to give it a 5. This gun is not the magic marker we have all been waiting for that has the quality and performance of $1000+ dollar guns with a $400 price tag. Between other guns in its class- rails/slgs, minis, ions, ect... it scores in the middle of the pack.
Rating:
5 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Streetfire Saturday, December 6th, 2008 | 12:26 am PST
Dispute:
ok if your complaining about +/-5 you shouldnt be buying a gun in this price range let alone under 1000.

the tech your refering to is talking about idiots that overtighten the reg and ruin the seat. $5 replacment from dp that wont let you do it again.

as for similar products this gun rises over the slg, rail and ion by far. the mini is the only thing close enough to it to call it a competitor.
   

PUL5E Wednesday, December 31st, 2008 | 3:05 pm PST
A gun does not make a gun ACCURATE. Doesn't anybody know now. Its the paint to barrel bore size match that makes a gun accurate. This whole review is just inaccurate. Please delete.
   

ajyizzle Sunday, January 25th, 2009 | 12:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by PUL5E
A gun does not make a gun ACCURATE. Doesn't anybody know now. Its the paint to barrel bore size match that makes a gun accurate. This whole review is just inaccurate. Please delete.

Do not forget that the overall feel of the gun plays a huge roll in accuracy. If you're uncomfortable shooting a blocky cocker with its weight and huge parts, then it could lead to innacurate shooting.
   

*DASH* Friday, March 6th, 2009 | 10:37 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by PUL5E
A gun does not make a gun ACCURATE. Doesn't anybody know now. Its the paint to barrel bore size match that makes a gun accurate. This whole review is just inaccurate. Please delete.

PUL5E, this is blatantly incorrect. A good paint to barrel match is necessary if one wishes to make sure the marker is accurate in the horizontal plane and that the paintball isn't being misshapen in the barrel (which would cause an erratic flight path). However, a specific marker's consistency at the chrono has a HUGE effect on accuracy. It is simple physics. If one's paint is flying at different speeds from ball to ball, the ball trajectories will be different.
Last edited on Friday, March 6th, 2009 at 11:14 am PST
   

nathan0317 Thursday, May 21st, 2009 | 8:02 am PST
screw this guy he is retarded and i have been using my g3 for a couple of months now and nothing has gone wrong. this guy is wrong just delete tis review
   

marineau Wednesday, October 7th, 2009 | 4:02 pm PST
What reg do you recomand?? is a CP good for a G3?
   

akmay5988 Wednesday, November 11th, 2009 | 8:13 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by *DASH*


PUL5E, this is blatantly incorrect. A good paint to barrel match is necessary if one wishes to make sure the marker is accurate in the horizontal plane and that the paintball isn't being misshapen in the barrel (which would cause an erratic flight path). However, a specific marker's consistency at the chrono has a HUGE effect on accuracy. It is simple physics. If one's paint is flying at different speeds from ball to ball, the ball trajectories will be different.


paint to barrel match has been proven to be the least consistent option. under-boring will be consistent, as well as up the efficiency a little, and over-boring will be consistent, and be a little less efficient, but will be easier on paint.
   

Kenny13 Monday, November 16th, 2009 | 9:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by akmay5988


paint to barrel match has been proven to be the least consistent option. under-boring will be consistent, as well as up the efficiency a little, and over-boring will be consistent, and be a little less efficient, but will be easier on paint.


Proven by who? Several tests have been done, and unless using extremely fragile paint, bore matching is still considered the standard.


And in response to the review, I have to agree with Streetfire, if your only complaints about a $300 marker are +/-5 fps and the barrel, you shouldn't even be buying anything below the $850 mark of lower high ends.
   

Suzerain13 Thursday, February 11th, 2010 | 11:12 am PST
dont complain about a gun this good, in my opinion it beats the s**t out of most guns in its range, and many more above it. you have no clue what your talking about
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media