paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Spartan0220's Review / Comments on Spartan0220's Review / Comments on Spartan0220's Review / Comments on Spartan0220's Review

Comments on Spartan0220's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Spartan0220 Tuesday, September 23rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Progressive, Tear Drop, Flat Line
Marker Setup: I used to have a Tippman 98 Custom. Now i use only a Tippmann A-5 with a collapsible stock, Tru-Glo Halo Red Dot sight, M-16 for arm, and a Tippmann X7 Hopper on the A-5
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nelson Anarchy is the most reliable and Accurate paintball EVER Made Its Perfect for this.
or second best is DraXxuS Recsport.
Strengths: Accuracy
Accuracy
Accuracy
Intimidation
LOUD!!!
Weaknesses: None, except if you like quite barrels then this is not for you.
Review: OK... The Barrel is Great! I can not express this enough. Its made by Hammer Head. The riffling in the barrel makes the ball spin to increase accuracy which leads to tighter groupings. At 50 yards i can constantly hit a paper plate EVERY TIME. Also with the barrel being riffled it puts such a spin on the ball it flies faster through the air which will allow you to be able to turn your CO2 velocity down to save air. I shoot 16oz CO2 tanks with my velocity turned a little above 1/4 of the way up but well below 1/2 way and at 50 yards the paint balls are not dropping a bit and on top of that i leave a welt through two t-shirts. Again that's at 50 yards YA IT HITS HARD!!. ( Just think of it as a pitcher throwing with the same amount of energy and power, a fastball compared to a knuckle ball... enough said ). I have had only 1 ball break in the barrel out of 5000 shots and believe it or not the barrel is very easy to clean. i recommend a squeegee with one of those fuzzy cloths on the end to get between the riffling grooves. The best part tho is the Straightline is LOUD!!! some people don't like that but i do. Because when your sitting around with your buddies before the game and shooting around they will see how accurate it is and how hard it makes the balls hit it puts a fear factor into the game when you start shooting at somebody. I Was on top a hill in the woods over looking the playing field when i shot at my friend during a game his entire team heard that A-5 go off and they all jumped into cover. I started laughing.
Conclusion: Great buy this product if you have the money you will no be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Lenny17 Wednesday, September 24th, 2008 | 5:44 am PST
Ummm....

Is this the first kit you've ever used? Efficiency goes up due to properly sizing the back, and not because of the spin induced by the rifling.

Also, do you guys not chrono your markers? Sounds to me like you are shooting hot.
   

Candymanson Monday, September 29th, 2008 | 3:18 pm PST
Dispute:
Too many inappropiate claims, including:

"with the barrel being riffled it puts such a spin on the ball it flies faster through the air" - wrong - velocity measured at the muzzle decreases more or less the same way with any kind of paintball, rifling has nothing to do with that. As Lenny properly asked: weren't you shooting hot? Try chroning your marker before posting a review.

"rifling (...) will allow you to be able to turn your CO2 velocity down to save air" - wrong - the appropiate bore match (paint-to-barrel, or in this case paint-to-sizer) tends to save gas, not the rifling. Another way to save gas is a barrel with no porting, so watch out when comparing barrels.

"the riffling in the barrel makes the ball spin to increase accuracy which leads to tighter groupings" - doubtful - I seriously doubt the rifling, because the principle of angular momentum in rifling applies only to cylindric ammo. A bullet shot through a rifled barrel will have a lateral spin so as to keep a trajectory parallel to the ground, with the tip always pinting forwards. Paintballs are spheres, so their axis fumbles around a straight barrel: there is no "tip", there is no tendency to fly paralell to the ground, there is no rifling principle involved.

Tu sum up: accuracy comes from a proper bore match. Tippmann Straightline is accurate because of the sizers, NOT because of the rifling. Also, if you want to comparte this barrel to similar products used, you should compare it to barrel kits such as The Freak, Empire Revolver or many other kits with inserts or sizers. Comparing it to one-piece barrels will always tend to say it's more accurate.
   

ImperialBunny Tuesday, October 7th, 2008 | 2:23 pm PST
Candymanson; you bring up some good points in some errors in this review andseem pretty knowlegdable (sorry I can't spell) about how markers opperate, but I have one question.

I know paintballs are completly unlike firearms so this is just a speculation on teh effects of rifling, but I know for a fact that rifling on muskets that fire round shots is much much more accurate.

I'll admit I'm a history nerd and the invention of rifling on round bore ammunition revolutionized war. I also own a rifled black poweder musket that fires round shots and that thing is dead on accurate (i'm probably better shooting it than my AR-15 LOL)

BUT, I know there are a million of differences between firearms and paintbal markers, paintballs aren't lead balls by any means, all I'm suggesting that is to me, proper rifling seems like it would increase accuracy.

   

Candymanson Wednesday, October 8th, 2008 | 9:29 am PST
I doubt that a musket would shoot better than a AR15 (though I admit that M16 and M4s are full of flaws!) but yes, maybe you could say that being lead the conservation of momentum is far greater. But definitely a bullet with a wider axis (even the 9x19 Parabellum) would take advantage of that, as of aerodynamics at least. Paintballs are lighter, slower and slippier: the nut makes a perfect bore-to-pellet match, but the rest of the pipe doesn't.
   

BigDaddyJob Wednesday, October 15th, 2008 | 6:33 am PST
Well to throw in my two cents on this matter... I have owned and shot many rifles/muzzleloaders/paintball markers/etc. The reason that muskets are more accurate is that the lead ball deforms slightly in the barrel due to the heat and accelleration, causing it to take an almost enlongated state and act as though it were a sabot style round. Add rifleing and youve got a modern rifle/bullet effect.
Paintballs don't (or very minimally) stretch or deform to your barrel so this effect is very minimal to a paintball. If we could make "bullet" shaped paintballs... WOW!, we would see a whole new world... but I dont know about you guys, I dont want to see the price of paint go up any more....
Last edited on Wednesday, October 15th, 2008 at 6:35 am PST
   

Candymanson Thursday, October 16th, 2008 | 8:48 am PST
Thing is, if we could make bullet shaped paintballs, they'd still be filled with gooey paint! The fact that they're not solid makes it more difficult to mantain the gyroscopic momentum.

Please do read an article of Automag on the matter (written quite a few years ago), remarking the importance of the fill in paintballs, which prevents them from taking advantage of the rifling effect. A friend of mine commented about it, when remarking ImperialBunny's comment on lead round-shaped musket bullets: http://www.automags.org/resource/tech/tomstech/03_spinning.s
html
   

TheKing187 Monday, October 27th, 2008 | 7:19 pm PST
Unmm im confused the first guy said it was quiet but this guy said it was loud? Could someone clear this up. Im thinking of getting it for my X-7.
   

MightyMace Thursday, October 30th, 2008 | 6:32 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TheKing187
Unmm im confused the first guy said it was quiet but this guy said it was loud? Could someone clear this up. Im thinking of getting it for my X-7.

I think this guy is wrong, its got the same design of muzzle on the tip as most hammerheads do, therefore the sound is directed back at the shooter.

So you hear more noise but the person you are shooting at hears less.
   

TheKing187 Friday, October 31st, 2008 | 5:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by MightyMace


I think this guy is wrong, its got the same design of muzzle on the tip as most hammerheads do, therefore the sound is directed back at the shooter.

So you hear more noise but the person you are shooting at hears less.


OK thanks MightyMace
   

ImperialBunny Friday, November 7th, 2008 | 11:40 am PST
Candymanson, good call, thanks. I would def. say that my AR-15 is more accurate, just I'm only a decent shot, but for some reason I hit things more with the musket, but then again thats not entirely fair because I shoot the AR-15 long ranges and the musket not so long, but still its impressive.

And from what I've read Mightymace is correct, it's louder to you because the air is blown back at you.

One interesting thing that is kinda irrelevant is that as far as muskets go, I've been told that there have been competetions between groups of guys with AR-15s vs. blackpowder guys, and the blackpoweder guys usually win. now take into account that they use rifled muskets with regular bullet shaped rounds and do precise meauring on the powerder ect.. but still, I thought that ws crazy.

Back on topic... I wish there were more reviews, because i'm debating between another stiffi and this barrel for my A5 (had a stiffi for my 98 that was AMAZING), from what I can tell it's a really accurate barrel, the rifling may or may not help (and is a pain for cleaning out breaks, unlike the stiffi) but it has some interesitng features like the reverse porting sounds like an advantage, def. in the woods with those loud blowback guns.

Ideas?
Last edited on Friday, November 7th, 2008 at 11:43 am PST
   

Candymanson Wednesday, December 17th, 2008 | 6:47 pm PST
Hi, Bunny. I'd say that you probable want to invest on some sort of barrel kit with sizers (like this hammerhead, or the freak or the empire revolver), because the accuracy is given by the paint-to-bore match.

Maybe you shoot good quality paint that comes always in the same caliber, but you guys up there tend to have scenario games with field paint only restrictions. With any kind of kit, you'll get the best results you can get, all the time.

But maybe you worry more about the sound...
   

ImperialBunny Thursday, December 18th, 2008 | 9:09 am PST
well Id rather them be able to hear me and me be able to hit them then try to be stealthy and be less accurate :P

I considered getting a elite jandj barrel kit awhile back, and actually but i got a 12 inch jandj to test it and it literally cut paint like a flamethrower. my friend tried it and got the same results, and this isn't just breaking from badly matched paint this was just unacceptable performance period.

but ok... this kit does have the sizers which is good, any opinions on the palmer barrels? I've read reviews in which the guy though his palmer outshot his hammerhead barrel. Its true that palmer doesn't have ball sizers though, although I've read some interesting things about palmers elliptical honing

generally i don't play at official fields or events, but I am planning attending dday, but a kit sounds win win either way
   

xshawk Monday, February 16th, 2009 | 8:04 am PST
while new to paintball I've been shooting for quite a while, and there's a couple things I find interesting both in the review and in the comments...

rifling works on both spherical and cylindrical rounds... the lead deforms into the rifling which then spins the round as it moves down the barrel.
it works better on cylindrical because there is greater contact area in the bore and therefore more spin...

the idea of deforming a paintball in the barrel, just doesn't sound productive...
deformation would lead to a whole series of other problems, the most likely being consistent breaks in the barrel.

but the straightline has inserts! which (when used properly) provide good paint-barrel match, thus improving accuracy.
inserts also mean that the barrel is oversized, so the paintball WILL NOT be deforming into the rifling... hence no mention of consistent breaks in the reviews posted so far, (except at higher rof, which could be chopping not breaking...)

so what is the rifling doing...?
anything?

hypothetically the air passing the ball (over-sized bore=air can pass) is spiraling down the barrel from the rifling, and could be causing the paintball to spin as well.

or it could be all hype, and the combination of good paint-barrel match and placebo-rifling inspired confidence, is causing better shooting...

I've seen shooters scores improve through absolutely nothing other than belief.
"this is a special ops bullet, it's more accurate than standard ammo, just relax and squeeze it off..."
works every time

xshawk

   

Ace-o-Spades Thursday, June 11th, 2009 | 10:03 pm PST
Candymanson:
First, while I bow to Automag and Airgun Designs for their contributions to the sport of paintball, I'd like to say two words that in effect disprove their article about spinning paintballs:
Flatline barrel.
If paintballs truly weren't able to keep spinning in the air, the Flatline (and the Apex) systems wouldn't work. But, since they do work, I would assume that the paintballs do indeed keep spinning. No matter how many times anyone says it's like spinning "a glass of water with ice floating in it," paintballs can and will be able to maintain controlled imparted spins.
Secondly, Tiberius Arms recently released a very hard-to-describe paintball. Basically, it's a "paintbullet": http://www.mcarterbrown.com/forums/paintball-news/66089-tibe
rius-arms-released-first-strike-true-paintball-sniper-round.
html
As a final note, I have seen slow-motion test footage of the HammerHead barrel being shot, and one can clearly see that the paint is spinning in a weird rifled/backspin kind of way (which the guys at HammerHead apparently were aiming to do, to give it a flatter trajectory): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zt0TKvL19Q
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media