paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Unregistered User's Review / Comments on Unregistered User's Review / Comments on Unregistered User's Review / Comments on Unregistered User's Review

Comments on Unregistered User's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Unregistered User Friday, May 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year57 of 60 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, Dye 13", All American 16"
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom, 6" Drop Forward, Sight Rail, 3x-9x Rifle Scope, 16" Armson Stealth
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Diablo Infernos. You can buy them in 2000 count boxes for $55.
Strengths: This is an extremely accurate barrel. I've done fairly extensive accuracy testing. At 20 yards, I hit a 3" diameter circle 10 out of 10 times. At 30 yards, I hit 10 out of 10 in a 4" diameter circle. At 40 yards, I hit 10 out of 10 in a 6" diameter circle, with mostly vertical variation. I ripped off 20 rounds from 25 yards, at about 8 rounds a second with just a standard trigger, and they all hit in a 8" or smaller diameter circle, even with a slight (15mph) crosswind. In game testing showed similarly effective results. I play primarily woods and scenario games, and prior to getting my drop forward found the 16" to be a bit long for snap shooting, but since the addition of my drop forward I have no problem with it. In one woods game, I had a guy spraying paint at the tree I was behind from about 40 yards. He emptied quite a bit of paint at me, but didn't have enough accuracy to tag me. I popped out and pegged him in the head in 3 shots. Mind you that he was getting a 3 foot wide spray area at this range, while I, with the armson, popped out and hit him square in the mask in a 3 shot burst. Also, I shot a guy in the neck through a 4" wide gap in a pile of brush from 45 yards in a single shot. I've also taken on 2 people with relatively low-end guns (stock '98s, sheridans) and out shot both at once, just from sheer accuracy. Overall, the armson puts out great accuracy, and it softens the sound quite a bit.
Weaknesses: The 16" model may be too long for some people, especially if you're into speed ball. However, with my drop forward I have no problem snap shooting. Also, it is slightly heavier than the All American, though I don't even notice the difference unless I really pay close attention. Some have said that it is useless if you get a ball break, though I haven't seen anything to support this. I've broken a few, but the barrel cleans itself fairly well with just one shot. Some paint gets in the porting, but there is no significant performance drop, and you can pour a little water over it to clean it out right away.
Conclusion: An excellent barrel. Extremely accurate. More accurate than the Flat-Line, Dye Stainless and All American. Also, fairly cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 2:03 am PST
 

Review Comments
gipaintbrawler0 Wednesday, February 4th, 2004 | 12:11 pm PST
Wow dude, that's how people should post, with evidence and testing. Your post helped me a lot man. Thanks.
   

mixman10 Sunday, February 29th, 2004 | 6:44 pm PST
for some reason my armson stealth wont twist in my spyder all the way is that normal?
   

Magical Peanut Saturday, March 13th, 2004 | 12:53 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by mixman10
for some reason my armson stealth wont twist in my spyder all the way is that normal?

that means that you bought a barrel with the wrong threadings.....too bad for you if you bought it from a shop go down there and ask for one with spyder threadings take your gun with to make sure. also another type of paint that will work great in the barrel is midnights. i have gotten tons and tons of comments about my accuracy when i was shooting midnights through it.
   

SharpshooterLP Tuesday, March 16th, 2004 | 4:02 pm PST
Good Review, I like how you related it to your actual use, rather than just looking at the stupid Manufacturing Details. Nice Review....I question the bit about the accuracy.....but I don't have one yet!
   

mgregg85 Sunday, December 26th, 2004 | 10:30 pm PST
Does this barrel have real twist rifling like that you might find in a real rifle? if so then the rifling is either doing nothing or the barrel is rifled very poorly so that it has no effect on the flight of the paintballs. Twist rifling to put a spin on a round projectile such as a paintball will only destabilize it in flight(like a curveball in baseball). This is made worse by the fact that the weight distribution of a paintball is uneven due to air pockets therefore a spinning force on the ball would quickly be thrown out of alignment.
   

99 ANGEL RULZ Monday, December 27th, 2004 | 6:41 pm PST
I have an armson for my angel and even I know that that accuracy is impossible. The armson is accurate, but not that accurate. Go easy on the exaggeration.
   

Mehs Saturday, January 15th, 2005 | 12:15 am PST
What I think of rifling - http://www.automags.org/resource/tech/tomstech/03_spinning.s
html
   

TESballer Tuesday, April 26th, 2005 | 12:59 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by 99 ANGEL RULZ
.Go easy on the exaggeration.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 26th, 2005 at 12:59 pm PST
   

shot-on-sight Thursday, October 27th, 2005 | 1:24 pm PST
Rifling really dosent work that well in paintball because the ball would be spinning at a different speed then the fill inside so it would ina way cncel out the efect just making it pointless. Ive used hammerhead rifled barels before and havent noticed any differnece that the rifling offered over a normal barrel
   

tippysniper98c Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 | 2:13 pm PST
I just got a stealth an it did not screw all the way in, but they had the same threading.
( I have a bad habit of forcing things when they don' work. )
so I turned on the barrel hard and it screwed in. but i wanted it 2 work right so I took it off
and i noticed were the threading had started 2 bend so i filed it down and now it's fine.

ps. the stealth is not as accurate as i thought it would be. think it is because of spikes in the co2. would a expansion chamber help and how much would it.
Last edited on Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 at 2:15 pm PST
   

shot-on-sight Wednesday, January 11th, 2006 | 12:11 pm PST
An X-chamber would help and so would an anti-siphon kit for your tank, the best thing to do though would be to go HPA but thats more expensive. To obtain the best accuracy make sure you have the best paint to bore match up and the barrel itself is clean, inside and out and the porting holes are uncloged of any debris.
   

Slippytoad Tuesday, March 21st, 2006 | 3:47 am PST
Sorry, but physics show that a shot at forty yards even with an angel/autococker with an awesome regulator, a barrel that fits the paint, and HPA isn't able to consistently hit those kind of groups! There is a definate exgeration going on here... Remember that over distance a paintall marker that is chrono'd at about 300 fps has a max consistent range of 50 yds. At that distance a paintball has slowed to nearly half that speed and is very susceptible to windage.
   

Ace-o-Spades Friday, September 1st, 2006 | 8:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Slippytoad
Sorry, but physics show that a shot at forty yards even with an angel/autococker with an awesome regulator, a barrel that fits the paint, and HPA isn't able to consistently hit those kind of groups! There is a definate exgeration going on here... Remember that over distance a paintall marker that is chrono'd at about 300 fps has a max consistent range of 50 yds. At that distance a paintball has slowed to nearly half that speed and is very susceptible to windage.
not true, a paintball's max consistent distance is about 200 ft. with a small amount of incline. this is especially helped by the rifling, which is by the way, not like rifle rifling because of less spin on the projectile. and more actual threads to help stablize the ball in the barrel. (thicker paint is better for rifling cuz the paint will spin easier)
Last edited on Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 at 4:58 pm PST
   

shot-on-sight Tuesday, September 5th, 2006 | 8:36 pm PST
Youre still incorrect rifleing in a paintball barrel will not make a paintball spin, scientific tests done by tom kaye of airgun designs have already proved this. They built a special barrel that spun at a very high RPM rate and could not get the ball to spin. A paintball fired at 300 fps will go no farther than 150 ft at 45 degree angle. Its simple physics and simple physics shows and has proven via testing that rifeling has no affecct in paintball.
   

Ace-o-Spades Tuesday, September 12th, 2006 | 11:51 am PST
"A paintball fired at 300 fps will go no farther than 150 ft at 45 degree angle. Its simple physics and simple physics shows and has proven via testing that rifeling has no affecct in paintball."
what, so you dont think that a paintball can be shot the length of a football field (or at least half the length of one)?
if rifling wont make a paintball spin, then i guess you've come to the conclusion that nothing will... ever wonder why stock barrels suck so much? its because they're not machined very well and put weird spins on the ball.
"They built a special barrel that spun at a very high RPM rate and could not get the ball to spin"
hey buddy, there is such thing as a flatline barrel... you dont think that puts spin on the ball? wow.
Last edited on Tuesday, September 12th, 2006 at 11:54 am PST
   

shot-on-sight Wednesday, September 13th, 2006 | 12:22 pm PST
No I dont think a paintball can be fired the length of a football field at 300 fps.

And no nothing will make a paintball to purposley spin and neither does the barrel in crappy stock barrels its the uneven air pressure often times due to lack of effective porting and loose tolerances, this in no way makes a paintball repeatadley spin around a single axis.

The flatline barrel buts BACKspin on a ball that is completley different than a rifled barrel, the flatline does not in any way shape or form incorporate rifleing it uses a rouch surface and friction to cause drag on the bottom of the paintball giving it backspin the theory behind this is just like an airplane wing the faster air moving underneath the ball creats lift and alows the ball to travel further. Rifleing uses horrizontal spin to "stabilize" a projectile in flight this however does not work with ppaitnballs because you have 2 seperate enititys involved in the projectile. The shell and the LIQUID fill. Since neither will spin at the same rate given a rifled barrel it essentially cancels the effect out.

please get your facts correct before calling me out on something
   

Ace-o-Spades Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006 | 12:19 pm PST
according to you, "physics" says that the liquid (which is, by the way, is very, very thick, like maple syrup) should cancel out the spinning, and if you're right (which you're not), then that means it cancels out any kind of spinning. tippmann seems to have proved you wrong, huh?

"And no nothing will make a paintball to purposley spin and neither does the barrel"
you really are a big hypocrit.

"No I dont think a paintball can be fired the length of a football field at 300 fps."
"A paintball fired at 300 fps will go no farther than 150 ft at 45 degree angle"
i did say or at least half of one, but according to you, it can't even shoot that. but it can.

"its the uneven air pressure often times due to lack of effective porting and loose tolerances, this in no way makes a paintball repeatadley spin around a single axis."
it doesn't have to spin repeatedly on a single axis, just spin. that will throw it off in crazy directions. and just for the record, there have been non-ported barrels that are just as accurate as the rest.

"They built a special barrel that spun at a very high RPM rate and could not get the ball to spin"
unless the ball touched the barrel at all times while being fired it wouldn't get near as close to the rpm the barrel is going.

please get YOUR facts right before calling me out on something, and for God's sake, don't be a hypocrit.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006 at 3:21 pm PST
   

headshot 007 Wednesday, September 19th, 2007 | 1:29 pm PST
That is some expensive paint!!!!!!!! WOW!!!!!!!!!!! Anyway... coo! how long is the barrel?
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media