paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Unregistered User's Review / Comments on Unregistered User's Review / Comments on Unregistered User's Review / Comments on Unregistered User's Review / Comments on Unregistered User's Review

Comments on Unregistered User's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Unregistered User Saturday, March 10th, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
 
474 of 591 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I'll say this take a good look at all the reviews this site has to offer for this gun and almost all of them will say that this gun is excellent. It is one of the most durable, dependable guns out there. I've been playing paintball since Oct. of 2000. I owned a Brass Eagle Blade not knowing that Brass Eagle sucked and went out to play w/o a mask (Hey I didn't know sh!t back then). Worked fine the first time I used it and broke the next weekend. It leaked air and there was nothing I could do about it. Took it back to Wals-Mart and got my cash back. Bought a used Alley Cat and loved that little thing soo much. Too bad it ate air like a starving hobo eating at Hometown Buffet for the first time. All my friends owned pump guns so when I bought the Alley Cat it started a war on who got the best gun. 2 of my friends introduced me into Tippmann. One of them owns the M98 and the other owns the Pro/Carbine. I've been eyeing all the guns my friends bought. Don't get me wrong the Spyders are good guns but even those break paint, even good expensive paint, alot! My 2 friends with the Tippmanns didn't chop balls, at all or not as bad as Spyders or my Alley Cat. A month after I bought my Alley Cat I bought a new gun, the Tippmann M98 Custom. At first I was like, "What's the difference between the M98 and the custom98?" Did some research and the Custom accepts way more things than the original. Well I know it's a long review but this gun really is a very good gun. I mean it's co2 efficient, rarely brakes paint unless you buy crappy paint like Brass Eagle or Viewloader. The built in elbow is great and the ability to squeegie with out taking the barrel off with a jerk squeegie is a big plus. Saves your a$$ some time to come back fighting. Tippmann's customer service is amazing, none of this rude crap you get from Brass Eagle. I called them to talk about a Raptor Extreme my friend owns and I was rudely interrupted all the time. PPl should be more aware that Brass Eagle sucks no matter what they make, maybe if they just stopped making guns and scaring ppl away with such crap they woudln't be that bad. Yeah maybe they have a decent gun out their say the Stingray. Anyways, you know your getting your money's worth when you stick with a Tppmann. Look at the field rentals, ever wonder why many use Tippmann guns??? That should speak for itself. Price is just right too. I would pay $300 for this gun, it's that good. The trigger pull is sweet. I've shoot about 2500 paintballs out of my 98custom and had about say 4 ball breaks all which were viewloader paint. I shoot PMI Premium good paint, nice price.
Weaknesses: It's not really much of an issue but it's a little too long for me. I'm not that big and I play front alot due to my size and speed. Nothing a good drop forward or the Proteam Intruder Assault Expansion Chamber won't fix. It's a little too loud but it's a minor one. Scare the sh!t out of your enemies, Ooops I mean friends. The stock barrel could've been better but that's ok cause eventually you buy a new barrel. It takes too long to field strip but then again why would you field strip? It's a little heavy especially with a 20oz but you get used to it. I did.
Conclusion: Man if I didn't say too much already! You know your getting one of the best guns in the industry when you buy one from Tippmann. The gun will always be there for you. Ball breaks will become something old. you'll begin to miss ehm. Tha's of course if you don't shoot Brass Eagle or anyother cheap paint then again your just asking for a ball break when you buy there paint no matter what barrel you use. This thing is accurate, strong and built to outlast any gun out there. This gun will probably outlive the owner himself! Like I said think about why Field owners use Tippmann and you'll realise that these guns are built to be able to take a beating. I heard that some guy even ran over his friends M98 by accident and it still worked! Guys dropping them and slamming them into trees and not breakking is incredible. Dare you to drop your Spyder and see if it works like before. I love this gun alot. Buy a Tippmann, you won't go wrong. I gave it a ten cause the good outweigh the bad. Buy one and enjoy it to your heart's content.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 10th, 2004 at 11:34 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
the white camel Wednesday, May 21st, 2003 | 2:30 pm PST
I agree on it being too loud, but it is kind of intimidating to other players.
   

Shata Saturday, June 21st, 2003 | 9:42 am PST
I didnt even bother reading the whole thing... but I agree
   

1Speed Saturday, June 21st, 2003 | 10:45 pm PST
Adding an aftermarket barrel seems to make the gun significantly quieter.
   

Larry Wimberley Sunday, July 6th, 2003 | 7:59 am PST
I completely agree with this review. I have only owned one of the spiders with all the electronics and gadgets. I took it home, opened the package and returned it to the store and exchanged it for the Tippman the next day. I had no doubt whatsoever that the Tippman would "survive" farrr longer than most any other gun. I have helped to referee for a field in Sanger, Texas and have seen the "punishment" in action.
   

Emrys250 Sunday, August 10th, 2003 | 1:33 pm PST
The barrel really isn't a problem, spend $30 on a j&j ceramic and you will be fine.
   

weeji Thursday, August 14th, 2003 | 6:18 pm PST
Why does everyone think that Spyders chop any more than a Tippmann? Properly lube up and clean your Spyder and you'll have no chops whatsoever. Same goes for the Tippmann and any other gun. I've shot about 3000 rounds of BRASS EAGLE paint through my Spyder (all stock), and none out of 3 breaks were because of the gun; it was the paint/barrel match. So don't say that a Tippmann will break less balls than a Spyder will.
   

Caleb98 Monday, August 25th, 2003 | 6:26 am PST
we wanted a review of the gun...not the story of you playing paintball
   

DarkWombat Wednesday, August 27th, 2003 | 7:21 pm PST
Hey, I'm a proud owner of a Spyder Xtra and I will have to say that it comes with a much better bang for the buck. The 98 Custom was the first gun I used, and while it's great and easy to use, it's hard to upgrade without spending tons of money on those overpriced drop kits. Just to get a low pressure chamber and the right equipment to get it to low pressure requires a $250 uprade kit. The gun doesn't have any of the built-in features you see on most paintball guns today. All Spyders have that design that allows for even easier upgradability, and they now come with a field-strippable T-pin so you can pull out the bolt and striker to oil and get everything back in within a minute. My suggestion is if you want to get more for your money, get a Spyder Xtra. It's $80 now, looks great, comes with more stuff, and is as durable as a Tippy if you take good care of it. For what I got online, I spent $120 for the gun, 12 OZ C02, swab, mask and gun oil--Less than a 98 Custom by itself!

When it gets down to it, if you don't want to worry about your gun and you want to leave it the way it is (without getting a new barrel), get the 98 Custom. If you want to get a gun that offers a much greater range of upgradability and modifications, get a Spyder.

I spent a good 2 months researching what gun was best for me, and I ended up with the Spyder Xtra. As far as I see it, I think I've made the right choice. But for those of you who just want to get started with an easy gun and want to get a brand new one when you move up, I guess this gun is for you.
   

pbcrazy1088 Thursday, September 4th, 2003 | 12:36 pm PST
For 2 years now i have owned a spyder imagine. at the local paintball field they rent out 98's and i know that i like my spyder better. and u say that they chop. i have shot 20,000+ balls and all the chops that i remeber where from b/e paint cause it didnt match the barrel. i now shoot diablo paint or pmi and i have been for over a year. have yet to break a ball......i dunno wats best for u but my spyder is good for me.
   

Paint freakster Monday, October 27th, 2003 | 12:47 pm PST
Really. I got a really upgraded spyder sonix, and after all the upgrades, my gun still cost less then the tippman power pack.
   

maxpaintball Friday, October 31st, 2003 | 11:59 am PST
I to have a spyder sonix....i haven't chopped a ball in 2000+ shots. I have a 16" cp one piece and i use all start paint and i haven't fell to a tippmann user forever . Tippmanns are great guns...i have a 98 myself but theres never a better feeling then wasting tippmann users with a spyder...

   

imacrazy Friday, October 31st, 2003 | 10:58 pm PST
Beg to differ I Had a totaly suped up spyder nothing stock on it tryin to make it not chop forget about it it will allways chop tippmanns are far better then any spyder!!!
   

Nitrogen Saturday, November 1st, 2003 | 12:37 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Caleb98
we wanted a review of the gun...not the story of you playing paintball

this is kinda true but it was fun, like a little story, write more :)
I notice the TearDrop is awesome with my 98

And yeah, Spyders break balls like a mofo, a guy at a field had a agressor and he had to shove a stick through the barrel inside the gun cause the beavertail junk got stuck.
Last edited on Saturday, November 1st, 2003 at 12:38 pm PST
   

Tekrat Tuesday, November 4th, 2003 | 10:33 pm PST
I've played with both spyders and tippmanns.. I don't like the electronic trigger in the spyders - I had nothing but problems with it. I also had more consistency with the tippys as well...
   

InTeL PainTBaLL Thursday, November 6th, 2003 | 6:01 am PST
The tippman owns the imagine and definatly the aggressor the xtra is a good gun i have one of those too IT DONT CHOP PAINT, neither does the tippy the only spider i would consider getting befor a tippy is the spyder e-99 tippmann has made good guns are making good guns and will always make good guns, havent u heard the saying, you get what u pay for, why would somebody sell a gun for 200$ if it sucks and is worse then a 100$ gun? but yet tippy isnt having ne problems selling wonder why!!
   

imacrazy Thursday, November 6th, 2003 | 7:53 am PST
Thats because they are good guns!!!
   

etniesballer188 Thursday, November 6th, 2003 | 12:47 pm PST
98 customs aren't as good as the spyder xtras. the spyder xtras are better and cheaper too.
Last edited on Thursday, November 6th, 2003 at 12:47 pm PST
   

imacrazy Thursday, November 6th, 2003 | 4:40 pm PST
No way EVERY person I know that has one of theese break down chop. there NO WHERE AS GOOD AS TIPPMANNS!!!
   

etniesballer188 Friday, November 7th, 2003 | 12:33 pm PST
ok.......? I have used both and i like the xtra better. i had mine a long time it hasn't brokenat all and chopped only 1 time. So i think u need to use bpth products before u make an opinion.
   

imacrazy Friday, November 7th, 2003 | 4:33 pm PST
I have!!!!!!
   
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media