paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on TerribleTom's Review / Comments on TerribleTom's Review / Comments on TerribleTom's Review / Comments on TerribleTom's Review / Comments on TerribleTom's Review

Comments on TerribleTom's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

TerribleTom Monday, June 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RAP4 - Walther P99 Replica .43 caliber
Marker Setup: Primary Marker: Tippmann 98 Custom, Pro Team Commando F/X kit (14 inch barrel, adjustable stock), Dark Horizon Titanium Lite Hammer, custom trigger sear spring, Cyclone Feed hopper, BossMan M16 mag kit - I've never had a ball chop in my Tippy.
Strengths: Well built, easy to use, adjustable velocity, light weight, .68 cal ammunition, MADE IN USA!
Weaknesses: So far, only noticed that its slightly nose (tip) heavy, due to 12g chamber
Review: After my lousy experience with the RAP P99 .43 pistol, I was very leery of buying another pistol of any brand. The desire still lingered however and when I saw the TPX reveal - I knew I had to give it a try. I've had nothing but great experiences with my Tippys in the past and had confidence they would make a great pistol.

After waiting for the preorders to fill, my TPX arrived today (6/1/09). Easy load, easy gas-up with the 12 grams, easy operation. I had not even fired a round and I was impressed.

I set up a paper target in front of a sheet of plywood in my garage. At about 35 feet, one round at a time, while aiming careful...it was very accurate. I watched at least two rounds go through holes made in the paper target from the proceeding round. Granted you could call that luck, but I was attempting to aim as accurate as possible, not rapid fire.

Under rapid fire use, the grouping at 35 feet is excellent. I plan to do more in depth testing this coming weekend, at targets greater than 35 feet. But I already suspect that the results will be good. I will post updates as I test it in greater depth. Keep in mind however, that a pistol will never have the range and accuracy of a well set up traditional marker. Simple physics (length of barrel) will determine that. Don't take a pistol, compare its accuracy to that of a traditional marker, and expect them both to perform the same.

Using cheap Walmart Copperhead 12 grams, I was able to consistently empty three clips. The fourth clip would get off anywhere from 2-5 more rounds before giving out. I had hoped for a little better performance than that. But I'm not giving the TPX any poor marks for it.

The TPX has a pressure valve designed to bleed off any excess pressure. I noticed that the marker did just that. Its good to know it does what its designed to. Pressure spikes can damage internals and cause chopping. Kudos to Tippmann for that thoughtful feature. I did notice velocity changes when firing rapid VS slower one-at-a-time. After a three shot burst, velocity dropped. I waited a moment for the liquid CO2 to warm up and expand, and velocity was back up again. Nothing new to most users of CO2.

I doubt paint quality will make all THAT much difference in accuracy, simply because it IS a pistol. But always recommend a good paint if only to reduce the chance of chopping.

Conclusion: I am VERY glad I bought it, can't wait to try it in woodsball scenario play! I highly recommend this marker. It is cheaper in cost than some of its competition, but not in its quality and performance. The TPX is better served as a back up marker, or for those who prefer to move light and stealthy and go for the one shot kill method. I feel confidant that I could use the TPX as my primary marker in a game and perform quite well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 12th, 2009 at 6:05 pm PST
 

Review Comments
wolftune Tuesday, June 2nd, 2009 | 11:44 am PST
Good review, thanks.

However, regarding the "range" comment, a paintball leaving a TPX short barrel will travel exactly the same distance as a paintball leaving a set up marker with a longer barrel. This is of course assuming velocity is the same, paintball is the same, and there is no spin on the paintball. The only factor that matters is the velocity of the paintball the moment it leaves the barrel, unless there is spin or the paintballs are different masses.

The shorter barrel just leaves less room for acceleration, so it may use more co2 to get to the right velocity than a slightly longer barrel (8-12 inches)
   

TerribleTom Friday, June 12th, 2009 | 6:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by wolftune
Good review, thanks.

However, regarding the "range" comment, a paintball leaving a TPX short barrel will travel exactly the same distance as a paintball leaving a set up marker with a longer barrel. This is of course assuming velocity is the same, paintball is the same, and there is no spin on the paintball. The only factor that matters is the velocity of the paintball the moment it leaves the barrel, unless there is spin or the paintballs are different masses.

The shorter barrel just leaves less room for acceleration, so it may use more co2 to get to the right velocity than a slightly longer barrel (8-12 inches)


Perhaps I was a little unclear. Range would be better defined by muzzle velocity, I agree. I was thinking more along the lines of accuracy. I should have been more specific I guess. In my mind the association I was trying to convey, was that with real fire arms, you wouldn't try to be a sniper at long distances, with a pistol. A rifle with a longer barrel is more suited for that. The same thing applies in general, with paint ball.
   

wolftune Friday, June 12th, 2009 | 8:29 pm PST
Yeah, that makes complete sense. It's going to be tough to hit someone from 100 feet with a pistol, regardless of velocity. I suppose that's what you meant by range.

Thanks again for the review. Still trying to decide whether I make the leap and buy this thing!
   

TerribleTom Saturday, June 13th, 2009 | 7:28 pm PST
I hope I did not give this a good review too soon... I just got back in from my garage after playing with the TPX a little more, and I'm a little worried.

It chopped a paintball.

Now I get to take it apart I guess. I hope this isn't a preview of things to come. I have not messed with the velocity adjustment, however I feel the pistol is firing "hot".

I'll keep everyone posted.
   

TerribleTom Sunday, June 21st, 2009 | 8:40 pm PST
Well... I have not positively figured out why the TPX will occasionally chop a ball. I think its a lot to do with paint however. I took it out to the woods today and tried targets at greater distances than what I can shoot indoors in my garage. I did chop one ball today, out of about 6 clips. Also, when a 12 gram ran out of charge, a ball was left in the barrel. I unscrewed the barrel to remove the ball - and I saw that the paint ball was not round. It was making contact with the top and the bottom of the barrel. This further strengthens my opinion that the TPX might be picky with its paint. All in all - if it chopps one once in a while - I'm not going to cry. The factory barrel squeegee does a very good job of cleaning the breech and the barrel. With my Tippmann 98's I usually disassemble after a chopped ball. I don't think I will need to do that with the TPX.

As for accuracy and range - ooooh I'm loving it. I was shooting at tree trunks up in the air - distances that I honestly can't take an intelligent guess at. EXCELLENT range and accuracy for a pistol. I can live with a chopped ball every once in a while, if I have to.
Last edited on Sunday, June 21st, 2009 at 8:57 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media