paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Soyboy's Review / Comments on Soyboy's Review / Comments on Soyboy's Review / Comments on Soyboy's Review / Comments on Soyboy's Review

Comments on Soyboy's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Soyboy Monday, May 27th, 2002
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested80 of 112 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98, Green paintjob, Lapco Bigshot Aluminum, Psycho Ballistics Aluminum Bolt and Powetube, Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger, Psycho Ballistics Universal DropFoward, 32 degrees boblong style 6 stage expansion chamber, 12v Revolution hopper, JT Mask, Various Trigger Jobs, Rocket Cocker, Maddmann Spring Kit, 20 oz tank, two 9 oz tanks, 12 oz tank, 14 oz tank, and i think that's it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just a decent barrel and a 20 oz. tank.
Strengths: - Accuracy
- Durability
- Reliability
- Cyclone feed
- Fast Trigger
- Looks awesome
- Not too expensive
- Light Weight
- Low profile
- Barrel Adaptors (soon)
- Same upgrades as M98 and More (soon)
Weaknesses: The only thing that I do not like about this gun is that it is like 99%% plastic. It would be so much better if it was aluminum. However I must say this plastic is very hard and durable, and not to mention light weight, so it isn't such a downfall.
Conclusion: At first I was very skepticle of the A-5. I knew that I just had to try it for myself...

My friend's brother previously owned a M98 with a 14inch J&J Ceramic. He sold that, and got the A-5. With a 20 oz CO2 tank and a brand new Smart Parts Progressive barrel, he handed me the gun.

It seemed well balanced with the 20 oz tank and very light. With Severe Premium (Cyclone) paint my friend took a few shots took a few shots...

WOW! No way, I couldn't believe it. As I aimed for the center of the tree (which was 75 ft away) with the sight it hit dead center. I can't stress this anymore... DEAD CENTER!!! It did it again and again from all ranges. And this is only with CO2 and an upgraded barrel.

I also noticed the trigger pull was very light and with the barrel, the gun was quiet.

All in all, I was very impressed with the Tippmann A-5, and I am definately considering in getting one.

I'm not saying it is as good as an angel, but of the semi-auto guns, I would take it over an automag and autococker because of the price, and because of nitro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
BBjones Monday, March 10th, 2003 | 2:10 pm PST
Thats what im trying to tell everyone, its dead accurate. i shot my 2002 vert feed auto cocker and then my a-5. they both only had upgraded barrels, and the same at that, 2 all american 2002's. My a-5 was just consistan and as good as my autockocker, cant find a difference in accuracy, and with the flatline, forget about it, it OWNZ!!
   

Jessman289 Saturday, June 7th, 2003 | 7:02 pm PST
ok, automags=maybe....autocockers= HECK NO!!!!!!!! autocockers rule the world, they are dead on accurate, very upgradable, and stuff. Although I think your review is very good, and i wont say its unhelpful or nething like that, plz dont compare tippmanns to autocockers, its just not right.
   

daigle98sn Wednesday, June 18th, 2003 | 10:07 pm PST
MORON IT'S MOSTLY METAL! Why do you think that always advertise that tippmanns are so tough. I'll guarente that it's not becuase they are 99.9% plastic. They advertise that because the tippmanns are made of metal! Go throw it at a tree and see if it cracks. It won't cause there's hardly any plastic. My friend started his on fire and did it melt, no, but that's funny cause doesn't plastic melt. Just a thought...
   

paintballdude11 Thursday, July 10th, 2003 | 6:52 am PST
I have a tippmann 98 custom with a black laser scope on it. I am looking for a trade for this gun if any body wrights me back I will tell them everything about this gun and everything that is on this gun. So if you are a beginner then this is the gun to go for.
   

P8nthavcmkr Saturday, August 9th, 2003 | 12:29 am PST
I would like to no which one is better the 98c of the A-5 and i want proof not a opinion. Im not saying which is better i just want to know because most people just say which is better by some dumb opinion so can some one give me the proof i need.
   

eat evil paint Monday, January 5th, 2004 | 3:14 pm PST
to bad metel doesent set on fire you idiot
   

Deformography Sunday, January 25th, 2004 | 6:10 pm PST
if you set your a-5 on fire the grip, cyclone, and front sight would melt; your bullshi--ing. I own an a-5 and it is by no means perfect.
   

Soyboy Thursday, February 12th, 2004 | 4:31 pm PST
yes as said before the a-5 front grip, cyclone feed and hopper, front sight, and the powertube, and bolt are all plastic. i apologize for saying 99% plastic, but that is what it feels like when you hold it. It's not an extremely bad thing people. i mean almost all autococker trigger frames in the past and automag trigger frames are plastic or carbon fiber.
   

skaterfreak_24 Tuesday, March 9th, 2004 | 4:43 pm PST
What do the different bore sizes of the barrels mean??? what is the best size???


   

Paintballkiddd Sunday, May 16th, 2004 | 5:08 pm PST
So people who own this gun are realy stuiped. A autococker and a a-5 might seem the same in acccuaracy when target practicing. Who have all the time in the world. But when your snap shooting at one inch piece of mask sticking aout the autococker whould kill. The a-5 is a great marker but you cant compare it to a autococker or any other highend semi. You can only compare it to blowback markers.
   

TXtippmann Monday, August 16th, 2004 | 4:56 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Jessman289
ok, automags=maybe....autocockers= HECK NO!!!!!!!! autocockers rule the world, they are dead on accurate, very upgradable, and stuff. Although I think your review is very good, and i wont say its unhelpful or nething like that, plz dont compare tippmanns to autocockers, its just not right.
Yes, don't compare cockers to Tippmanns. Cockers are overpriced, stupid looking, and not near as tough. The Tippmanns are more reliable, reasonably priced, and much better looking. But most of all, they were meant for completely different styles of playing. There is no point in comparing them. If you have the right skills, a Tippmann is all you need anyway.
   

prospeedballer Sunday, September 19th, 2004 | 5:52 pm PST
first of all the a-5 isnt 99% plasitc its like 20% plastic
Last edited on Sunday, September 19th, 2004 at 5:53 pm PST
   

prospeedballer Sunday, September 19th, 2004 | 5:58 pm PST
cockers over priced? stupid looking? wat are you talking about cockers are for different type of play unless you want to go to a speedball field with an a 5 with everything in the world and it weight is like 5 pounds an auto cocker is made for speedball not woodsball the a-5 is made for woods ball or scenario play.
   

TXtippmann Monday, September 20th, 2004 | 1:40 pm PST
Yeah. I already said that they were meant for different styles, moron. If you can't handle 5 pounds, you are the world's biggest pansy.
   

dilly man 2 Wednesday, September 29th, 2004 | 7:10 pm PST
lol, a-5 is not 99% plastic the a-5 is like 20% plastic. i think i rather own the a-5 because the tigger frame can be takin apart in 5 seconds if your slow. feeds 15bps, very upgradeable, reliable, and the 98custom feeds 11 or smthin like that, it missfeeds at high rof with cheap hopper alot, oh oh and it has the lightnig fast 2 minute field strip! a-5 has the 30 sec feed strip. AUTOCOCKERS ARE HIGH MATINENCE!!!!!!
   

TXtippmann Thursday, October 7th, 2004 | 1:55 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Xavier Juarez
Tippman sux spyder rules. he he
Good one. For a minute I thought you were serious. You're a funny man.
   

Sporefrog Sunday, March 6th, 2005 | 9:03 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TXtippmann

Yes, don't compare cockers to Tippmanns. Cockers are overpriced, stupid looking, and not near as tough. The Tippmanns are more reliable, reasonably priced, and much better looking. But most of all, they were meant for completely different styles of playing. There is no point in comparing them. If you have the right skills, a Tippmann is all you need anyway.


Cockers are overpriced?
http://paintballgateway.com/wgp02sifeaur.html
$180. Way less than a A-5.
Different styles of playing. I guess the A-5 is geared more towards the, "IM A NOOB AND JUST WASTED $300 ON A PIECE OF CRAP". And Autocockers are more for the, "I spent under $200 and got a better gun that i can upgrade"
   

Sporefrog Sunday, March 6th, 2005 | 9:27 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by dilly man 2
lol, a-5 is not 99% plastic the a-5 is like 20% plastic. i think i rather own the a-5 because the tigger frame can be takin apart in 5 seconds if your slow. feeds 15bps, very upgradeable, reliable, and the 98custom feeds 11 or smthin like that, it missfeeds at high rof with cheap hopper alot, oh oh and it has the lightnig fast 2 minute field strip! a-5 has the 30 sec feed strip. AUTOCOCKERS ARE HIGH MATINENCE!!!!!!

Did you know that you can take out the entire bolt assembly of a cocker in less than a second. Pull a pin and pull out the bolt. I dont know what else you would need to take in a game.
   

Sporefrog Sunday, March 6th, 2005 | 9:30 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TXtippmann
Yeah. I already said that they were meant for different styles, moron. If you can't handle 5 pounds, you are the world's biggest pansy.

I can handle 5 pounds but I would rather not snap shoot with a brick in my hand.
   

The_Dougler_ Tuesday, March 15th, 2005 | 9:44 am PST
I agree...nice review
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media