paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PistolPete93's Review / Comments on PistolPete93's Review / Comments on PistolPete93's Review / Comments on PistolPete93's Review / Comments on PistolPete93's Review

Comments on PistolPete93's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PistolPete93 Friday, July 3rd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Tippmanns
PCS USP
Sheridan PGP
Sheridan PGP 2K
T68
Marker Setup: Golden Tippmann X7 AK47 RT Red Dot Sight
Ghillie
Pump Traccer with Silencer
Recommended
Upgrades:
Worry about getting it working before upgrading. Tippmann has no right to release aftermarkets until they make the pistol work.
Strengths: Uh.. looks
magazines
???
Weaknesses: Jams
Breaks
Squeaks loud
breaks orings
cant puncture the co2
trigger problems.
RECALLS!
Review: The accuracy of this review is not bias, and shall not be disputed.

I have owned my X7 and loved it for years. I have owned a pcs pistol and a pgp and pgp2k for just as long.

I have never been so disappointed with a tippmann, or any marker for that fact. So Im going to get straight to why this is.

*A month ago* I got this tpx. Awesome. I take it outside, air it up, but wait, I pulled the trigger and nothing happened, so maybe its the cartridge, Ill try a new one. NOPE. This thing had trouble puncturing cartidges, so when the slight chance it did happened, I would pull the trigger and nothing happened. WTF? so I take it apart and nothing seems wrong. Sometimes when I fired it would, and other times it wouldnt. The trigger was having problems reseting.

So I went about all the forums as to why this was happening. So there is a mod where you take a little foil and put it under the cap where the trigger moves the peircing pin. So I did that and now it punctured the co2 better. KEY WORD BETTER! So now, it keeps breaking the oring on the bolt! so whats up with that. (on a side note, I origanally planned to get the holster with it, but couldnt because my store sent them back because they were recalled.)

So I changed this oring on the bolt and when i fired it, it still broke, shattered and flew out the barrel. And top it off it made this horrible squeak when I released the trigger, as loud as the shot was. mmmmmmmmeeeeeeeep. a loud as squeak, that doesnt sound good.
so because of all this I took it back to the store, and here it is.

ME: I bought this a few days ago and have had nothing but problems. it sqeuaks real loud, it keeps breaking the bolt oring

CASHIER: alright, these are pretty new and we havent even taken one apart yet, so im just gonna give you a new one.

He opens a tpx box and says "Ill put a cartridge in to make sure it works." Puts a cartridge in , pulls the trigger, nothing. "Maybe its the cartridge." Gets another 12 gram. still nothing. now he goes to his coworker in back "hey, any tricks for the tpx to puncture cartridges?" so he goes and opens another new tpx. puts air in and it finally fires"ther we go"
and I get a new tpx and leave.

So i dont touch it at all because I know im gonna use it paintballing (which was 2 days ago) So Im with friends at the field and start using it. I noticed during games that when I pulled the trigger sometimes it was delayed, or did not fire until I released the trigger, or after the trigger had been released from the initial pull. So whats up with that. 2 days later. (today) I used it alot at the field. So The first mag I put in, i pulled the trigger, and nothing came out. I dropped the mag and noticed all the balled were stuck and/or jammed together in the zig zag pattern that they are in the magazine. I also expereinced the same trigger problems and puncturing problems.

AND...jamming. a ball breaks and the bolt jams foreward. the bolt stays there until you can pop it back with a squegee.
Because of the small puncture in cartridge, when you try to fire fast, your velocity drops until more air can enter through the regulator.

I truly do not know what to do with this thing. I emailed tippmann when I had the first one, and they told me to send that one in because there was a recall and theywere replacing all the puncture pins with longer ones. Maybe this might solve the problems.

so how about the pros! Yaaaaaah. It looks cool....
it uses magazines...
as for acuracy and shots per 12 gram....

I am not impressed at all. accuracy is not any better than ant other piistol, so whats the hype about that?. and for gas consumption, I only get about 18 shots. 2 times less than a pgp(obviously) but it is still less than my usp which uses a cocking bolt.(I can get 25)

Truthfully this pistol doesnt perform much better than any other. until tippmann fixes these flukes, itll stay that way. I know I am not alone with these problems either. Much talk on the internet about the cartridge thing. along with the squeaking.

UPDATE AUG 9 09
I sent in my tpx on july 27 and it was signed at the factory on the 28. i live near chicago and the factory is in fort wayne in. Its aug 8th and I havent recieved it back...

Update aug 22 09
I recieved my TPX back 2 weeks after it was recieved by tippmann. It came back with a new adjustable co2 cap. It still squeaks loud, and i was told this would go awa with normal use. We'll see. I only put 2 cartridges through it, and most of the stuff was solved, except for the squeaking and it wanted to break a lot of paint.
Conclusion: Im sorry. This doesnt perform better than any other pistol. Accuracy, 12 gram capacity, and reliability have all been taken into account. I much earned 3. And I understand how some of you are thinking :"well you cnt judge the many TPXs by the one bad one you had" well, it wasnt one it was 2 .
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 22nd, 2009 at 9:31 am PST
 

Review Comments
s0509102 Friday, July 10th, 2009 | 11:25 am PST
Dispute:
First of all I do not see a problem with the CO2 because how else are you going to project the paintballs. Second, you can not spell for your life. Lastly, there is nothing wrong with the gun. You are just on the edge that you finally got your Tippmann TPX and it does not work properly. It is going to happen sometimes; with any product. I doubt it very much that you were able to get two Tippmann TPX pistols with the same problems; just not going to happen, unless you decided to lie in this review. Tippmann will be the best company you will ever purchase from and this product is the best pistol on the market. Thats just the way it is. Thank you.
   

PistolPete93 Sunday, July 12th, 2009 | 12:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by s0509102
First of all I do not see a problem with the CO2 because how else are you going to project the paintballs. Second, you can not spell for your life. Lastly, there is nothing wrong with the gun. You are just on the edge that you finally got your Tippmann TPX and it does not work properly. It is going to happen sometimes; with any product. I doubt it very much that you were able to get two Tippmann TPX pistols with the same problems; just not going to happen, unless you decided to lie in this review. Tippmann will be the best company you will ever purchase from and this product is the best pistol on the market. Thats just the way it is. Thank you.

How dare you! Your first sentence doesn't make any sense! I can't spell for my life? It's a lot different when you type for 20 minutes straight, and BTW I skipped a grade of high school. However, I don't disagree that things like this happen with all products. And I'm pretty sure that I am on my 2nd TPX that is still showing symptoms of these sme problems. The serial numbers are 3631 and the newer one is 4225! Hmmm, at least I have proof to back up what I say, unlike yourself. Tippmann is the best company? Hmmm, obviousely not... They make great markers but stuff like this happens when companies try new things. How long has Tippmann been making Pistols? Less than a year? Exactly! So when it comes to pistols, They're new. So maybe you should think before you insult someone who has been paintballing longer than you, and actually has shot a Tippmann TPX, unlike yourself.

Schrauben Sie Sie und bekommen Sie ein Leben, weil Sie ein noob sind! Danke, kommen wieder!
Last edited on Sunday, July 12th, 2009 at 12:14 pm PST
   

gumby13 Sunday, July 12th, 2009 | 8:30 pm PST
I have to ask are you sure you actually have a tpx ? I own two and both are in prime condition and anyone that i've talked to loves theirs . are you sure you're pulling the trigger all the way back because the thing requires you to do that .
   

gumby13 Sunday, July 12th, 2009 | 8:36 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by s0509102
First of all I do not see a problem with the CO2 because how else are you going to project the paintballs. Second, you can not spell for your life. Lastly, there is nothing wrong with the gun. You are just on the edge that you finally got your Tippmann TPX and it does not work properly. It is going to happen sometimes; with any product. I doubt it very much that you were able to get two Tippmann TPX pistols with the same problems; just not going to happen, unless you decided to lie in this review. Tippmann will be the best company you will ever purchase from and this product is the best pistol on the market. Thats just the way it is. Thank you.
Ok , dude I disagree with this guy too , but you are way out of line calling him out like that cool down .
   

PistolPete93 Monday, July 13th, 2009 | 9:10 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by gumby13
I have to ask are you sure you actually have a tpx ? I own two and both are in prime condition and anyone that i've talked to loves theirs . are you sure you're pulling the trigger all the way back because the thing requires you to do that .
Are you talkng to me? Yes, I'm pretty sure. I do love my TPX but have been having problems with it. Yes, I pull the trigger all the way back. The problem is the piercing pin cannot puncture a 12 gram properly. Are you sure you own a TPX? Because you probably should have heard about recalls related to the TPX and common problems.
GOOD DAY!
   

Coenen Wednesday, July 22nd, 2009 | 7:35 am PST
Chill out Petey, you bought the first generation of something in paintball, you should've been expecting this. Tippmann will eventually get this business resolved. Also one of the other reviews suggested gluing in a dime or washer as a shim to help with the piercing issues. You might wanna give that a shot.
   

PistolPete93 Wednesday, July 22nd, 2009 | 8:34 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Coenen
Chill out Petey, you bought the first generation of something in paintball, you should've been expecting this. Tippmann will eventually get this business resolved. Also one of the other reviews suggested gluing in a dime or washer as a shim to help with the piercing issues. You might wanna give that a shot.

I did a mod like that to the intenals and it hasnt proved to help much,it makes it squeak really loud, the point is we shouldnt really have to mod our gun to get it to work properly.

I know, I'm not really getting pissed, It's just people saying I "lied" about a gun that is in fact early in production, and the first of its kind from this company.
   

paintballgunne1 Thursday, July 23rd, 2009 | 6:16 pm PST
what co2 12 grams are you using
   

Kjgocha Saturday, August 22nd, 2009 | 5:46 pm PST
Today I tried my new TPX, and had the same issues. I've never been so dissapointed with a Tippmann product. I couldn't get thru 15 balls without a break. The C02 cartidges are extremmely difficult to puncture, and when you do the hole is so small you still have issues.
   

PistolPete93 Tuesday, September 1st, 2009 | 1:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Kjgocha
Today I tried my new TPX, and had the same issues. I've never been so dissapointed with a Tippmann product. I couldn't get thru 15 balls without a break. The C02 cartidges are extremmely difficult to puncture, and when you do the hole is so small you still have issues.
I know, I sent it in for repair and got the new co2 upgrade kit, the puncture hole in the cartridge is still the size of a tip of a pencil!
   

Pr0freestyler Friday, October 2nd, 2009 | 7:08 am PST
I HAVE THE SOLUTION TO EVERYONE'S PROBLEM!! okay, now that I've got your attention,
1) The CO2 issue was a manufacturer issue, which is fixed with a new adjustable CO2 cap to add more pressure to the cartridge so it actually punctures every time.
2) The breaking bolt o-ring. It must be sitting in the notch made for it when you put the gun back together. Its a pain, but it does stop the breaking. if it is left somewhere in the middle (just floating around the spring) you may be able to just shake the gun and have the o-ring shift inside the spring, thus being right in the way of the bolt. Bottom line, try to get that ring in the notch.
3) Chopping balls. Also a pain, but you Have to get Hard/Thick Shelled paint, like Marbalizer (that's what works for me). And on top of that, you can't put your extra mags in your pocket, especially on a hot day. The balls in the mag will heat up, warp and get sticky/squishy. I don't care what gun you use, if you have paint like that, its gonna jam/break. I hope this info helps you guys. If you've got anymore questions feel free to ask on my review for this pistol. Happy paintballing guys.
   

SLO Tuesday, October 6th, 2009 | 2:33 pm PST
read SLO review on TPX
read my review people are doing some crazy stuff to their guns
no tinfoil
no dimes glued in
no paper
hopfully it will help you out
   

DefconFive Saturday, December 12th, 2009 | 11:26 am PST
I have been a very big fan of Tippmann because I own a 5 yearold Tippmann 98 custom that still kicks. I bought the TPX for one day and realised that the price didn't justify the plastic that it was entirely made of. After reading alot of reviews about it having issues, I returned it the next day.

I am so glad I did this. I am waiting for boxing day to purchase a Tiberius T9. I used to hate tiberius but now i realise how good a clip loaded pistol is (with the C02) in the clip as well. Saves you the hassle.
   

Where'sMeShoota Sunday, December 13th, 2009 | 10:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Coenen
Chill out Petey, you bought the first generation of something in paintball, you should've been expecting this. Tippmann will eventually get this business resolved. Also one of the other reviews suggested gluing in a dime or washer as a shim to help with the piercing issues. You might wanna give that a shot.

Actually, for the money that this item costs, I would fully expect it to work... new generation or not. It is the responsibility and obligation of any business to make sure that the product they develop and profit from works properly and as advertised. Period. Though I'm glad that Tippmann will "eventually get this problem resolved," it still deserves every criticism it gets for not resolving this problem BEFORE releasing a faulty product.

Don't make excuses for Tippmann. Yeah, they're a great company that makes great stuff, but the bottom line is that PistolPete's TPX's still had serious and concerning issues right out of the box. Also, I don't understand how when someone posts a credible low review of an item, droves of "proud owners" cry foul or say that it just has to be user error, somehow. Reviews like PistolPete's are exactly the kinds that I look for whenever I'm thinking about buying something new. Most "10-out-of-10" reviews that I read here offer little or no real information about the product itself (don't get me wrong... there are plenty of low reviews that are complete BS, too). But I want to know about reliability issues, build quality, and common inherent problems in the design... not about how "its tha mostest acurate and badass gun and I luv it cuz I own it and I'm a brand loyal slave."

There's my 2 cents. Go buy yourself something nice.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media