paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on AccessTime's Review / Comments on AccessTime's Review / Comments on AccessTime's Review / Comments on AccessTime's Review / Comments on AccessTime's Review

Comments on AccessTime's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

AccessTime Thursday, December 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5.
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 Phenom with stock barrel. Stripped down a bit, no unnecessary parts (ie. fake magazine, front sight and barrel cover, etc.)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel (as necessary).
Strengths: Accuracy, Rate of Fire, Performance, Value.
Weaknesses: Maintainance a little more tricky and definately more necessary than other Tippmanns.
Review: I have used this gun for two partial days of play and it performs well. There is no noticeable kick or recoil and the gun fires as fast as you can press the trigger.

This gun is heavier than most other brands of guns. Around the weight of a standard X-7 or perhaps a tad heavier. But, it feels well-balanced with a heavy tank on the end, ie. a 62 steel compressed air tank.

This gun performs well on the field and in the 1500 balls I fired through the stock barrel, it never chopped a ball. It did chop balls when using a longer barrel but that could have been a bad paint/barrel match. The trigger pull and feel is good, the gun can be built up with accessories or stripped down to your liking. The stock barrel is decent, but I had to break down and get a flatline b'cos I've grown so used to the straighter trajectory.

Out of the box my gun fired well for about 500 shots and then started to leak air. Evidently the valve was not greased well enough and some of the critical parts had no grease at all. Hopefully all the problems are fixed now. If it's necessary to grease up the valve before using the gun at all, the manual should've made this very clear. The manual also isn't clear on how to get to some of the critical parts such as the brass nipple on the bottom of the valve.

Despite the fact it's cheaper than a lot of high-end electrics, this gun has several unique features that make it stand out. It can use either CO2 or compressed air, though the latter is probably a little better for maintainance. It can fire in semi-auto mode mechanically and without batteries.

Update on 1/3/2010 the problem with the valve described above repeated itself several times so I am sending the valve and grip back to Tippmann to be fully checked out and hopefully repaired. I'll update this review once I get it back.

Update on 1/11/2010 I got a call from Tippmann today, they believe they have fixed the problem and I should have my gun back in time for this weekend.

Update on 1/18/2010 I got the pieces back from Tippmann and re-assembled it. Put roughly 1000 balls through it on a half-day of play. Works great, no problems whatsoever.

I did ditch the flatline barrel though. I don't know but some combination of this gun, the newer flatline, and the cheap rec paint I was using wasn't working out well at all. Balls would break, balls would curve in spirals, etc. Stock barrel works pretty well with the cheap rec paint.
Conclusion: I've only used it for two days so I'm still trying to learn the capabilities of this gun completely. This gun is not like the other open-bolt blowback tippmanns where you can just run them day in and day out and not do any maintainance at all. Some maintainance was necessary on mine out-of-the-box. Otherwise this gun performs very well on the field and does everything it says it did. I can't judge the long-term reliability of this gun yet, it just hasn't been out longer enough, so I'm giving Tippmann the benefit of the doubt here.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 18th, 2010 at 11:35 am PST
 

Review Comments
Loki33 Saturday, January 9th, 2010 | 9:31 am PST
Actually it is about 3 ounces lighter than the standard X-7. The marker just appears to be heavier because it is not as balanced weight wise as the standard X-7. It has more of the weight towards the rear of the marker. Not really sure about the flatline though. I have never watched anyone run a flatline barrel that would actually shoot straight. They are not designed to fire straighter, but farther, than a standard barrel. Match it up with a lapco big shot barrel and you can shoot ropes with it.
Last edited on Saturday, January 9th, 2010 at 9:32 am PST
   

AccessTime Monday, January 18th, 2010 | 11:28 am PST
"Not really sure about the flatline" -- Today, you're right. Yesterday I was using rec paint and I got so frustrated after a few games with the flatline that I stopped using the flatline with this gun and went back to the stock barrel. It just wasn't worth the frustration. The cheap paint has gotten cheaper over the years, but quality has gone down a bit too.
   

incherpipstrew Saturday, January 23rd, 2010 | 9:30 pm PST
The marker you purchased leaked air, eventually had to be shipped back to the manufacturer for repair and you give it a 9 outta 10? are u insane?
   

Perinhawk Sunday, January 24th, 2010 | 6:52 pm PST
It's a newly released marker, there are always going to be a couple "lemons".
   

AccessTime Monday, January 25th, 2010 | 2:00 pm PST
I'm just trying to be honest and rate the market itself, not their manufacturing process or the fact I got a dud the first time.
   

KBug Sunday, May 2nd, 2010 | 9:52 am PST
The flatline barrel flat out stinks. You can't hit the side of a barn with the flatline barrel.
   

Vertigo_07 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2010 | 10:11 pm PST
the flatline wasn't designed for hitting specific targets in the same way machine guns aren't designed for pinpoint accuracy.

Its designed so that you can throw a field of paint much further than an average gun can. Force by volume is the name of that game. Great review, by the way.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media