paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on IRPaintballer's Review / Comments on IRPaintballer's Review / Comments on IRPaintballer's Review / Comments on IRPaintballer's Review

Comments on IRPaintballer's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

IRPaintballer Thursday, May 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro team products warp feed (no, they are not the same)
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash LCD w/ AKA javelin barrel, AKA lighnting bolt w/ beavertail cocking bolt, AKA tornado valve, AKA mitey Max, centerflag hyperframe, Dye stickey grips, ACI 6-stage expansionchamber, Mac Dev Gladiator reg, Lapco cup seal, Pro team Products warp feed, and PMI 48/4500
Strengths: it feeds balls faster then a human finger can shoot them without an electronic trigger frame. cheaper then the pro team one.
Weaknesses: Well this isn't bad, but it doesn't exactly help. Physics shows that the gun takes up just as much space as it did before, the hopper is just in a different spot. And with the warpfeed motor there it actually makes your gun bigger. Think about that next time you say it lowers your profile. =-)

actually if it is on your left side and you look out the right, then it will make it smaller, cuz your warp feed is still behind bunker.
It isn't as good quality as the pro team products warp feed and feeds 1/2 bps slower, but that hardly even matters.
Conclusion: get it if you can shoot faster then your revvy or ric can keep up, or if you like to brag about your gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
 

Review Comments
jdolla Wednesday, September 10th, 2003 | 6:59 pm PST
Just for the record, dolt, the idea of a warp feed isnt to reduce the amountof space the gun takes up, the idea is to compress it. To put it in your highly advanced physics terms, a Ricochet is approximately 1 kilogram-ish. If you have it on a Minimag, it sticks up six inches from the main body, with the elbow and everything. Getting a warp feed doesnt eliminate that kilogram, it simply moves it to the side of the gun, as opposed to the top, thus making the mag for compact.

If your going to try to sound intelligent, at least get it right.
   

penguins_r_kewl Friday, October 17th, 2003 | 4:54 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jdolla
If your going to try to sound intelligent, at least get it right.

ah thats hilarious
   

jdolla Thursday, January 22nd, 2004 | 1:28 pm PST
One other thing...

A warp feed can only feed as fast as the hopper attached to it. If you put a revvy on it, the paint is goind into the warp feed at 13 bps. If the warp feed is only receiving 13 bps, then it can only put out 13 bps.
   

Yourself Wednesday, February 25th, 2004 | 7:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jdolla
One other thing...
If the warp feed is only receiving 13 bps, then it can only put out 13 bps.


good thinkin
   

PB4841LVR Sunday, April 11th, 2004 | 12:23 pm PST
only bad thing, if you shoot out the left side or top, it makes it a little bigger
   

Gimplar Monday, May 17th, 2004 | 5:14 pm PST
Not sure what you're talking about "Physics making it evident"...
Hell I'm not even sure if you could consider this physics, if anything it's simple geometry and probability.

And yes it does "lower your profile", take a second and think about it. What is the exposed surface area on a normal hopper?
Gun + Hopper that sticks out. The hopper increases your hittable area in 3 dimensions, it adds height, it adds width and it adds length. Arguably you can consider this 2 because generally the width of the hopper <= width of your gun..but regardless. That's 2 dimensions, and a significant amount as well.

Warped feed provides you with a constant input (reduce ball chops -whatever) and reduces the appreciable dimension to 2. And what dimension does this increase? Width!

And does it really matter? No..not really. If your warp feed wasn't there and it sailed past the warp feed, there is a pretty good chance that it would be hitting you (unless you weren't behind your gun.)

So yes, it DOES lower profile (lower the probability of being hit). Question is this,
is it worth 100+ dollars to lower your profile this much?

Well I guess if you're a millionaire it's worth it, but if I were to buy a warp feed system I suppose it'd be because of the feed system itself. Plus it all looks kinda weird!
   

Hazard Man Thursday, May 27th, 2004 | 1:03 pm PST
i think the warp feed is a horrible thing in paintball, it changes weight to one side, and in speedball, that isnt good at all, unless ur playing woods ball, then never, ever even consider this crap.
   

Mike Sage Thursday, June 24th, 2004 | 7:19 pm PST
Bah, the Warp is best in speedball. It doesn't throw your "balance" off. In fact, with the mounting kit, you can fine-tune your front-rear balance, by moving your hopper centerline to the rear of your grip's centerline.

It lowers your gun's profile, you can use the top of your bunker sparingly, but it's there as an option now! It makes top moves EASIER.

As for shooting the left side, with the Warp on the left, do what AGD suggests and tip your gun.

I've been playing with a Warp for 2 years now, and I've only taken one hit on the Warp. And I don't recall thinking "man, if this hadn't been there, I'd still be in."

The positive pressure on paintballs that Gimplar mentioned is one great reason to buy a warp. I can run as fast as I can without losing accuracy, and shoot as fast as I possibly can without having balls bounce halfway out of the breech and get cut in two. It used to happen a lot before I got a Warp.
   

PaintDevil7185 Wednesday, August 4th, 2004 | 8:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jdolla
One other thing...

A warp feed can only feed as fast as the hopper attached to it. If you put a revvy on it, the paint is goind into the warp feed at 13 bps. If the warp feed is only receiving 13 bps, then it can only put out 13 bps.


thats true but it can for short periods of time go higher than the hopper attached to it b/c of the balls in the hose
   

Mike Sage Thursday, August 5th, 2004 | 1:26 pm PST
Yeah, you can really throw out a nasty initial burst, which is nice when somebody has you pinned.
   

BMWillis Monday, August 23rd, 2004 | 10:22 am PST
Can you set the warp up for a left handed person?
   

Mike Sage Monday, August 23rd, 2004 | 3:00 pm PST
Yes.
   

General Spyder Tuesday, December 28th, 2004 | 10:07 pm PST
it feeds the balls in the hose and box up to 20bps and reduces chopping a lot.
   

bam wannabe Friday, January 28th, 2005 | 2:22 pm PST
it really is an excellent invention ::wipes tear::
admit it, all of u have at least once taken a hit to the hopper without the warp.
   

Crazy_Nut Monday, February 7th, 2005 | 12:37 pm PST
If you use it on an Angel or a Timmy (in my experience anyways..) it doesn't always feed when it is supposed to.
   

Azmodon Saturday, April 2nd, 2005 | 7:21 pm PST
"Well this isn't bad, but it doesn't exactly help. Physics shows that the gun takes up just as much space as it did before, the hopper is just in a different spot. And with the warpfeed motor there it actually makes your gun bigger. Think about that next time you say it lowers your profile. =-)

actually if it is on your left side and you look out the right, then it will make it smaller, cuz your warp feed is still behind bunker.
It isn't as good quality as the pro team products warp feed and feeds 1/2 bps slower, but that hardly even matters"

now that the quote's done... I'll bash with my 95% skills of physics IRPaintballer

physics has nothing to do with size of gun, in fact, the size of your gun can never increase, all you can do is add on different parts. Profile is determined by "how much sticks out" while playing a bunker.

Pro-team and AGD warp feeds are exactly the same, the reason the Pro-Team is more expensive is because it comes with a special 90 degree adaptor that fits most non-AGD paintball guns. And... 1/2 a bps slower... really... you determined this how.. digital eyes?

Well, I'm getting my warp soon after using one on an X-mag of my buddies (he's works for them omg he's so lucky lol). IR3 CNC, Smoke warp(on/off and 2X9volt parallel hook up), clear eVLution2, 71/4500, OH yeah baby
Last edited on Saturday, April 2nd, 2005 at 7:22 pm PST
   

TaC18 Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 | 7:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mike Sage
I've been playing with a Warp for 2 years now, and I've only taken one hit on the Warp. And I don't recall thinking "man, if this hadn't been there, I'd still be in.".

lol... i bet you were thinking..." where the hell did that come from and how the hell did it actually hit the warp?:-P

quote:
Originally posted by bam wannabe
it really is an excellent invention ::wipes tear::
admit it, all of u have at least once taken a hit to the hopper without the warp.


lol, dont cry... atleast some people including myself can apreciate the warp : )
with my A-5 that was where the majority of my gun hits took place. on the hopper
Last edited on Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 at 7:23 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media